We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

booked 4 day A/ I to take my parents as a treat for their golden wedding. . Excellent service from Carmen on reception, nothing too mch trouble. Excellent selection of food at all mealtimes/ Drinks good but seen people buying boles of mixers which I would recommend. Bar service good. Very pleased with the room and comfort of beds. Would have no hesitation reccomending .Only a few small things with mum not being very mobile she would have liked tea/ coffee faciliies innher room and the indoor pool was very cold. Great layout and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    515
    250
    56
    35
See reviews for
346
657
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My 23 year old daughter & I went to the Riu Belplaya in June for a weeks rest & sun.
We went AI for the first time ever as my husband wasn't coming with us & I thought it would be less hassle to do it that way. I had heard about AI being not as good quality food & drinks as when you go half board so I was a little apprihensive.....Well, I was very pleasantly surprised as it was one of the best holidays I have had on the catering & comfort of accommodation point.
The staff were absolutely fantastic - friendly & curtious, nothing too much trouble.
The room was on the top floor and the view was brilliant. It was spacious, clean & nicely decorated.

The pool area was loaded with sunbeds & parasols. There was a pool bar that you could get drinks & snacks from and a help yourself machine for hot beverages, beer, wine & fizzy drinks - plus there was always ice & sliced lemons ready to add to your drinks (a lovely touch).

The food was so varied & well presented that even though we had a different lunch & dinner every day, we never ran out of choices & never had to eat the same thing twice. The selection of teas/coffees was very impressive as were the cold drinks.

It is just a short stroll to the beach, which was lovely & clean.

When we told my husband about the hotel, he was very jealous that he didn't go with us! He is coming with us next time..................as there definitely will be a next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank moonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is the best all inclusive we've ever had!!! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was delightful, the alcohol decent and the surrounding area very pretty. Rooms were a good size and well cleaned ,again by extremely friendly cleaning ladies. Shout out to Jose in reception who was very friendly and accommodating, thank you. :-))

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank tinyjules99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited the Belplaya in October and frankly there was no one under the age of 50. As we travelled with a teenager this was very disappointing. We are aware this isn't Riu's fault but it spoiled our holiday.

Overall the room was basic and so to was the hotel, in need of a renovation. There was only one entertainer and a limited number of activities. The bar staff and receptionists were excellent and friendly. It was very difficult to get a seat to see the shows which were also poor.

GOOD FOR AN ELDERLY COUPLE BUT NOT FOR A FAMILY WITH EITHER YOUNG OR TEENAGE CHILDREN

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingden, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had booked the RIU Nautilus before our transatlanic cruise. 6 weeks before
we were moved to the TIU Belplaya while the other hotel was being renovated.
Upon arrival at 7.20pm the hotel´s lobby was full of screaming childred, adults were sitting everywhere drinking beer. we checked in and the room was ok, typical Spanish hotel where they thimk a coat of paint covers everthing. We went to dinner, what a schock, for any one who knows RIU hotels they stood for quailtiy. This dinner was made up of everything cheap.the meats were poor, many chicken items, one fish dish. I have never seen this before at a RIU Hotel.
Breakfast the next moring was just the same. Cheap cheese and sliced ham which you could see was processed. The bread was factory made and hardly any choice. The hot foos was just as bad.

after dinner there was no where to sit, the bar, lobby and all other seats were taken, the worst thing was the noise. It was like a kids playground, with many uncontrollable Spanish and some English children running riot, while the adults just laughed and keep on drinking. This was a cheap all inclusive spanish hotel. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay away !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent 3 weeks at this hotel. Great views from our room on the 9th floor. Excellent staff, very friendly, most speak several languages. Manager very much in evidence, often clearing tables in dining room. Food very good. We were on all-inclusive terms and were short of nothing. Even bottled water was provided. Wi-fi area around reception. Use by prepaid 'ticket' Best value 10 euros for 10 hours. Also some internet terminals available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Return from Belplaya on 18th November and cannot rate it high enough.The staff are very friendly and helpful, the dining room is very light and airy and the food is wonderful.We were all inclusive and the drinks were excellent and the bar staff were so fast you didn,t have to wait in a queue.The hotel is just outside the town which is in walking distance and there is a bus that picks up around the hotels to Torremolinos for about 1 euro. Plenty of room by the pool and no shortage of sun beds.Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#21 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puente Real
Hotel Puente Real
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Property: Hotel Riu Belplaya
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing