We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this nostalgic hotel, fantastic location and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved this nostalgic hotel, fantastic location and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

After reading the reviews i was worried about this hotel, what the room would be like and if we had to queue for food. The hotel was far better than we expected, we had a room with a garden view and sea view with large balcony in the original part of the hotel. The rooms are old fashioned, yet clean, newly deocorated with an air of nostalgia from the hotel's glory days in the 1960s. The hotel is very grand, although more geared up for the mass tourist market than originally intended.
The dining room overlooks the beach and although busy we never had to wait for food, the choice was outstanding. There were about four main choices plus salads, starters, many deserts etc. We do not normally stay half board yet at the Pez we looked forward to meal times.
The bars and outside areas are very pleasant in the evenings, the shows were good yet not advertised well enough to achieve a full house. The cocktails are great, best i tasted in the resort.
The pool area did get busy yet we always found a sunbed, did not put our towels down like most others.
All in all we loved it here at the Pez, staff very helpful, grand old hotel - yes a bit dated yet still holds a nostalgic charm and is very clean and tidy. Food excellent and the service was outstanding.
The location cannot be beaten, right on the seafront. There is lots to see and do in the resort, we also got the bus to Nerja Try the local tapas bars for lunch - great food. There is also live music if you look for it in the resort, the drinks were not too expensive in the bars, about four euros for a cocktail.
Only one warning, if you have a room without a garden view the balconies are tiny. We
loved all the photos are stars that have stayed here. We stayed for a week, it was not long enough!!!

Room Tip: you need a garden view room in the original part of the hotel, they have large balconies and sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    473
    151
    48
    19
See reviews for
273
671
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Having read previous reviews about lack of sun beds, I was a little concerned. However a large number of new sun beds were delivered whilst we were there and getting beds at any time of day was never a problem. We had a sea view room which also overlooked the gardens/pool. Arrived at 10.45 and was immediately given a room. The room was large and easily accommodated the three of us ( two adults and a 16 yr old). The location is fabulous, right on the sea front and between Benalmadena and Torremolinos. Food was excellent quality although not a vast choice. Overall an excellent hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Have stayed at the Pez Espada probably over 50 times during the past 40 years. It is a top class hotel. the staff are excellent. The food is excellent. Always enjoyed the hotel until this July. During the last 3 days of my stay the pool attendant and maintenace man removed all the towels from the sunbeds ronnd the pool where the guest were missing. At that time in the morning this affected most guests. You can imagine the arguements that developed. I used my sunbed virtually all the time from 8-30 onwards. The pool attendant knew me well. He would wak past me over a 100 times a day. He knew me well and must have known that i was nearly always there from morning to night every day, yet one morning I only crossed the road to get a newspaper at 9-15am and when I returned my towel was gone. I had only been away 10 minutes. The Pez Espada has always treated its guests with respect and dignity. There has obviously been a change of policy much to the detriment of the guests. It has created some quite nasty incidents around the pool. There is a bad atmosphere. Why did the management do this. there was never a problem before. A lot of guests abandoned the pool and used the beach which meant that the Pez Espada Bar/restaurant lost their business. Some told me that they would not be booking any more holidays at the hotel.
What a shame for both hotel and guests

Incidently ther is a bar opposite the hotel called Js Saloon owned by a very nice man name Adrian. I suggest you pay him a visit. It is not the best bar in Spain by any stretch ot the imagination, but give him some support. He deserves it.

From a regular guest with a lot of experience of the Pez Espada

Regards.................................Dennis

Room Tip: Never take 001 rooms (Too dingy, not enough light)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week and whilst I was not impressed by our room, (carpet was stained and the view, despite being a superior/sea view actually looked out onto the air conditioning units) we found it to be very clean and in an amazing location. 10 minutes walk at the most for anything you could want.
The food was really good, the same things most nights but all tasty and with plenty on offer. The puddings aren't great though, they use a synthetic cream in the cakes which is not to everyone's liking.It is an older clientele and many guests are Spanish or Italian so there is always a good range of different cuisines.
There are not enough sunbeds and many people get up early to put towels on them. The hotel did nothing about this for the first few days but on our 4th day there they began moving towels when people were not there. They either need more sunbeds or a more stringent policy torwards this.
The entertainment was so so, good singers and a flamenco dancing group one night which was worth seeing. The rest of the 'entertainment' is led by a guy is very forward. If you don't like to be bothered by shrieking hosts, don't go to the large bar after 9pm. This man also took a teenage girl's phone whilst I was there and encouraged her to chase him for it. Little bit cringeworthy for me.
The women on reception are lovely but the men are more often than not, rude and surly. When we went to ask about using the safe we were told '2 euros a day and I will sort it in a bit, i'm busy'. I would have expected a four star hotel to not charge for safes and the use of a fridge in the room.
All in all, I would stay again but I wouldn't waste the money on a superior room. Great location, really clean and a beautful pool.

Room Tip: Don't go for a superior/sea view room, it's a waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amityville80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I went to the Pez Espada from the 26th June, until the 11th of July! And loved every minute of it!


I went with my 2 friends who are both 18 which I am also. My friends went to the breakfast but I was too lazy to get up, they told me that is was wonderful with a large variety. There are plenty of shops within a 10 minute radius, they sell drinks,swimming equipment, and even an hour on the internet!

The maids were fantastic and put up with us very well! On the last day when I left the room the maid came running after me as I had forgot my Sony camera! Which was fantastic.

A big part of the holiday was meeting the entertainer Krzysztof, he does all the games and was absolutely fantastic! He was loved by the kids, he knows about 6 different languages, and was all round a top bloke. If anyone from here could give me any contact info for him then I would be very thankful!

A wonderful selection at dinner which always had me leaving full.

Been here 3 years in a row now, twice with my Parents, and once with my mates. Will definetly be going again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 503790John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Pez Espada is one of our favourite hotels and we have stayed here many times. Our latest visit was a 5 night break at the end of June 2011.

We had a lovely room on the 5th floor of the original building, with views of the prom heading towards the marina. There are some rooms in the original block that don’t have balconies, so if you want to be guaranteed one, then I’d recommend paying the extra to book one in advance. Our room was well maintained and cleaned to a high standard every day.

There is a nice swimming pool, and the terrace area is relaxing, especially the grass area looking out on to the prom. We could see that improvements had been made to the terrace area since our last visit – new flooring had been laid and new outdoor furniture provided for Frankie’s bar.

The hotel staff are friendly, particularly the staff in the restaurant. The food is excellent at both breakfast and dinner, better than most hotels we’ve been to.

The location of the hotel is an excellent feature. It has a gate leading directly on to the prom, so is right on the beach. You can walk along the prom to the marina in the one direction or Torremolinos in the other. From the main entrance, it’s just a short walk to the main road where you can get buses to Torremolinos centre and Malaga in one direction or Fuengirola, Marbella and Mijas in the other.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel for couples (not suitable for children), and we’re looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very friendly staff, superb selection of food every day for both breakfast and dinner. Couldnt get any closer to the beach or shops if you tried. The room was very clean and spacious. All together a wonderful time spent there!.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazand0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#17 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing