We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

May 10-17 2013 Brill hotel, food, drink, staff very helpful & happy smiley people, only one gripe, need toilets nearer the bar, have to run downstairs to use them, a long slippy run!!!! All in all very good value, would go back tomorrow if i could get the time off work :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbiemcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    807
    333
    119
    86
See reviews for
687
826
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location, only a short walk from the beach. However small freezing swimming pool, small sunbathing terrace very crammed in together. There was only one bar in the day which was by the pool, this was quite a distance from some of the rooms so was a bit of an inconvenience. Small choice of good in restaurant with only 5-8 dishes to choose from. Once you have a table that is the table you have to stay at for the rest of your holiday, very canteen like. Entertainment was average with no real change and the room got very busy. The rooms were well kept, however no tea and coffee facilities so you found yourself very thirsty by breakfast. Air con is turned off when the locals feel it is 'cold' however each person is different therefore we complained FOUR times about our air con not working and it still didnt get resolved. The hotel is mainly aimed at the older age category with the entertainment, food and target age group so please take that in to consideration before you book- they move slow when they want but they also move very quickly when they want to too! Be warned!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dronfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11 15am and our friends room was already for them. The Occupants of our room were still inside so the person on reception said as our request on booking was to have rooms next to each other, we would have to wait at least until 12.00 for the people to vacate our room unless we werent bothered about being with our friends. We said we would take whichever room was ready as we had been up all night and were feeling tired. She then said there werent any, which I thought was a bit odd. We decided to wait until 12 and call back. We did get the welcome drink of orange, (someone has noted that it was a glass of bubbly but ours wasnt) but did notice most of the people checking STRAIGHT in after us had bubbly. We called back at 12 but the people had only just left the room so then it had to be cleaned. We finally got in about 12.45 when we had gone back a third time and the maid must have been asked to make sure it was the next one to be done. After this, we had a very pleasant holiday. The rooms were kept beautifully by the maids and the food was exceptional with plenty of choice for everyone I would imagine. We travelled on buses and trains and all were no problem, the train in particular was clean and cool and created no hassle. We did lots of walking as nice and flat along the front, caught a boat to Fuingirola from Benal Medina which took about an hour then caught the train back. All in all very relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was facing outwards on to a side road but we faced some trees which were full of some sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amber64dronfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in may with the girls. The staff were great couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were ok big enough and very clean, you don't need a beach towel, pool area nice only down side it was freezing.
Service excellent
Food great
Hotel very clean
Would return

Room Tip: Don't do 3 to a room. Put up beds not very comy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jewels3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

had a great time here close to beach and bars all staff very helpful met nice people including Riola and Ann food very nice I would go for second sitting its quitter than the first hope to go again soon .

Room Tip: rooms 120 to 140 a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hi Guys
My wife and I had a week at the RIU Casta Lago on the 14th of April 13.
We found the hotel to be very clean,rooms nice but abit basic,but with lots of hanging space for clothes his & hers wardrodes.(oh hairdryer in bathroom girls)
No kettle or fridge in the rooms which is abit of a let down we think and the air condition dosen't get turned on till the summer,we found that out cos it was hitting 28c so we asked at the reception but were told its only switch on in high season.
Our bath could do with replacing,but only in for quick shower so no great worry,oh towel have to be put on bathroonm floor if you what them replaced.
Great bar & restaurant staff & indeed all the staff were very friendly.
The restaurant does two sitting for dinner 6.30 & 8.30 you are allocated a table when you first go in & then thats your table for length of your stay(only dinner) Breakfast & lunch you can sit anywhere.Trousers for dinner gents!
The restaurant is very tidy & clean,great food lots of choice we both put on weight hmmmm.
nice house wine & soft drinks & larger you help yourself too.

The pools looked abit small was okay for early season but might be abit manic in high season,same with sun loungers might be a problem when the place is full.
Anyway we don't hang around the pool all day ,off to the beach (rough sand)nice flat walk just down the road from hotel,great for people who find it hard at walking.

You'll find the front very flat nice walk along to old town & marina get a drink & watch the yacht's see how the rich pass there time,some really big yacht's.
Lots of bars & restaurants I found a small Irish bar for footy we never tried any restaurants always full from food at hotel.

One small problem was half way into our week the hotel let in a very large group of men on abit of a stag thing,they were very noisey drank by pool all day & night with very bad language.
People did complain about them,but were told the staff would not approach them because they were always drunk!!.I will be contacting RIU
Would we go back to this hotel YES but early or late season,not sure about high season.
We meat some very nice people mostly French,but had a good laugh trying to understand each other.
Entertainment was okay nothing great apart from one black lady singer,with nice voice.Oh they did bingo & quiz's the very young looking girl who comp'ere & ran the sports worked very hard & was very good at her job.
Yes overall we enjoyed our stay at this RIU hotel.
Many thanks the GEORDIES

Room Tip: Ask for inside/pool room Enjoy the walk long the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stevoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for ten days in March/ April. Very good experience, staff wonderful, food very good, drinks & service very good, rooms slightly dated bur very clean. Only downside is bar not big enough and toilets too far away from communal areas.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FIONA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#14 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#21 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,799 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Property: Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing