We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bajondillo Apartments
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Apt dated but grand for what we paid. Huge balcony overlooking the sea on the one bed apt. Forget about cooking- kitchen tiny but its doable! Not really suited for teenagers- not much entertainment. More suited to mature people/couples. Good for dancing at night. Good buzz!Price of beds at pool area a bit steep everyday if there are 4 people -€3(cushion) lifeguard asked to pay even if we didn't use the cushion. You pay for the bed! But in saying that he wasn't consistent. 1 day we used 2 beds without cushions without paying( ie free bed). Beach beds are €4.50 across the road. Walkers will be impressed. Prom goes on forever. Area very clean in general. Would go again but as a couple or on my own.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellyelle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for Bajondillo Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the best things about this hotel is the location. It is literally across the road from the beach and in a handy spot to walk to various other places. It is quite large, so if you are after an intimate experience, this is not for you.
For us, we just wanted a base and somewhere to put our head.

Our first room was 2 separate single beds (although on our booking request we asked for a 'double'). A trip to reception and we were quickly allocated another room with no hassle.

As others have commented, the rooms are dated and our bathroom was in desperate need of an update, but everything functioned fine and we had no problems at the hotel.
We had a top view (photo attached)

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with many options depending on your preference. Eg: typical European breakfast (cheese, meats, croissants, pastries, fruit), 'English' (scrambled/boiled eggs, bacon etc) and toast, cereals, juice, tea, coffee etc.

Free Wi-Fi was available once we asked at reception for a code.

Our flight wasn't until later in the day and we had a noon time check out. We could leave our luggage in a locked room, but the key is just given to people to drop off/collect their own luggage, so not so 'secure'. I wouldn't be leaving anything valuable in the room.

The pool area looked clean but was a bit chilly for us to test the pool. There was a pool 'lifeguard' on duty.

We had an internet deal so the room price was ok. Not sure of what the regular rates are.

The town 'centre' is up quite a long stairway, but fine if you have reasonable fitness. As others have mentioned there is a lift, although we didn't use it. You need to get to the town centre to catch the trains (as we did to Malaga).

Overall, keep expectations 'in check', use it as a base and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedDeePh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a great week in Torremolinos. These apartments are in a perfect location. Right on the beach and the walkway up to the centre of town is just behind them. The rooms are really nice, small bit outdated but comfortable and spacious. The whole apartment was spotless. We had a nice big balcony but we only had a side view of the ocean and only a partial view at that even tho I had requested a full view. We got the free shuttle bus from and to the airport which is a great service and saved us a lot of money. The majority of the guests are over 50 but it didn't bother us as we were just there to relax and it was nice and quiet. The only negative about this place is the reception staff. They were extremely rude and unfriendly. On arrival we were just asked for our names, no hello or anything. Any time we approached the desk we were ignored for a full 5 minutes before anyone acknowledged us. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We found it hard to believe how good this place was for the price we paid. The room was perfectly comfortable, with twin beds which could be moved into any configuration you liked; they actually encouraged you to do so! Some reviewers have described the furnishings as "dated", which I suppose they were, but were perfectly adequate. Indeed, when the sun came directly into the room the subdued shades of the furnishings were quite welcome - probably deliberately designed that way.

Everything was perfectly clean and rooms are serviced daily (except Sunday).

Despite what some have said, the cooking facilities are adequate for "proper" cooking, although undeniably basic. We managed chicken, beef and prawn curries and my wife's chorizo and bean stew, all from the basic ingredients, without much trouble. The only real nuisance was the lack of a proper worktop, but put the chopping board provided on a teatowel on the sideboard and you can make do; it's only three steps to the cooker. A good set of cooking utensils is provided, with the strange exception of a strainer for rice etc., so take a light plastic one with you if you intend to do any cooking.

Given the eye-watering cost of eating out in Torremolinos (especially in the beach-side restaurants), the facility to cook in the room is a definite plus.

Also, no kettle is provided, but we took a small travel one with us, obtained at the airport.

All rooms have a view of the sea, and we were lucky in having one which looked straight out onto a full-on view over the pool and across to the sea.

The service from reception was excellent. On our first morning we had to report our non-functioning fridge on our way in to breakfast, and by the time we got back to the room it had been fixed!

There is a small grocery shop at the end of Pasaje Bajondillo about 2 minutes walk from the apartments entrance, a specialist baker directly opposite the entrance and a larger "supermarket" a few yards round the corner on the Paseo Maritimo.

The "real" supermarket for the full food shop is the "Mercadona" which is notable for stupidly cheap wines and the best fresh fish display I've seen outside France. Beware of the sections where you have to weigh and price the items yourself before going to the checkout; the fruit and veg section is to be expected, but, bizarrely, the same applies to the baked goods section, even when items are already individually wrapped!

The Mercadona can be tricky to find. Turn left along the Paseo towards the Malaga direction. Carry on walking, straight on at the big roundabout with all the flags on, following the Paseo until in a few yards you pass the Hotel Isabel and immediately turn left along Calle Periodista Jose Valles. Go to the end of this and you'll see the green roof of the supermarket across the car park on your right.

It's about 12 minutes walk for a man, or an hour if your wife comes along, as the route goes past all the beachfront shops. Be warned that, like most institutions in Spain, the days get off to a leisurely start, and the supermarket doesn't open until 9:15, and is closed on Sunday.

The only gripes about the apartments were the following:

a) The free WiFi advertised for the rooms does indeed exist, but the signal is so weak and intermittent that it is virtually useless. After many, many attempts to get a connection you MAY be able to access a couple of internet pages before it drops out, but it would be completely unusable if you wanted reliable access for work etc (although God knows why; you're supposed to be on holiday!). Obviously I can only speak from experience in our room, others may be better.

b) In my view, charging 3 euros to use the sunbeds in your own hotel is little short of scandalous. It didn't affect us because we always use the beach, which is only a further 1 minute walk away and 1.5 euro more, but it's still a damned cheek. For a couple who intended to stay around the pool every day for a fortnight, this would equate to an additional hotel cost of about £75!

Other than those quibbles, we've no complaint at all about the Bajondillo, and intend going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnev52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here from June the 8th for a week, great location, very central almost on the beach but for a road, but several zebra crossings so easy to cross the road, apartments are dated but very clean,very spacious and quiet and serviced every day, bed linen changed midweek, very comfortable double bed in studio , all public areas are kept spotless and securety visible, maps and information available at reception with no hassle, hairdryer in bathroom and portable t.v. in studio, nice balcony with pool and sea view,.As for area your in the centre of it all , easy access to anywhere on the Costa del Sol, public transport service is fantastic both buses and trains are always on time and quite cheap, train goes one way to Malaga which is end of line and if you go other way to Fuengirola its end of line , so no need to worry about getting lost,, bus can be got to most other places and if you feel like walking you can walk to Benalmadena it takes about an hour but you wont notice with all the shops and restaurants,, and if you go other direction walk to end of promonade and around by golf course and you will reach Plaza Major shopping centre but just take notice the train does stop at the shopping centre which i discovered after walking there and back, so Bajondillo is a little gem if you are a normal tourist take no heed of what fussy tourists write ..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank juneireland186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Breakfast was nice and plenty to chose from. Reception staff were polite. Only 15 minute drive from the airport. Beach just across the road and plenty of shops, bars and restaurants nearby. Had a fab weekend and will definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elaine037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Last time I I was here it was on a Club 18 - 30 holiday !
I'm now 60 so a lot has changed here in the last thirty odd years. These apartments located in the 'old' town, right on the beachfront, were clean and tidy but could do with a refurbishment. Reasonable room cost & location, made this a ideal place to stay. However bar prices very expensive, with buffet breakfast costing 9 euros. The room does have a 2 ring gas cooker but UK health and safety would have a field day with this! Crockery & cutlery provided but grubby and urgently needs replacing. A shortage of sunloungers put us off this place to sunbathe and we went across to the beach which cost us 9 euros per day. Also a lack of good resturants in the old town area, with only one or two that we would go back to. All in all pleasantly surprised with Torremolinos, but Nerja along the coast is already booked for September

Room Tip: If you want breakfast on your balcony ask for a left sided room. Alternatively if you want late sun...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryCampbell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.8 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 72 in Torremolinos
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajondillo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajondillo Apartments

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $55 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bajondillo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bajondillo is in the heart of the Costa del Sol and right in front of the beach. All our Apartments have an excellent distribution and orientation as they all face the sea. The atmosphere is peaceful and inviting.Big garden with swimming pool with sun beds, hairdresser, PC with internet access, free WiFi in whole complex, a la carte restaurant “La Brasería”, cafeteria, self service laundry, external medical service (24h) and free Airport Shuttle-Bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bajondillo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajondillo Apartments Hotel Torremolinos
Torremolinos Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Apartments Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing