We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week stay at this hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary .We originally came for our honeymoon and whilst the hotel is looking a little tired nowadays we still had a lovely visit .

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely room on the 3rd floor annex.It was very quiet and comfy and kept in excellent condition .

We enjoyed excellent food ,especially the breakfast which was the best buffet style we had ever had .Every evening there was a live show and again ,in the main very good .The price of drinks was also very good value .

All in all great value for money and we will certainly return next year .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank harveyheights8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We last visited this hotel in November 2011 and returned in November 2013. Everything was exactly the same, nothing had changed at all. l requested a room on the sunny side of the hotel which also have a side sea view and garden view - once again the management obliged. The hotel had famous guests during the 60s and 70s, whose pictures are displayed in the lounge, and the hotel still retains a certain charm from those days. The food is still good, the dining room is run very efficiently by the same maitre'd and his senior team, and the staff in general are helpful and friendly. The position of this hotel on the promenade is excellent, turn right to Benalmadena marina and left to Torremolinos. Once again at this time of year, the guests were mainly mature people (this includes us of course), Although l can't really fault the hotel, l think it might be time for some refurbishment without the loss of elegance and charm. Hopefully, we will return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Maxibird,

Thank you for revisiting Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the elegance setting of the hotel along with the excellent service of our staff.

Once again thank you for staying at the Hotel Pez Espada and we look forward to welcoming you here, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is in a top spot right on the promenade, yes it may need renovating but i didnt go to look at the furniture, unfortunately when hotels like this get renovated they end up full of plastic furniture and very uncomfortable,
It is spotless and the service is great, the beds and pillows very comfy, i thought the food was excellent, if you dont like the food here i have no idea what you must eat!!!
I do think you need to pay extra for a garden view room as these rooms are bigger and get the sun all day.
if you want to watch tv in your room you have bbc1 itv1 itv2 film4 and sky news, but the large tv downstairs only shows spanish tv, a bit strange really.
I would definately return to the pez and would recommend it, although its not really a hotel for children.

Room Tip: Get a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My second time back to the pez espada hotel and still as good has before, food excellent, staff fantastic, accommodate very clean and comfortable rooms, very wheel chair friendly if you have some walking difficulties, entertainment very good, Lee Thomson rep very good and helpful and certainly new all about the costa del sol having only been here two weeks, would recommend in every way this hotel for all. 10 out of 10

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JeffcEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear JeffcEssex,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. It's been a pleasure to have you as a guest and to hear of your satisfaction.

Thank you again for reviewing Hotel Pez Espada and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Enjoyed our holiday at the pez espada but can't really say its a four star. The rooms were large and kept clean by the cheerful maids,the beds and pillows we found to be very comfortable in our garden view room. The biggest drawback for me about the room was the fact I couldn't use my travel kettle, especially as I bothered to take it, I do like a drink when I wake up or if we spend any time in the room, I don't always want to sit downstairs to have a coffee.
The food was good although the choice was not always huge, we enjoyed what we had and the breakfasts were excellent. The waiters could be more cheery though, especially the younger ones, they could do with a lesson from the Italian waiters we had in sorrento at the hotel flora, they were always smiling and obviously enjoyed their work. The pez waiters didn't really want to look at you less speak or smile.
It's a pity the huge swimming pool is in the shade as it is too cold to use in november, and I did feel it should have been cleaned better as the leaves were allowed to stay floating and the bottom was green in places.
The hotel has a good position on the prom with plenty of little places to eat nearby and you can walk miles in either direction. The marina being near and the lovely Paloma park about 45 mins away, well worth a visit or two!! For the money we paid I would have to say it was good value and as the weather was excellent we enjoyed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank blover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Duration: October 13 - 31st inclusively
Full Board

Having read many reviews of the hotel my husband and I knew exactly what to expect so there were no great surprises. Our room, 314, which faced the pool and sea was very clean but could use a facelift. The beds were very comfortable. Soap, bath gel, shampoo, body lotion, combs and shower caps were available for use and replenished as necessary. There’s a hair dryer as well.

The staff was friendly and helpful especially those in the dining room as well as the ladies who cleaned the rooms.

The outdoor pool was operational and had easy access however the water temperature was extremely cold and uninviting. Many from our group swam in the warmer sea which was a great alternative.

Having free wifi available in the lobby was indeed a bonus.

We found the food to be quite good for a buffet. Breakfast always included different kinds of egg preparations, bacon, pastries, cheese, cold meats, cereals, fresh fruits and an assortment of beverages. For lunch and dinner there was always a soup and a variety of salad ingredients. Main course items were stew type dishes, pasta and sauce and fresh fish. At dinner there was usually a carvery item as well....turkey breast, roast beef, ham. Fresh fruit was always available as well as pastries and wonderful ice cream with an assortment of topping items. No one ever went hungry.

From our hotel it was an easy walk to the shops and restaurants along the boardwalk. Public transportation at a reasonable price was available to the many town, cities and villages nearby. Taxis charge by the destination rather than by meter and were relatively inexpensive especially if two couples shared the cost.

The included excursions were excellent with ample time given for each. Our guides were very personable and informative. When there were no major excursions our trip manager took those who wished to participate to parks and shopping areas which was quite helpful and fun. The extra excursions were not as pleasurable because of the number of stops on the way to pick up people staying at various other hotels.

We were blessed with exceptionally good weather during our stay. Most days were sunny with temperatures in the mid to high 20s.

Torremolinos is a fabulous destination and the Hotel Pez Espada is an excellent choice for a long term stay.

Here is a Youtube video showing the outside lounging area of the hotel.

http://youtu.be/1QbC7HxQlso

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pools and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank escapewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Escapewinter,

Firstly, thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your feedback and video on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read your positive comment which shows your overall satisfaction with our hotel. Please rest assured I will pass your comment on to our management team, I am certain they will be delighted.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel for your autumn break and we'd love to welcome you again, hopefully it will be in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of November. We have been here a number of times. When we first visited some years ago, we were impressed but over the years the hotel has dropped in our estimation. It has 3 strong points - its location, the customer service in the restaurant and the level of cleanliness. The food is average. A reasonable choice but often lukewarm and dried up instead of hot. The hotel is in need of refurbishment; many areas are looking tatty. The pool was unappealing as is the hotel overall. As you look towards the sea, the side of the hotel to the right of the pool gets no sunshine at all. Reception staff were functional but not particularly friendly. We won't be returning until some improvements are made.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cringebythecurtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,492 reviews
2 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $76 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing