We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good break shame about the weather” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good break shame about the weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went for a break to Belplaya for a break after moving house, thought would get a bit of sunshine and relax. When we arrived about 10pm, we were greeted by people on reception who were very cheerful, took our passports and told us to have a welcome drink and have a seat till our name was called, checked into our room and were told they had ameal waiting for us all in the restraunt, Really pleasantly surprised that they were so cheerful and organised,
The rooms were very good and during our stay there we had no grumbles it was a lovely hotel and the food was lovely, The only problem was the weather, 5 of the days it poured down, didnt know it was possible to rain that much. Howevere, not hotels fault and we would certainly return as we were impressed by staff and hotel. The lady who cleaned our room left lovely patterns with the bedspread, different every day!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scampy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,380
    617
    183
    122
See reviews for
1,062
1,562
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Me & my boyfriend recently stayed here 9-16th Nov we didnt have huge expectations but the hotel just didnt do it for us.
Check in at the hotel was a bit slow but over the week we learnt everything seems to be stupidly slow in spain.
We went up to our room which was very dated but it was clean so thats all that really mattered.
As you do when you get to your hotel we went to explore which lasted all of about 5 minutes as all there is there is the pool, the bar and the restaurant.
If your lucky enough to get any sun this time of year you get it for a very limited time due to the way the building has been built, it shades the pool and sunbathing area so whoever designed it probably back in the 1800's didnt quite think it through.
The food was ok we have had much much better and never worse! we didnt feel there was much choice and after everybody had panicked rushing around to get what they wanted you were so annoyed getting pushed here there n everywhere you didnt feel like eating anyway.
We both were very ill whilst we were there couldnt put my finger on what it was but that didnt matter as we both had food poisioning which but that extra dampner on the whole thing!!
The location of the hotel isnt too bad a minute walk to the beach and seafront a nice 20 min walk into Torremolinos and about 10 min walk to La Colina train station which we used everyday to get out.
The bar was the best place in the hotel probably due to the staff to be honest but the room itself just isnt big enough for the amount of guests there and there entertainment is a bit naff too, we didnt stay in purposely to watch it its just if we didnt there was no where else to go.
Overall the staff were nice especially the bar staff, the hotel is ok if your a little bit older and its location isnt bad, would i go bk? no.

Room Tip: Whilst we were there they were doing up some of the rooms so would ask for one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimeosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although we had dreadful weather we experienced a very pleasant stay at this hotel.We took the all inclusive option for our stay and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel didn't compromise on the quality of food service or drinks.The indoor pool & gym were ideal as the weather was appalling

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with this hotel. Having a complementary drink at the start of the holiday was a real treat. I was very impressed with the food and staff. The food was catered for every taste and the staff were amazing. Accommodation was at a very high standard. The only fault for this hotel is the entertainment when the weather is really bad. Not much to do inside the hotel, the bar area gets very noisy and hot with the amount of people there. Apart from that there are no more faults.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank danielle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

holiday from 4th November to 11th November
We travelled as a family four adults and two children aged one and three, with First choice.
At the welcome meeting the assistant manager made a speech and said if we weren't happy he would not be and if that was so to tell him.I was not happy when on our second day there was work being done on second floor windows with a lot of noise we were trying to have an afternoon nap which was impossible and the three year old was frightened of the banging, we went down to the bar to get a drink and in the corridor they were painting while people were trying to pass in wheel chairs and we thought it dangerous for our one year old grandson. There was nothing in the hotel for the children.
I complained to the assistant manager but he just said about the noise it was only one afternoon, my other complaint to him was vegetarian food with labels unclear for that I was given a meal one lunch time and one evening and that was it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ireneedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from the beach, in a quiet area.On checking in , we were welcomed with a champagne reception,and time taken to explain the layout of the hotel and arrangements regarding the restaurant.
The staff in particular the restaurant were excellent.The choice of meals in the restaurant was very varied ,Over the seven days we stayed, I could not criticize one meal. . For a buffet, to have a minimum of 2 chefs in attendance at all times was impressive. In between the meals,the balcony was set up with refreshments.Indeed all staff throughout the hotel had time for a smile and a greeting.Rooms were spotless ,and quite roomy. There was even an English channel on the televisions.
Only one point of criticisim and it was probably due to the time of the year , there was entertainment every night which was fine, however with a teenager in the party, she was bored during the day.
I would certainly go back.and would recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: With small children I would ask for floor on same level as restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindamcdowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here In October(we are in our 60's). The hotel was very clean, good food,friendly staff. Stayed in room 316, you could hear the people next door going to the toilet!!!! Nothing much to do there, no nice places to walk. Poor entertainment, though they did try for Halloween. Plenty of drinks, cava, lager & wine on tap and generous measures. Went on a trip to Gibraltar which was very good and had a fantastic guide who was very informative. The blanket trip is well worth going on (free) no hassle. The weather was terrible which did not help as when it rained all there was to do was drink !!!!!
All in all could not fault the hotel only Torremolinos - it was not for us. We won't be back.
On the way out someone stole my TRIP ADVISOR luggage tag - which I was proud of :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DEIANOSIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#22 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing