We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food great, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
wolves
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“food great, great location”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

just returned from a weeks stay at the Pez Espada, this was our second visit . The hotel is in a great location, good for walking. The food at hotel was great, very well presented, and very tasty, having been to other hotels food looks good but has no flavour. The salads are always good and varied and the carvery meats were succulent. The breakfasts were very good everything you could wish for, even Yorshire teabags. Overall an excellent hotel , and after its refurb you might struggle to make a booking there. We hope to return with friends later this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolvesApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    493
    156
    50
    20
See reviews for
291
702
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

spent a week here in april, lovely hotel ideally situated only 2mins from beach. although mainly an adult hotel and slightly tired (I understand a revamp will be in jan 2015) this is still one of the best in the area. breakfast is average but very clean. dinner is superb with a wonderful selection. all rooms have some sea view but garden view rooms are slightly better. the promenade stretches for miles well maintained and clean. paloma park is about 25mins walk and worth a visit with all the small animals and free entrance. Malaga with the cathedral and Picasso museum is a short bus ride away. the bus stops and supermarket are a few minutes walk from front of hotel. a short bus ride or 20min walk will take you to shops, although there are shops along the sea front. the cheapest beer (1. 50 euro per pint) is 2 mins from hotel. turn right on promenade and the dark side of the moon (british café) is on the right. all in all I would recommend this hotel and area and I can see why people keep returning as I will

Room Tip: garden view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Rica C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment on your recent stay at hotel Pez Espada. We We are pleased to hear that we met your expectation and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel still faintly echoes the grandeur of its early days. The marbled stairs, the splendid reception area and the grand spiral staircase leading to the dining room which has inlaid orange strip lights set into each stair. Pez Espada (for anyone who doesn’t know) means Sword Fish.

There has been a refurbishment programme but having read earlier reviews we expected our room to be, ahem, less than perfect – but it was comfortable enough, indeed quite large with good view of the beach and the sea as well as the pool area.

The beds were comfortably firm. The room had a safe (at extra cost), a fridge (at extra cost) and a small 3/4 ratio flat screen TV. Unfortunately you will not receive British TV on this set as BBC/ITV have changed their satellite signal so that it is no longer available in Spain. You might receive Sky News if you hurry up but I think that is also planned to change platform shortly.

Breakfast was excellent. We have stayed at many Spanish hotels and the Pez Estrada’s sausages are the most like a British sausage that we have ever encountered. A cheap British sausage mind – but at least they didn’t taste like the usual frankfurter/fat/sawdust hybrid. Dinner was less excellent but nonetheless still very acceptable and a fair range of main courses always available. Drinks prices are very affordable and the house wines were quite reasonable both in terms of price and acceptability.

The outdoor pool area provides for two large pools and plenty of sunbeds. The indoor pool is tiny and hardly ever open. There was a table tennis table but it looked like it had been hit at some point by a meteorite and was completely beyond repair. Bearing in mind how little a table costs and how easily available they are this was rather poor – especially as we have brought bats and balls as keen players.

There is no exercise room – in the 21st century this is unacceptable. There is an unused “card room” that could easily be equipped with few treadmills, bikes and weight machines at modest cost and why it is allowed to stand endlessly empty waiting for a “never to arrive” contract bridge four when it could be pressed into service for exercise is incomprehensible.

There was entertainment every evening in the Bar Mediterranean. This comprised singers, flamenco and a magician. It was all quite fun – none of the acts were especially good but they all did their best and we were entertained. Three nights a week in the Bar Mediterranean there is a “happy hour” (8 ‘til 9) when you will be given 2 drinks for the price of 1 – which, unless you are a speedy drinker, means one cold pint and one warm one.

The position of the hotel could not be better – there must be 200 restaurants of all calibres in easy reach. The beach is just a few steps from the hotel. There is a private gate from the hotel to the Carihuela (the promenade) – so remember to take your room key so that you can get back in!

Most of the residents were in the 70s and 80s so night times were very quiet or at least they would have been were it not for two young gay men from Bristol that shattered everyone’s peace one evening by drunkenly shouting, crying like girls and then later being loudly sick. The hotel did virtually nothing to curtail the activities of these poorly brought up limp yobs and inevitably they were in the room next to us so WE had to move rooms – our new room being just like the old one but with better neighbours.

Overall we had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the week. We would not hasten to return but the hotel has much to recommend it and a splendid and proud history. Its “alumni” after all include Frank Sinatra, Mary Pickford, The Duke of Windsor & Wallis Simpson and Sean Connery.

You really can't fault it on value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my 9 year old Daughter and we had a fantastic time! If you are worried about the food you need not be there is a perfect choice and even the fussiest of eaters will find something they like. A really nice touch is at breakfast the waiter asks you if you want tea or coffee and then brings it to you in hot jugs so the coffee is hot and fresh and very good! The staff are polite and professional and we had a lovely room over looking the pool and sea. If you find you are stuck for things to do the shops are very close by and a supermarket 2 mins from the hotel where you can get a huge punnet of delicious strawberrys for 2 euros and any other items you need much cheaper!
My Daughter and I are fairly adventurous so we went out and visited places. I would highly recommend the cable car its a short 15 min bus ride
away and the views are amazing and its not expensive 10 euros each worth every penny. Mijas is also not too far away and the paloma park is fabulous where you will find peacocks and other animals there as well as a play ground. The only thing I would say about Pez Espada is the entertainment here needs some improvement but there were some flamenco dancers who were very good and livened the place up abit!! I have travelled a lot and as a single parent
I was a bit worried there weren't many kids there but the peace and quiet was fabulous and my child can swim and read and entertain herself plus the beach is right in front of the hotel. If you have younger children it may not be as suitable as the pool is pretty cold. We did go to another sister hotel on a few nights called Bali and there was a lot more going on for the kids but to be honest I was very happy staying at the Pez Espada as it has a lovely calmness
about it and I wanted some rest time! Thank you to the lovely staff at Pez Espada and to the chef, we loved the fresh fish, lasagne and deserts and as for my Daughter, I think she
ate most of the watermelon! :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Halokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Halokitty,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday in Torremolinos and for sharing your lovely comment with TripAdvisor community. Your comment makes us happy, knowing that our hotel met your expectations is our best reward. Please rest assured I will pass your lovely comment onto the hotel management and our staff.

Thanks once again for choosing Hotel Pez Espada and we look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just back from the Pez Espada with 4 friends This is an ideal Hotel for us( all between 55-66)
The staff were friendly and cheerful and couldn't do enough to help. One of our group had a problem with a window blind and maintenance were there fixing it before he got back from from reporting it.Food was plentiful a good range and well cooked .rooms were kept spotlessly clean. It is literally 5 meters from the Hotel to the beach.I believe its down for refurb will be back to see .
The one and only downside the outside pool is in shade a good bit so can be cold. I have no hesitation to recommend this Hotel to all and we will return god and age willing

Room Tip: rooms around pool have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Brandonboo,

Thank you very much for your nice review after your recent stay at our Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming again in the future. Regards, Vanda Lehnerova, Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As a family party of 10 we have just spent a lovely 10 days at the hotel. Very relaxing! The food in the restaurant was good and the staff were very accommodating in providing us with our own table for 10. The bar prices were very reasonable and bar staff all very friendly. The location of the hotel was fantastic and it was definitely worth paying for the beautiful sea views. All the communal areas were very spacious and clean. We would definitely return to this hotel should we visit this area of Spain again.

Room Tip: Beautiful sea views from room 1011 / 10 / 09
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were transferred to this hotel following a disaster at our previous hotel. We were fortunate to have a front facing room with fridge, hairdryer etc. Views to die for, right on the beach. Fabulous pool, plenty of sunbeds and sunshades. Well kept lawns. Extremely large, clean, bright public areas. Hairdresser and beautician on site. Restaurant spacious with clean linen, not paper cloths. Food varied including a good variety of starters not just soup. Can't comment on entertainment as Don.t usually watch hotel entertainment. This is a really tranquil hotel despite it being Easter holidays and a number of children. Ideal position placed 10 minutes from marina at Benalmadina or more vibrant Torromolinos. All accessed by a lovely flat promenade.Still has a large amount of 'lucky' men but you are not pestered by them. This hotel is certainly on my list to revisit although it may not suit younger people looking for somewhere a little livelier

Room Tip: Pay extra for front facing rooms. Well worth the view and extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your recent holiday in Torremolinos and for sharing your comment on this place. It is very rewarding to hear that you had a fabulous time with us, having enjoyed room with stunning beach views, our delicious cuisine, friendly staff and location.
As you say, the hotel has unbeatable location, right on the beach accessible from our large garden.
Once again, thanks for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,734 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing