We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wheelchair friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wheelchair friendly hotel”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a 4 night break with a friend who is a wheelchair user. Hotel is only 15 mins from Malaga airport where the assistance given there was brilliant. Welcomed at hotel reception where check in was quick and easy and luggage taken to our rooms, we were on the 3rd floor but the lifts near reception took us up. Rooms were adequate and clean although a bit dated, carpets need replacing and balcony very small however this did not bother us as cleanliness is more important. The hotel is 2 mins from the beachfront where we walked along to Benalmadena most days, stopping at one of the many cafes along the way, we were lucky to have 3 days of glorious sunshine and pushing a wheelchair was effortless. We had breakfast and evening meal, both buffet style, and there was plenty of choice and we were always seated quickly by the friendly restaurant staff, we tried the house wines which were enjoyable. All the staff we encountered in the hotel were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay and would recomnend it to others although I would rate this hotel a 3 star because of the dated rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie246w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    473
    151
    48
    20
See reviews for
274
671
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff and the food are superb, it's just a good hotel with some history, would book again, no problems at all, if you take your laptop they have Wi FI jn the public rooms, but not in your own room, too far away from the router/receiver I think, the hotel entertainment is more for the over 40s really, but we visited in the winter, it may be different in the summer.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor over looking the pool, but being November it was not in use, but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Pauline R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had an amazing half board Thomson deal here on 25th Nov-looked for somewhere for my birthday. As many of the surrounding hotels are closed for refurbishment, this is packed out. the good points are that it is convenient to the airport/beach front and other resorts -bus stop along the road and the train station at Montemar is a 15min walk away. Weather was good and we found a great bar-The half moon-just down the road. The dining room staff were excellant, given that they had to put up with hoards of people. Now the not so good points, I know this was one of the first package Hotels built, but they havent moved on. Rooms were tired and ours 1008 smelt musty- it was in the annexe because the Hotel was full and it had no sun. happy hour is only 3 times a week from 8 to 9 and the entertainment is mainly singers-so we went out to the nearby bars( we can recommend the half moon) the food was so good there that we ate sunday lunch and on my birthday had one of their delicious rump steak deals with a free bottle of wine.To tell the truth we went every night after that and I would recommend the house red and rose. Meals at the hotel were like a bun fight -queues at the door and then queueing again to get at the food- some nights we struggled with the main courses-but as we had a cheap deal we couldnt expect much. Because of the location we would go back butonly on a B & B basis

Room Tip: Upgrade or ask for rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Patricia J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We very much value your feedback because it makes us understand customer needs and to focus on improving our services.

Thank you again for your review and we hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just come back from week in Pez Espada, Torremilnos. Hotel is rated 4 star. Very oppulent surroundings with chandeliers, marble flooring and pillars. Hairdressers and 2 shops in foyer. Situated in centre of Torremilnos, right on seafront. 15 minute walk to town centre and 10 minute walk to Benemadena marina. Rooms clean and spotless with views to beach. Beds made and rooms cleaned daily. Food of high standard and staff helpful and friendly. Will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helenhumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in huddersfield
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I would have given an extra star had it not been for the poor selection of food and the queue every evening waiting for a table, on the plus side this is the only Spanish hotel I've encountered that knows how to cook bacon.
The bedrooms are typically sparcely furnished but the balcony, south facing luckily, was larger than we usually encounter. With the weather being a bit on the cool side [end of november] it was nice to be able to tune in the flat screen tv with BBC 1 & ITV instead of venturing into the cold public areas.
Location was lovely and quiet, all the traffic is on the inland side of the hotel, I say quiet but its amazing how noisy palm trees can be when the wind howls through the leaves, and this week we had plenty wind.
Would we visit again, no, been there done that, somewhere different next time

Room Tip: winter time try to get a south facing room for the longest hours of sunshine, if its out. Single roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldieInHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We recently spent a week here November 2012 after initially booking the Riviera in Benalmadena but this was closed for refurbishment, The weather was kind to us with four days of more sun than cloud and three days of more cloud than sun but no rain. We last stayed at the Pez Espada in 2008 but this time we were in a very pleasant room in the annex with a lovely sea view, however the walls were rather thin since there was some disturbance from a group of Irish girls who came in very late on a couple of nights and wanted to drink and smoke on their balcony and in the other adjacent room someone could certainly win prizes for their snoring.
This did not spoil our stay since the reception staff were always pleasant and helpful unlike the experiences of some other reviewers who I suspect could have been more pleasant themselves The food, both quality and choice were very good. Yes there was some initial irritating queuing for dinner because the hotel was full possibly due to refurbishment of several nearby hotels.
The clientele were mainly of the older generation but that is to be expected in November and were mainly British but some German and Dutch, but when we were there a large number of Swedish were present.
The hotel is in an ideal beachfront position to walk to Torremolinos in one direction and Benalmadena in the other, and a short uphill walk to the bus stop allows access to an efficient and regular bus service to places like Mijas, Arroya, Fuengirola, Torremolinos or even Marbella. Nearby in Montemar the bars like Tom's Tavern, Rumours and the Fig and Olive are well worth a visit for a cheap drink or a chat with fellow visitors of many nationalities.
Yes I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Victor J,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for reviewing our property. We are pleased to receive your feedback and to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to offer the best service to our guests and so create pleasant and friendly atmosphere.
We very much value every comment and each one gets due attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Pez Espada with Thomson, and we enjoyed it very much, despite almost continuous rain for the first 7 days of November.Fortunately for the second week, the sun made a belated appearance and the weather was lovely.

The Pez Espada was the one of the first hotels to be built in the area in the 60‘s and attracted film stars and royalty in its heyday, whose signed photos still adorn the walls as you walk to the dining room, a bit pretentious especially as the hotel is now starting to show its age and certain areas need updating, although everywhere is spotless. In terms of appearance and facilities I would rate the hotel a 3 star, but the food and service, especially the restaurant service, was excellent, easily 4 star quality.

Our room was in the smaller annex, a garden view room which received no sun but that
didn’t bother us. The room was a very good size with comfortable beds, a fridge, large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, dressing table, sofa bed in addition to the usual twin beds. All the furnishings were in very good order and everything was clean. The bathroom had dual sinks, huge mirror, bath and shower. The flat screen TV received BBC 1, ITV 1 and 2, Sky News and Film 4 with a good picture. The room also had a safe, but the smallest one I have ever seen, it would not even take an i-pad, and the hotel charged 28 Euros for 14 days to hire it, a rip off. I had emailed the hotel prior to departure asking if the room safe would take a laptop of a certain size but did not receive a reply. The room was quiet and our sleep was not disturbed at all.

In room internet access is charged at 10 Euros per day, again rip off land when you are staying 14 days, although free wi-fi is available in the lounge/bar area, which I could actually pick up when stood on our balcony, but it was unreliable.

The food in the hotel at breakfast and dinner was very good quality with a huge choice. Imaginative salads, excellent carved meats on some days, fish such as plaice, salmon and trout, pasta every day and plenty for vegetarians. The sweet course had lots on offer mainly aimed at the British taste (eg apple crumble and custard!) plus four different ice creams and piles of fresh fruit,The service in the restaurant could not be faulted, the head waiter was super efficient as were the kitchen staff in keeping the buffet supplied, and the waiters were brilliant at clearing plates and tables whilst under considerable pressure. Drinks were at reasonable prices and the red wine was perfectly drinkable at 7 Euros a bottle.

As usual with buffet food, it was sometimes not hot enough, but a microwave is provided, and at breakfast, unusually, no queues for the toast machine as there were 3, a first.
Coffee is served at your table in a flask and another for hot milk, not the best system as it was occasionally not hot enough if it had been standing around, so another job for the microwave.

3 local hotels are closed for renovation for the 2012/13 winter season, the Riu Nautilus, Riviera and Angela in Fuengirola, resulting in the Pez Espada being full to capacity, and the management are cashing in on this, but the hotel was too full. This caused long queues for the dining room. The hotel should have arranged two sittings for dinner, but it is difficult when most of the Brits want to eat early. The official opening time of the dining room at dinner was 7pm, and guests started queing at 6.30.(the same ones at the front each evening!). To try to ease the pressure, the restaurant opened early and by 7pm all tables were taken, so anyone coming down for dinner at 7pm expecting to get a table had a 30 minutes wait at least, and this is not acceptable, although as I said earlier the restaurant staff did a fantastic job under considerable duress. Clearly this situation is a one off until the closed hotels are back on stream and I suspect next year the Pez Espada will be back to normal, so I would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

The hotel is in an ideal position on the sea front, mid way between Benalmadena and Torremolinos and it is possible to walk for a few miles in either direction. The frequent bus services run along the main road above the Pez Espada to all destinations along the coast and inland, except to Marbella where you have to walk to the stop above Benalmadena Marina as this bus is limited stop.

The nearest train station is Montemar, a good 15 minutes steep uphill walk from the hotel next to Battery Park.

Despite the rain, we still managed to get out every day, and made full use of the green travel card from the Portillo Bus Co, which enables you to travel everywhere up and down the coast to Fuengirola, Mijas, Malaga, Arroyo for 90 cents per journey instead of the usual 1 Euro 40. You can obtain one from the kiosk on the main road above the Marina. Strangely, the kiosk is closed on Friday and Saturday, yet opens 5.30 am on Sunday, very odd, and you cannot use the card on the urban bus which goes past the hotel, but that is Spain for you.

Prior to booking, I always read the reviews on here, then take a balanced view, and it has not failed me yet, largely ignoring some of the one star reviews as being from serial complainers, and some of the five star ones, if the reviewer returns to the same hotel year after year and likes to be welcomed by the staff as an old friend, rose tinted glasses come to mind.
I hope my review falls somewhere in between and you find it useful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank stevet380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Stevet380,

Firstly, thank you for being our guest at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your detailed and thoroughful review. We very much appreciate all comments as they help us to get an insight into guest expectations.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the hotel and that you decided to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Thanks again for your sincere feedback and we hope we will have a chance to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#17 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing