We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel has undertaken new management by the Riu group. We travelled to the hotel a couple of years ago and was not too impressed with the food and entertainment.

Having looked through several all inclusive hotels I decided to give it another go as the cost was very reasonable. Upon arrival we were impressed with the bright airy reception area. Checked in very quickly with a glass of cava and given our room key. (No charge for safe in room just 10 euro deposit).

Bedroom quite adequate with separate small lounge area. Food and drink very good and all staff most courteuous, particularly the dining room manager who passed by and welcomed us with "enjoy your meal."

Entertainment was an enjoyable magic show. Despite the poor weather the hotel met our needs for a comfotable, peaceful stay. Throughly recommended for a winter break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    787
    320
    110
    85
See reviews for
644
817
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacthomas, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely Hotel set in a quieter part of Torremolinos. The rooms are large, with a small balcony, sitting area with settee&chairs. The service given by the staff throughout the Hotel is first class...alot of consideration,help and friendliness shown.
The restaurant serves a large variety of dishes - Chefs always cook at the service stations.Great variety of breads, cereals, salads, meats, vegetables and super desserts! Each table is laid with a fresh linen cloth for each guest - a really nice touch. If all-inclusive, a guest can help themselves to white,rose,red wine, lager, a range of 'pop' and juices - in a 'glass' and not those horrible plastic containers that so many Hotels are using now.
The Reception is staffed by well spoken staff - they are very helpful, arranging trips/taxi's etc;
In the room is a safe - 10euro deposit, this is returned at the end of your stay.
The cleanliness of the Hotel, corridors, lifts etc; top rated.
Bus stop opposite Hotel. Every 30mins. 1.22euro into Torremolinos Town.
Train station - 10 mins walk for a 70 yr.old - parts up hill. Train to Feungirola 1.90euro
Is there a downside? There are Toilets on the lower floor - lift/stairs
The Hotel is under new ownership and is being upgraded - perhaps they will install toilets next to the entertainment/bar.

Room Tip: Front of Hotel block/room. 355 3rd floor. This is not facing the pool or near the bar balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lauren009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Back from 2 weeks in Costa Lago about a month ago with my family and an other 2 families. The hotel is decent and the food was impressive especially in the first week (got a bit repetitive after 2 weeks) but there was always something to eat. The set meal times for Dinner are not great but as the hotel is so busy you can see why. The entertainment was basically non existent so I think this something RIU will look into.

One problem was that the bar staff seemed to want to serve "older" or other non british customers before myself and friends regardless of the fact they knew we where waiting longer (sometimes upto 5 minutes). I found this quite rude and I would advise you nip it in the bud early or you will have to suffer like we did. Afterall you are on holiday and don't want to moan but it does get annoying after a while!

My most important information for you is to NOT use the Tour/Exchange shop just over the road from the hotel. We heard numerous stories of the buses not turning up and people not getting a refund. I was also informed the staff were lowering the exchange rates just when your changing money. I suggest you go further along the beach front to find a different tour/exchange shop if you are looking for excursions or to change your money.

I would also advise not to go to the bar on the corner of the road leading upto the hotel (next to the mini supermarket) as the man is extremely rude and his beer is flat/warm. Your better walking along the front to Kennedys.

All in all I would go back to the hotel but maybe for a week next time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've just come back from a week at Costa Lago, a bit surprised when we arrived as the reception was covered in sheets as there was obviously work going on, but by the end of the week all was revealed, a new reception desk and a lovely seating area.

Our rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean and cleaned each day with clean towels etc. Food was first class, plenty of choice, lovely salads, always fish, pasta, usually a hot roast type meat plus various other dishes, enough to suit all tastes. Deserts were good too though not quite so varied, mostly different flavoured mouses (though very nice!) fruit, rice, custards, ice cream and a good selection of cheeses. We were with my daughter & husband and baby so didn't see any entertainment but my daughter took the baby into the little pool which she loved.

The staff were super, especially in the dining room, always ready to help and really friendly. it was our first time in Spain but we loved Torre (& the train along the coast was exceptional value) and would certainly recommend this hotel and would go there again.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 285 & 297 and seemed a long walk from reception & restaurant but still love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Babs_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have just returned from two weeks of a great holiday.Hotel was very clean,staff excellent,food brill ,i would recomend this hotel.The rooms were lovely and cleaned every day.Entertainment at night needs updating and people with kids who are expecting a lot for the kids you will be in for a surprise(not a lot)overall good hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sean424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

my friend and i stayed for two weeks the hotel was lovely rooms were clean you had a sitting room with tv staff work very hard and were very friendly had a good laugh with them the pool was nice plenty of sun beds food was great plenty of choice and food was hot rooms were cleaned every day i would go there again and it was very hot right from checking in the staff could not have been nicer we asked if we could have a room over looking the pool and was giving one the next day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186411George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed here from 1st until 15th October 2012 and we had a lovely holiday. The Hotel was lovely and the rooms well set out with a little sitting room attatched to the bedroom. Right from checking in the Reception staff could not have been nicer to us always very helpful about everything, we had a lovley glass of Cava upon arrival which was most acceptable. The bar staff work very hard and long hours and are always very polite and smartly turned out. The food was very good with plenty of choice at all mealtimes and always joints of meat served at evening meals. For a hotel that does all inclusive we found the choice of meals excellent as you always had a really good choice. They have 2 sittings for evening dinner and we chose the second one, you have a certain table alloted to you for your stay but not everybody sticks to these rules and after 4 times finding somebody sitting in our place we had a word with the Maitre D who was very good and sorted it out for us. I put forward several ideas as to how this system could work better but they had all been tried, he was very good about it and we had a good laugh about it all. In fact all the waiters and catering staff are very efficient and your table is cleared very quickly we never had to wait for a table ever.The rooms are cleaned every day and we had clean towels most days sheets changed twice a week. The pool was nice and clean and there were always plenty of sunbeds and even umberellas as it was very hot on most days we were there. Some mornings there was a sea fret with the sea temp being warmer than the land temp early mornings but this soon burnt off and it was sunny and hot for the 2 weeks of our hols. The entertainment was OK and we did have a good flaminco dance troup and a magician on over the 2 weeks and there were some nice singers on too. If you like dancing or line dancing there was music suitable for that too. There is a bus stop right opposite the hotel and a half hour service into Torremolinos and beyond to other resorts. We had a day trip to Gibraltar via our rep and it was most enjoyable. I would most certainly recomend this hotel as we have been to many all inclusives that did not have the good standard of service and good food and welcome we received and I would go there again for a holiday and especially in October.

Room Tip: We changed our room with no trouble as we were put onto the ground floor looking over the road and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lola186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,667 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Property: Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing