We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dated but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Travelled to this hotel with my sister from 1st - 8th May for a break away.

Having seen some of the recent reviews I thought I'd add one to give a balanced point of view (hopefully).

I think the main downfalls of the Hotel is that it's advertised as a 4* & it's as Rui property. Firstly star ratings are given for facilities & not how modern/luxurious the hotel is and as somebody has previously mentioned you can not compare a new Rui property in the carribean to an old hotel in the med.

The hotel itself is dated and in need of modernisation, however we found the staff helpful (esecially Jose on reception) and the rooms cleaned to a good standard. The free use of the mini fridge in the room is a bonus and enjoyed having both BBC world news & E4 channels on the TV.

The food was average to good, but we always found something to eat and what I did have was always enjoyed - the carvery meat each evening in particular was very good. The hotel still runs two sittings for evening meals; 7pm or 8:45pm, we were initially given 8:45pm, but reception agreed to swap this to the earlier sitting for us. The Hotel WILL enforce these times & turn away anyone trying to access the restaurant when it's not their time. Whilst it's advertised as AI, it is more like full board with drinks. There is a small "snack bar" which opens later in the aftrenoon, but this only contains bread rolls with some ham & cheese & the left over cakes from breaksfast. Once these are consumed (very quickly we found!) it's not really replaced.

The hotel will provide pool towels for a deposit of 10 euro, the safety deposit box in each bedroom can be used for 20 euro deposit & the hotel have a few hairdryers which again are a 20 euro deposit. The hairdryers in the bathroom are useless - take your own!!

The evening entertainment was laughable - they only have one entertainer day & night & although he tried very hard it is impossible with just one person.

So would I recommend this hotel?? If you get a really good deal, then yes go, otherwise I'd go for the Sol Prinicpe Hotel just up the road which has recently been refurbished & looks lovely.

**Out & About**

La Colina train station - 15 min walk from hotel (turn right out of hotel, up the hill, right at the roundabout & station on the left). This train will take you to Malaga all the way through to fuengariola & is soooo easy & cheap. The ticket machine can display in english & only costed 2 euro 15 for a return ticket to malaga.

L2 bus - this is the local bus which will take you to Torremolinos bus station in the resort centre. Stops outside the front of hotel or along the seafront. Only costs 1 euro 20 each (single).

Walking to Torremolinos Centre - the guide book said 15 min walk, although we found it to be more like 30mins. Walk along the seafront until you come across a big orange, just before the orange is an alleyway which leads to several flights of stairs (i believe about 120 steps) walk up these & you are in teh resort centre with all the shops. My advice; get the bus there & walk back, much easier on the legs!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kt0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    1,397
    626
    183
    123
See reviews for
1,085
1,578
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

we have just returned from the Costa Lago, and we cant really fault it. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. On arrival we we were given a room overlooking the road, so we asked for another overlooking the pool area. The receptionist did this immediately with no fuss. Yes, the food is a bit boring, but as a vegetarian I still managed to put a few pounds on! The beer was weak, but then again, some people dont go on an all inclusive holiday to get p***ed all the time! Most of the guests where in their twilight years, but we all get old in the end ( It was my 50th birthday during our stay).
Across the road is Tonys bar (now renamed Andi and Christinas). Further into the town we found Shinanigans Irish Pub which was fantastic. All in all a good place to stay as long as you venture out of the hotel sometimes. And a mention must go to the Thomson Rep Christina, who was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cobblers9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Terrible hotel. Staff rude and unfriendly if you are English. Food was bad, bacon for breakfast was a mangled mess and cold beans, eggs every morning were not cooked properly and when we asked for them to be done a little bit more, we were given black looks.
We paid 30 euros to hold our room all day as we had a late flight. When we went into the dining room in the evening a waiter came up to us and in full view of everyone around and told us we could not have the meal we had just placed in front of us and had to leave the dining room. We were so embarassed. We had not arrived until 11.30pm the previous week so thought we were due the meal. This happened to others and in the end there were a number of us complaining at reception and the staff were just rude and dismissive of our complaint.
The bar is too small to hold all the guests and the only place you can get a cup of tea or coffee in the evening is if you go into the bar and queue up.
This hotel is never a 4 star hotel, it is more like a 2 star.
We saw cockroaches running across the floor at the back of the bar. The food looked and tasted awful. The entertainment with the exception of one night, was dire.
This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mazandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband are just back from a 5 day break at the Riu Belplaya. we booked in January when all the reviews said how wonderfull the hotel, service etc was. As said in other reviews the hotel seems to have slipped down due to the All Inclusive tarrif now operating. That said it was our first visit and although not anything really to rave about we did enjoy our break. I think we would have struggled to enjoy it if we were there more than a week as the food was repeatative and seemed to get worse as the week went on.
Good points are the room we had was lovely on the 7th floor with sea view,very clean and not noisey. The staff I would say 80% of them are polite and friendly although one or two did spoil it. Good location right across from beach and near shops.
Bad points the indoor pool was nice but spoilt but loud,screaming,excited children (not the childrens fault but an age restriction of say over 16 years would help make this area more pleasant for people wanting to relax and perhaps introduce a childrens indoor pool ) Animation work hard but could improve what was on offer. Still a nice mini break that we made the most of.
We would probably not return but then we like to try different places anyway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Having read the recent reviews and having stayed at this hotel a few times now over the the last couple of years, I feel it is only right to state my feelings!

Firstly, many RIU hotels on mainlands cannot be compared to those on the Caribbean Islands or indeed any 'exoctic island'. There tends to be a whole world of difference at times - just look in the brochures, that should tell it all - pre plannng !!!! And read T/A !!!!

Reception staff are very attentitive, helpful, and polite at all times, never been different from our visits.

Lifts, yes two, but rarely do you have to wait a minute or two!!

Food - Quality still very good, at times excellent, especially the carvery, but have to admit, slightly less choice this time, but something I would imagine to please all their guests and their dietary needs - we never heard a moan!

Restuarant - I can only assume those who have complained travelled Easter or just before, because we arrived Easter Sunday, and there was no problem whatsover - choice of tables, no queues, no problem as I say, nice and really relaxing!!!

Noise - What noise, we were in the main block and never heard a murmur - like before, a nice quiet hotel!!

The only critisism I would have is the drinks, the white wine on tap, disgusting, cucumber water or not ?? It was gross and the spirits for A/I were poor.

Apart from the drinks, the hotel was excellent, standards of cleanliness were as good ever, guests were polite as usual, so can only assume, those who have complaints, unfortunately chose the wrong week.

In closing, if we felt a hotel deserved critisism, my wife and I being in the Travel Industry for years would speak out, because we feel it is only right fellow travellers should know,
however we do feel it is only right to be honest in our reviews, whether they be positive or negative about a hotel - in this case, we feel it is a good hotel, not perhaps for all, but for most.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACESolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

How anyone can give this hotel a good rating is beyond me. First of all the hotel is very dated and really needs modernising, the furniture is scuffed and the beds may aswell be ironing boards. The food is terrible, especially if you are a vegetarian - I simply would not recommend the all inclusive for any vegetarian as they even put bacon in the veg! Regardless of dietary requirements the food is very repetitive and of poor quality. The bar is very dated and the entertainment is poor. Some rooms are located on the next to the bar terrace which is bad for anyone wanting an earlier night than the 'last man standing' as it gets very noisy until late. The pool is freezing and the pool bar smells of sewage. The hotel is literally FULL of OAPs, with the odd family, younger couple, hen party. The area itself is very boring with very little (if anything) to do.

Positive - the staff were friendly but this doesn't compensate for the exceptionally poor hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalba23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a far cry from the Riu we know and love. It was our first stay in Riu Belplaya, and probably the last one as well. We stayed at other Riu hotels in Mexico, and will soon stay at one of the Riu Palace in Jamaica. We really love Riu, so we thought the Riu Belplaya would be something similar. But we were mistaken. The only thing we really enjoyed was the beautiful views of both mountain and sea from the balcony on the ninth floor room.
The lifts are very sloooow, only two of them and it takes a long time for them to come and then a long time to take you all the way up. The rooms are cleaned every day and the cleaners do their job very well.
Food choice was rather poor in comparison with other Riu hotels. The vegetables did not look too fresh, every time they looked like they were left overs from the previous day.
The drinks at the bar were awful, the so-called cocktails were appalling. When I complained about the Copacabana cocktail, which didn't taste at all like the Copacabana I know so well, they showed me a 'prepared bottle' which they receive and all they do is mix it with ice. It did not taste like coconut at all, in fact it tasted like cheap 'exotic' drinks you buy from the supermarket. The chief barman even had the guts to tell me that the same cocktails can be made out of different ingredients in different Riu hotels. I let it drop and drank Coca cola from the self serving machines for the remaining of our stay.
There are many things I could say, I try not to be too negative and I will say the best thing of our stay was the beach, the sun and our long evening walks along the beach of Torremolinos. However, it is very unlikely we will ever return to Riu Belplaya.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootancommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#25 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol

Property: ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
ClubHotel Riu Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing