We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean & Tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean & Tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed with colleagues on business in mid October as its minutes from Malaga airport.

On arrival we received a glass of orange, reception staff were pleasant and we were checked in quickly.

Rooms were clean and tidy, although basic. The sea view which we had paid slightly more for probably wasn't worth it.

Drinks were cheap, but the food was of a better standard.

Location was good, quite a distance from Torremolinos town, but the beach was literally across the road. Less than ten minutes to Malaga airport.

Overall it made sense for our group to stay here as it was more of a base us, I probably wouldn't recommend this as a holiday hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BwlBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    499
    241
    55
    34
See reviews for
323
643
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Made to feel welcome with a complementary drink on arrival. Food is out of this world!!!! Staff very friendly and catered for every need. Room was very big and clean, cleaners very good! The only thing that spoiled the holiday was the weather but plenty to do in hotel with indoor pool, gym, and in house entertainment. I would definitly come back here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank danielle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

nice hotel but more for older people, food was good . we didn't have good weather so this did not help , not much goin on for children. indoor pool small . nothing to do when wet weather . would not go back hear. but for older couples it would be fine

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NettySkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were booked into the Luca Costa Lago hotel on the same road. 8th - 21st October 12. On arrival we were offered an "upgrade" free of charge to the BELPLAYA. On reflection I think that I should have refused it. The Costa Lago was undergoing refurbishment, and I think that maybe we were offered an upgrade to avoid any complaints! The BELPLAYA is a nice hotel, but as a non smoker I found it impossible to find a smoke free are in the open air. Perhaps the Hotel, should they read this, will consider providing an area for the non smokers to retreat to in the open air. I asked the manager to consider this, he said that he would lift the screen on the terrace while the weather was good, but it never happened.We had stayed at the Cost Lago the previous 2 years and will be back there next year. The entertainment wasn't great, but it must be difficult to cater for a multi-national audience. The food was very acceptable, and the service was good. The patios were the biggest draw-back for me because I always enjoy a night cap on the patio, and this was spoilt by the neighbours smoking and the smoke drifting through. I think a design fault of construction of the patios. Our room had noisy air conditioning, & loud neighbours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baznoble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The only thing that is not all inclusive in this hotel is the entertainment, this was very poor only one person who always seemed to seek out those guests that he knew he did not try to engage all guests. The rest of the staff were very friendly and could not have tried harder to ensure we have a good holiday, the accommodation and food were good. This was our second time at this hotel but due to the poor quality of entertainment we don't think we would go back a third time.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent ten nights at the riu belplaya from 19th oct to the 30 th . the staff were wonderful the rooms were kept spotless and the food was varied and always available . anyone who does not have enough it was there own fault . The only thing that lets this hotel down is the lack of entertainment at night especially,the one guy who does the activities during the day also has to double up as entertainment staff at night time introducing the very poor acts . In ten nights we saw the magician twice ,same singer twice, same flemenco twice. All finished by ten o clock ! Then its just background cd s .We were lucky that we were a party of four to make our own entertainment ,but i saw alot of bored faces.and people drifted off to bed by half ten

Room Tip: ask for a pool view worth the extra .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomberslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent hotel - upsides include the food with a splendid variety of food on offer and all to a good quality. The room was fine with a decent bathroom and an excellent shower. TV even hadUK channels! Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss. Reception and restaurant staff always happy and helpful. Only complaint would be the number of flies around the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlHathaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Property: Hotel Riu Belplaya
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing