We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Hotel Puente Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puente Real
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here from the 10th to 17th of June all inclusive. We arrived late at night and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who informed us dinner was about to finish so we could leave our bags in the office and go and catch dinner before we got our room, this was great as we were very hungry after our flight. We were not so impressed, when we got to our room, we paid for a superior room with a sea view. Yes, we had a sea view but it was a minimal one and nothing like the pictures advertised. When we went to ask about this it was a male receptionist who informed us this was the room we were allocated and that was that, he stated they used the best picture for the website and the picture on the website was a suite not the type of room we would get so we felt a little misled. The rooms were clean, but twin beds were a bit of a nuisance. On our last day we got to see a standard room which had the same view as our superior and a double bed! We were role there were no rooms with double beds!! We found the staff quite rude at times, when we asked about bus times the female receptionist asked the male receptionist to help us as we did not speak Spanish, to which we heard "we'll that's their problem" very rude! The restaurant staff are quite pushy too and think nothing of grabbing you and pushing you out the way. The snack bar and pool bar staff are great though, ver friendly and always cheerful! The resturant food was quite poor, very stodgy and the fish was full of bones and quite a poor selection. The deserts were just disgusting the grey jelly was the worst. We generally ate at the snack bar.The restaurant is very busy and on numerous occasions Spanish guests pushed us out of the way with one even telling me "I hate english, go home" when I politely said excuse me to get past. And another thought it acceptable to grab the serving spoon from my hand. The entertainment was quite poor and the children's entertainment went on way too late often not finishing until well after 10.30. The all inclusive finished at 11 and the bar was open til 12 which also seemed a bit of a rip off. We were told by our travel company that a late check out had been arranged for us, but when it came to the day our room was locked at 12 with our belongings in them. Where went to receptionist ask to get our stuff out we were treated quite badly. We we told by the receptionist that check out is at 12 no later. we then heard another receptionist tell another guest that late check out is available. It took half an hour of arguing just to get the key to go and get our cases out. When we went up to get our stuff the maid burst in shouting at us to get out as she had to clean the room we explained what had happened but she continued to shout at us then phoned reception. reception then told us that infact we were able to stay until 3 but we decided just to leave. T Overall the hotel was clean but some of the staff could be a bit friendlier and the superior room really isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the superior room trick, a standard is just as good if not better for couples who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glasgowgirl530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Puente Real for your vacation. We regret that you did not seem appropriate treatment of our staff who work very hard to provide the best service to our customers. We like to know who enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. Hope to see you around here again soon.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 3,086 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having just returned, having spent eleven days at the Puente Real in Torremolinos, I would like to thank all the staff for making our holiday, a great one, especially Tania in the restaurant. She always had a smile on her face and nothing was too much trouble for her. There was a good choice of food served at every sitting, although we missed a few lunches as we were out all day.
We stayed in the main building on the fourth floor, the rooms were cleaned every day, fresh towels daily and beds changed every three days, what more could you ask for.
The only problem I had was the night club on the beach, with the loud music until 4 or 5 in the morning, this was not the hotels fault as I like to sleep with the door open.
The family would definatly return here for another holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngleseyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Puente Real in TripAdvisor. We like to know you enjoyed the treatment of our staff, the food and the cleanliness of the hotel. Hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

we stayed here from 4 -11th June. We turned up and was placed on the 4th floor, lovely room but had been allocated a double room and this was not it so informed reception and they transferred us to an apartment. Was not as nice as the hotel but had separate bedroom so children where in the lounge sofa beds. The food at the snack bar was perfect and the gentleman worked extremely hard to make all requests fresh. The restaurant was fine aswel. not very much choice but always tested nice.
The entertainment staff especially Kyra worked hard during the day and also at night.
I would stay at this hotel again but request the hotel with a double room, this was the only part that let the stay down. But it’s only a room to sleep in at the end of the day.
very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleandashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Puente Real in TripAdvisor. We like to know that you and your family enjoyed the entertainment and the food. Hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Puente Real Los Alamos Torremolinos 3rd – 17th June. No complaints about the place. We found it to be very clean, the food was good and plenty of it. We took the AI option advisable because the hotel is quite a way from the town centre a 20min walk to the hotel melia and then take the lift behind the melia up into town 50 cents each 1 way.
Alternatively the local buses stop right outside the hotel and time tables are available on request from reception.
The hotel staff are very friendly and obliging and the maid service is spot on.
There are 2 bars, one in the hotel and another pool bar the latter being self service for beer,soft drinks, coffee and water.
There can be queues at the hotel bar but the staff seem to cope quite adequately.
Ice cream and lollipops are available throughout the day at the pool bar for the kiddies.
As is the norm in these hotels people get up at sunrise to reserve their sunbeds, despite notices forbidding this. The main pool can get very busy and noisy so we opted for the peace of the smaller pool round the back of the main one.
All of the hotels in the vicinity are AI hence the lack of bars in the vicinity,there are 2 bars a 10 min walk out of the hotel turn right at the first roundabout take a left there is a bar directly behind the taxi rank and another one 2 mins further up on the same side.
There are numerous Chirringuitos ( beach bars ) all along the promenade but these tend to be a little expensive.
For people wishing to use rail travel the Los Alamos station is a 15 min walk ,out of the hotel turn left at the first roundabout take a left and the station is at the top of the road.
The only gripe I have is the lack of entertainment at the hotel, hopefully as the season gets into full swing this will improve.
Room wise try and get one in block 3 this block is only 5 floors, the main hotel being 9 floors and people encountered problems when getting the lifts. We were in room 3212 so no problems at all.
These rooms have been refurbished to a good standard and there is plenty of storage space.
Each room has a fridge and a flat screen TV albeit only 3 channels in English.
A safe is available at 3euro/ day plus refundable deposit .Note there are no kettles in these rooms so take your own.
Give it a try for the price you can,t beat it.

Room Tip: dont get a room in the main building unless you like waiting for lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickyplumBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Puente Real in TripAdvisor. We like to know you enjoyed the food, the treatment of the staff and the hotel pool. We take note of what you say about the entertainment. Hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at puente real for 1 week 7-14 June we booked an appartment sleeping 2-4 adults this turned out to be fantastic location we were ground floor right outside the pool if we could have picked any room this would have been it , the appartment was cleaned every day with fresh towels for all 4 of us daily, the food was good something for everyone the snacks were good the man in the hut was amazing he had a good system he could serve 4 people at tge same time and get the order spot on ,the all inclusive drinks also good u could help yourself to the beers , soft drinks , sangria wine and coffee if u wanted spirits u needed to go to the bar very rarely was there a big que for this . All inc bar finished at 11pm this was ok as we stocked up , entertainment was not great but we were told that it had not started properly it was due to start this week, mainly kids disco when we were there , Overall this is a good hotel and excellent value for money will defiantly go back :)


Louise and Steve, Darren and Michelle Gibbs

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Puente Real in TripAdvisor. We like to know you enjoyed the food, drink and hotel cleaning. Hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food was good, staff very helpful. We thought we were getting a room in the hotel, but ended up in the appartments. Shower was broken although reported was not fixed also green black mould on all the tiles. A fight broke out one afternoon at the pool bar and started again later on. If you want a noisey holiday then this is the hotel to be staying. The accommodation in my opinion at the appartments is only 2 star. Too much cursing and swearing at pool bar when children are about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing Puente Real hotel for your vacation. We like to know that you enjoyed the treatment of our staff and the food. We take note of what we said about the noise. Hope to see you around here again. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Upon arrival the front of the hotel looked very impressive and the security guard was really pleasant and was playing with my 2 year old. We should of been in the hotel but was given a room in the self catering part which was pretty bad considering the difference in decor. Also the place is pretty big and we were just given a map to find our room which took a while.nothing was explained properly and the reception staff wasn't very helpful on numerous occasions throughout my hols.
The food was really poor,everything (even the bread)tasted like salt, as a vegetarian I found myself eating dry pasta most nights and have stayed at 2 stars with more choice. Knives,forks and plates not clean,and dishes marked as vegetarian but on inspection were clearly not.
Nothing from the snack bar was vegetarian as everything was thrown on the same grill, but my son ate mostly from here and I found the man running it a real asset to the hotel and he needs a pay rise,anything he's earning is not enough, nothing was too much trouble and no matter how busy he was he never stressed,2 people covered his day off and the wait was double.also a very friendly lady worked on the bar,she was always playing with the kids.freezer full of ice pops and slush kept my son happy.personally wasn't impressed with the beer quality.
Everyone were rude for some reason in this hotel and as much as it pains me to say this the English guests were far worse than anywhere else,with the exception of the short fat grey German who wanted to fight with anyone from England,launguage was terrible considering most families had kids.
The entertainment was poor and hard to understand,the girls who ran kids club were very uninterested,they did what they had to do but didn't go out of their way,seemed more interested on getting drunk with young guests. I did shooting once and was so bored where the last hotel made it fun the man was that funny, the entertainment team in puente real lacked personality and spunk with the exception of the Spanish dj who was really pretty funny.
Showers were terrible too. All in all, I'd not rate this a 4 star and was bored would not come back. Oh also the god dam birds, there was bird poo everywhere yak!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 542nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,435 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puente Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puente Real

Address: Paseo Maritimo 79 | Playa del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $69 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puente Real 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Real 4 **** is ideally located on the beach front in Torremolinos and is awarded with the Q for Quality Tourism. It offers you the posibility to take a rest and enjoy the fabulous climate of the "sunny coast" as well as the Andalousian customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Puente Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Real Hotel Torremolinos
Puente Real Torremolinos
Hotel Puente Real Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing