We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“" Nice and Friendly"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
northeast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“" Nice and Friendly"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our first impression of the 1st floor room was dissapointment,compared with the rooms in the annex which we have previously stayed,it was quite dark and the balcony was so small and in disrepair,only got the sun early morning.We enquired about change of room but were told that was all we had paid for a standard room.So that was us told!!Thats our moan over so now for the good points.Excellent restaurant and bar staff.Food very good especially the carvery nights.Frankies cafe bar good for lunchtime snacks.Good location on the prom and very handy to the marina on right of hotel and then in opposite direction a good walk into Torremolinos,plenty of shops and restaurants all along the prom.The hotel is definately ready for a total refurbishment which is happening next Jan/Feb,so we are looking forward to seeing the results on our next visit. Good Luck Pez.!!

Room Tip: Ask for views of pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northeasthighflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Northeasthighflier,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada for your recent stay in Torremolinos and for sharing your comment with us. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday despite few unsatisfactory aspects of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    411
    130
    45
    18
See reviews for
234
558
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St annes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ideal location, plenty of choice food wise, tables always clean and tidy, all the staff were pleasant especially the young lady doing the day time activities. Bar area was always clean and staff very friendly. Agree could do with a paint and flowers updating but would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Debmaths,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your recent stay in Torremolinos and for taking the time to share your experience from this place. We are glad to receive your positive opinion and to hear that will return to our hotel. As you might know, the hotel will undergo a partial refurbishment the coming year (January, February 2015). We hope you will enjoy your stay the next time you will be with us. Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Firstly I have to say I know Spanish hotels are rated more leniently than in the UK and Ireland.I have spent a lot of time in Spain. And secondly I am aware that some hotels are child free and typically these hotels are for young and boisterous or romantic venues for all ages.
some of the venerable guests in this hotel unfortunately feel that any child under forty years old shouldn't be allowed in as it somehow ruins the ambience of the hotel!
Wise up one BUSY night at the entertainment (60 people max) I pointed out that four of the gentlemen of an older persuasion had actually nodded off. The entertainment was woeful to be fair except for the amazingly upbeat lulu who couldn't have worked harder or done a better job.
This hotel thinks it is still as good as it was when Sean connery might have stayed here but I can't imagine a soap star being impressed with this hotel never mind a Hollywood star or royalty.
Trousers at dinner what a joke! An insult really seeing as the buffet is really poor quality over cooked veg dire breakfast and really limited choice and no show cooking!grow up pez espada your food is rubbish and the service in the mess hall is very unprofessional and antiquated. Tiny wine glasses, dirty most of the time, left on table for beer wine coke or whatever you might order. Oh yes three days during a two week stay at breakfast I noticed that the hot milk they gave us for tea and coffee as standard broke in floating bits as soon as it hit the coffee.
The staff in the mess hall are rude but not maybe as rude as reception and one girl in the bar where the entertainment is held.
I could go on and on so in case you wondering why I gave three stars here it is quickly
Most of the people ARE older but actually really nice and enjoyed having children about. The staff in frankies where really nice and friendly. The cleaning staff are really friendly accommodating and did a good job with the shabby rooms. Pools are good.The lifeguards were pleasant and didn't enforce the rule of no swimming underwater which is one of the many the hotel likes to tell you about. The location is good pretty much everything less than 20min walk and buses top of road.
Wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. Charming? No deluded

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fairdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Fairdue,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your sincere comment with us. We are sorry to hear that there were several aspects of the hotel which did not meet your expectations. We take note of your comment and will make the best to make improvements as our priority is guest satisfaction.
Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will give us the chance to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Pez Espada is a wonderful hotel with a fascinating history. The staff are friendly, the food delicious; our room was basic but with a gorgeous view. Love how easy it is to access the beach and prom via the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Helenos08,

Thanks for for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy to hear that you find our hotel to your liking, especially hotel location, its history and excellent service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a good relaxed friendly holiday in June this year, many staff were multi linquil , this hotel is ideally located for most services including local bus services.Taxis are close by too. The food is first class and large selection to suit all tastes. Rooms are serviced every day, all areas are clean and tidy. Rooms do need updating, but there's no extra charge for the beautiful views. All areas are serviced by lifts plus ramps in some areas too. Lots of info is available at reception, it is also near to Malaga airport making getting there easy. We were made aware a refurbishment is due in the new year which can only mean the hotel will be even better. We propose to return in the near future and would recommend it to other holiday makers.

Room Tip: We had garden facing rooms which were apparently quieter than beach facing rooms ours overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katieoxo094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Katieoxo094,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment on your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel other holidaymakers. We hope to be able to welcome and serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The staff is Outstanding ! We have been staying here for 22 years and love it more each year. The food has changed as well... It is Spain and my husband being Spanish wishes they offered the selection they once did... I know they have to cater to the guests but it would be nice to offer tapas and other Spanish dishes. I suggested the sauces be put on the side and not soaking in the food... Luis, Angel and the others in the dining room are all wonderful !! Reception staff is outstanding. Juanita who services the rooms is OUTSTANDNG and should receive a GOLD STAR !!! I have been told they are closing for a few months to update the hotel which it has needed for sometime. We are treated like family and I would never stay in another hotel. Most of the guests are elderly and wish they would have the same requirement as the Hotel Riviara - NO CHILDREN UNDER 18 !!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool and ocean are BEAUTIFUL !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Christine N,

Thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your comment with TripAdvisor community. We are very pleased to hear that once again our hotel met your expectations. Regarding the suggestions about our restaurant, we very much appreciate it and of course all of them will be forwarded to our management.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

we spent 2 glorious weeks in feb2013,the hotel was in need of updating,but the rooms,food and staff fabulous.the hotel gardens ledon to the beach,from a gate,with a number you will be given,on arrival,the path you can walk on ether left or right is flat with the sea on one side,birds singing in the trees.good cafes both ways.the marina,is on the path if you turn right as you leave by the gate.night life is good something for everyone,happy hours also two for one,brandy very good,as is the whisky.the pool out side in winter is out of the sun and icy,but the inside ok,as is the one on the front of hotel out side.if you go out of the entrance past reception,you walk across the road up a little hill,easy..you can get busses to most of the towns and villages.ask first the cost of a taxi if you wish to go else were.as some prices can be very different,from one to another.you can have boat trips,from the marina.a lovely park a bus ride to Belamadina,also a water park show but we didnt get to see as its closed in feb.the weather in feb was very warm,just got cold at 4 oclock needed a cardigan.dont forget your camera.lots to see and do,walking shoes,is a must.but if you cant walk back.dont worry you have got a choice of taxi or bus.

Room Tip: facing the pool,can also see the sea.looking towards the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.4 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,656 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing