We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a break in the sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a break in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

we have recently returned from our 3rd trip to the Pez with 3 grown up offspring who have just finished exams. I was about to book another hotel when a pop up suggested The Pez and it was considerably cheaper than the other hotel. We knew it was good value for money so we booked it and we were not disappointed. the hotel is spotlessly clean. the white towels are sparkling, fluffy and soft. The Hotel has an air of past glories about it and displays pictures of famous previous guests - but these are from the 1960's! I understand that the hotel is due for a refurbishment early next year, and, to be honest, it is in need of it. The rooms are beginning to look tired but again are very clean. we had rooms overlooking the pool with a sea view. it was so lovely to wake up to see the waves on the beach. my only issue was the towels on the sunbeds! I was up at 7 o'clock and even at that time fellow guests had been up and placed towels on their chosen beds and nearly all had been 'reserved'. I noticed that on one day some beds near us were draped with towels and yet when we left the pool after one o'clock, nobody had occupied these beds. the hotel displays notices saying that towels would be removed by hotel staff. this was never done. I had hoped that the culture of towels on the sunbeds was a thing of the past, but no!! the food was self service and was plentiful and good. we had a lovely holiday and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    463
    148
    48
    18
See reviews for
269
658
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week in April this year travelling with Thomson's holidays. Had a great time and could find very few faults, the staff were very friendly and helpful, everywhere and everything in the hotel was spotless, the food was very good with plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. The one small complaint would be that my room only had a small balcony and was quite dark. This hotel is ideal for getting around and is very close to the Marina just a 10 minute stroll on a lovely flat promenade.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 01 are dark with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderer511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Happywanderer511,

Thanks for staying at the Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations and that you really found the hotel to your liking. We hope to welcome you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was one of the first to be built in the area but although showing its age this doesn't detract from the cleanliness and facilities.

Breakfast and dinner were very good. Our room was overlooking the pool and garden.

Chambermaids very thorough and friendly.

Excursion from the hotel include Gibraltar, Mijas, Flamenco Show and the Crocodile Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and then you get a good view of the beaches and sea as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear SueBunt,

Thanks for reviewing Hotel Pez Espada and we are looking to seeing you here again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have just returned from a fortnight’s holiday at the Pez, just myself and husband for the first week and some family members, including my 4 year old granson, for the second week. This was our third time staying at the Pez and we weren’t disappointed.

We had a lovely garden view room, overlooking the pool, kept spotlessly clean as usual. I asked at reception if the additional family members could be accommodated close to us and they were allocated a room just a few doors from us (thank you).

The food was great quality and plenty of it and the dining room was run as efficiently as ever by Angel and his team.

I agree that the bedrooms and bathrooms are looking a little tired and need a bit of a makeover, but there’s nothing seriously wrong and I look forward to seeing the results of the refurbishment.

My only (very) minor issues were the poor WiFi, (hopefully after the refurb there will be free WiFi throughout the hotel) and the lack of channels on the TV. However, we don’t go on holiday to sit and watch TV.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone: the location, cleanliness, nice, friendly staff and food quality more than make up for any small gripes and we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden view room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneLavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, PPRR at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear YvonneLavery,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment on your recent stay at this place. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and we hope you will stay with us again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Polska
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Negatives:
Hotels renovated old but still in need of renovation. In some places, the walls cracked and flaking paint. Curtains also washable and stained carpeting. The downside is the lack of a fridge in the room, and when it appeared, its cost 2 Euros a day. No animation in the swimming pool for adults such as: aerobics in the pool. This is what resulted animator is hardly aerobics.

The positives:
Is more positive.
The proximity to the beach. Peace and discreet animation: flamenco singing different vocalists, the proximity to the port - a 15 minute walk along the promenade. Good pool 150 - 200 cm. Sunbathing area on site (deckchairs free of charge). Best is the kitchen. Here everyone can find something for themselves. I ate: shrimp, paela, pork, beef, various types of fish, lots of desserts. Breakfast is monotonous, but the variety you can find something for everyone: fried eggs, fried sausages, beans, toast, various cereals .... Service speak good English. He is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piotr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a week in July and I just loved it. I was there with my family including my 4 yr old son. The rooms although a bit dated where clean and spacious and we were lucky to have a pool view. Have to say this was the first holiday hotel I have stayed in where the shower does not soak the floor every time you use it. Don't change the bathrooms as they are perfect!
The food was delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. The pool area is fantastic and it's great to have a lifeguard from 10 to 6 everyday. The location couldn't be better.
All in all I couldn't fault the hotel. My sin has already decided we have to go back next year with all the family!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday and for sharing your lovely comment. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great location ,go through gardens and you are on the sea front ,and a lovely walk into torremolinos center.the rooms are spacious and bright just a tad dated but spotlessly clean .food is very nice and a good selection every day for breakfast and dinner couldn't fault any member of staff .

Room Tip: A garden view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing