We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Excellent thanks to staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel on an all inclusive basis..
LOCATION: about 2km from the town centre but is on the beach and 100 metres to a regular bus service. The train station is 600metres away with 20 minute service to Malaga and/or Fuengirola and only about £1.50 single.
ROOMS: we were on the 7th floor of the main block - Size excellent overlooking the beach (side view like all rooms), cleaned daily.
FOOD: Excellent choice for all meals. Heard some people complaining but then they would never be pleased. Ok not the best I have had but certainly for us it was ok and was 4 star buffet.
STAFF: ALL staff were very friendly and both bar and restaurant service was excellent.
ENTERTAINMENT: Not our choice on several nights but only 1 person organising the entertainment and he worked VERY HARD, where in other hotels they have a team. Flamenco was boring went on too long and seemed same dance.
WIFI - yet again another hotel where wifi is only available in the reception area and is expensive €10 for 1 hour.
GLA NIGHT: A Little disappointing start for New Years Eve: After dinner we were not allowed into the bar and although we were in the marquee there was no music etc. so for 2 hours we had to hang around, BUT the rest of the night from 9.30pm was very good.
SALES: no sales team on site we wanted to get a quote for a group booking but was referred to the internet which couldnt handle our propsal!
OVERALL A GREAT EXPERIENCE - and I am an ex hotel inspector with 25 years experience.

Room Tip: Main hotel block and rooms on floor 4 upwards with a sea view (all sea view rooms are offset so you...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,987)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,343 - 2,349 of 3,991 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Costa Lago 5 times, 4 over Christmas. We like the location and the quiet atmosphere. Playamar as opposed to Torremolinos is very pleasant. We have always found the staff helpful and friendly. They remember us year to year. The food is excellent and the hotel is very clean. The entertainment over Christmas was good especially the flamenco. There are several English speaking TV channels. We found fellow guests approachable and willing to chat and form friendships. It is a good family hotel.The transport links are excellent and there are so many places to visit eg Cordoba, Benalmadena, Mijas and Ronda. We went to Cordoba by train and came back by bus. Both journeys were comfortable. The motorway was very smooth. We intend to stay at the the hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the street. It had a good view and was quiet. We were plea...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 601Alicia310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arrived 22nd December having spent 2 nights at the Belplaya down the road. We were there as a party of four including my elderly mum. Received a glass of cava on arrival and check-in was quick and efficient. The food was lovely and always plenty of choice .As previously written the Christmas and New Year's eve Gala dinners were fantastic.We don't stay in the hotel at night so I cannot comment on the entertainment. We also didn't use the bar much so this was perhaps why we were ignored at least twice while the waiters served people who came after us .(Not the British I must add ) These people knew we were first but ordered anyway. It is not my job to teach people manners so I let it go. I was not however prepared to let people push my mum out of the way and told them so. After that no problem .. If I had to choose between the two Riu hotels I would definately choose the Costa Lago,

Room Tip: If you travel in the winter ask for a room which will get some sun during the day as one of our room...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUDREY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Traveled with a family of 6, grandparents, parents and 2 children aged 6 and 10. This was my first all inclusive holiday and it had some good points and some bad points so I'll start with the good points - massive room and balcony with sea view from the balcony, beer tap located at the customers side of the bar so it was case of serve yourself with very nice cold cruzcampo, exactly the same stuff you pay 3/4/5 euros for in bars all over Spain and you could drink it all day and night if you wanted, nice food in the main restaurant at breakfast and evening meal, a huge selection with something to suit everyone at both sittings and all of good quality and very fresh, the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly, nice location on the outskirts of the resort and just 5 minutes from Malaga airport in a taxi, my daughter aged 10 loved it as there were loads of other kids her age to play with. The overriding good factor about the hotel was it was very very good value for money, food and drinks were good quality and the rooms and hotel were very clean. Our room was cleaned every day.

Now for the not so good bits - the hotel was really full and mealtimes were a bit of a chore at times, there were big queues especially at the hot plates and you could be waiting for 5 minutes while a variety of different European nationalities faffed about for 4 chips, 1 lamp cutlet, 2 pieces of pasta and a spoonful of paella and then had a quick re-think just to make sure they hadn't forgotten something. We ate in the bar at lunchtimes and it was a self service affair with lots of people dripping wet from the pool especially children mauling the food, it was case of get in as early as possible. We had to go down and put towels on the sunbeds by 9am at the very latest or you can forget getting 4/5 beds together bearing in mind there were absolutely loads of beds around the pool complex, the pool was very busy all day. There is some in house entertainment for the kids, mini golf on the walkway around the pool (great idea....not) and target shooting with an air rifle at a dart board (another great idea....not).

Overall good value for money but a bit too crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThePearsons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled to the Riu Costa Lago on the 23rd of Dec 2012 for Christmas, this hotel is all inclusive, we were very impressed. We had a good size room, with a television which actually had an english channel ITV+1 on it. The rooms were kept immaculatly clean by the friendly cleaners, towels changed every day. In fact all the staff were brilliant all very friendly coudnt do enough for you. In the Restraunt you used any table for breakfast and lunch, then you were allocated a table and either a 6oclock sitting or an 8oclock sitting for the evening meal, for the length of your stay, the time could be swapped if you asked. The food was very good loads of choice at all meals. There was an area where you could get Tea Coffee and cold drinks all day. The bar service was excellent. The only thing we could fault this hotel with was the awful dire evening entertainment, every night it was a singer stood behind a musically enhanced organ singing aged old songs. The local transport was great with a bus stop over the road, and a great train service just up the road, for 190e each way to Fueringrola great value. We went on the train to Benelmadena to go on the brilliant cable cars which were just outside the train station, this was amazing fabulous views, areas to walk around when you got to the top, and an amazing bird show to see within the price of 12euros each if you got the tickets off the rep which was slightly cheaper than buying them there. It was so easy to get around. We had a great Christmas and woudnt hesitate in using this hotel again, just dont go excpecting brilliant evening entertainment, hopefully this will get better in time

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and i travelled with two friends to spend Christmas in this hotel. We arrived on 22nd December and left on the 29th. We were all inclusive and the food was excellant with lots of choices. The Hotel was spotless and the rooms were large and cleaned every day and towels changed every day. We were on the 8th floor and had lovely views with sunshine on the balcony all afternoon. The local buses ran into Torremlinos approx every 30 minutes and the fare was 1.22euros each. Getting back to the Hotel, the wine was of good quality and the bar staff although overworked were pleasant and provided drinks quickly. This is a hotel i would return to.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 8th or 9th floor prefereably rooms 812 or 912
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank briancwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a wonderful week away for the week just before Christmas with our 18 month old. In summary we had excellent food, friendly service and some decent weather to boot!

On arrival, we were greeted with a glass of chilled juice whilst they sorted out check in (we arrived with around 30 others). This may be old hat to more experienced all inclusive trippers but after a 6am flight we found it a nice touch.

Room: The room was spacious, not withstanding the provided cot. Given we were only expecting "limited sea views" we were very happy with the extensive sea view from our balcony. The bath was adequate although it was shorter than many.

Food: We were really happy with the food. For savoury food the variety is overwhelming, with lots of the food being cooked /carved in front of you on big grill plates. Prawn paella, rare roast beef and a lentil soup with spanish sausage and chorizo, were a few highlights, but there is always at least 4 main options (including at least one fish option). The prepared puddings weren't quite as high a standard although there was always extensive fresh fruit and 4 ice creams to choose from. Breakfast again had lots of choice. An unexpected favourite was the fresh oranges. The in between meal time snacks were fine.

Drinks: The loose teas were excellent, (although a green tea option, loose or bagged, would have been nice). We were new to the AI angle but liked the fact that the cocktails were pre-prepared and then dispensed from mr slushie style machines! Alcohol wise if you want named brand drinks then this isnt for you -but they had most drinks available.

Facilities: The gym was basic, but had the required kit. the indoor pool was small, whilst the two outdoor pools were quite chilly at this time of year. We were still able to use the kids splashing pool.

Other guests: There were a couple of young couples /families, but most were either 40+ couples or elderly. But everybody made a tremendous fuss over our daughter, and a couple of German grannies even let me join their game of Rummikub.

Toddler facilities: The kids splash pool is good, and there is a basic slide on the side of the hotel. But there are also public facilities (slides etc) both 2 minutes walk away on the beach and also heading away from the beach there are several other mini play parks (5mins walks with spinny and bouncy features as well as slides and swings). There didn't appear to be organised activities for little ones outside of season (although we could see a room for this purpose).

Service: First class everywhere. The cleaner who made pretty shapes with the towels on the bed kept my wife smiling. Our daughter destroying the table cloth with pasta sauce was met with smiles.

Trips/entertainment: We didn't really book for this but the First Choice rep was very knowledgeable, and the entertainment in the bar was fine, and the compere also organised some fun activities during the day. The train station (la collina) was close enough to make it worthwhile travelling to the nearby shopping village Plaza mayor (6-7 mins ~ Euro 3.6 return) and if we go back we'd carry on to malaga where you can now take a train to Rhonda.

Overall, we would go back, we would recommend, and we would try other riu hotels. The weather and price helped (we paid for the family the per person price in summer), but more generally the hotel gave out a positive signs of a well run hotel with high standards.

Room Tip: ask for a bottle of water from the bar to keep you going through the night. room 808 was quiet and w...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank timandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,933 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#29 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $162 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing