We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Fun at a Great Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bajondillo Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bajondillo Apartments
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
San Antonio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Located right across the street from the Mediterranean and the beach, this apartment complex offers a great location, entertainment, basic kitchenette and all at an economical price. My husband and I spent four weeks there (Apr. 16-May 13, 2012) and had a wonderful vacation. We had the studio apartment, one large room with a tiny kitchen alcove, a newly remodeled bathroom and plenty of closet and dresser space. The kitchenette consists of a two burner stove top, a sink and small refrigerator. The cabinet is full of mismatched crockery for two people and pots and pans. We are able to make full meals by pan frying chicken, pork chops, fish, omelets. There is no microwave or coffee pot but we boiled water for instant coffee in a saucepan. There are many interesting restaurants along the beach or up 200 stairs (you can take an elevator) to the town. The furnishings are not fancy but the room is still attractive. The views from our balcony and the walks along the beach were romantic and from this base of operations, we found it easy to travel to Granada, Seville, Gibraltar, Mijas, Ronda, etc. Public transportation is available and not too difficult to negotiate. If you want to book a tour, rather than using the hotel , walk a few blocks along the Paseo to Viajes Vivamar at the Plaza de las Comunidades . The woman there speaks perfect English and she is more helpful than the staff at the hotel. The tours were cheaper, too. We got a 5% discount on a trip to the bullfights in Mijas. The entertainment at the Bajondillo was surprisingly good and each Saturday night a flamenco troupe was brought in to entertain. If you go, don't miss the free sangria parties on Wed. afternoons. The brew is potent and there's dancing and entertainment. The hotel also offers exercise classes in the morning and some game or activity in the afternoons during the week. The price is right, with discounts for long stays. We expect to return next spring.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies but the view is better the higher the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    546
    215
    58
    40
See reviews for
213
621
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The apartment is small but has everything you need. Bathroom was newly remodeled and absolutely clean. The best part of the room was a balcony with sea-view (every room has one). One of the best memories of vacation is watching sunrise over Mediterranean sea while having breakfast. The hotel itself is just across the street from the beach. There are tones of good restaurants around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lidiya_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We've stayed at the Bajondillo for the last 3 years during our annual fall trips to the Costa del Sol. And we plan to do so again this October. It may be furnished in 1970's decor, but it is spotlessly clean, with a courteous and efficient staff. The location is unbeatable right on the Mediterranean with all rooms having a balcony view. There's nothing better than relaxing with breakfast early in the morning or with a late afternoon glass of wine while sitting outside your room watching the beach and the water. You have a small although functional kitchenette (just be aware there is no microwave, and you need to get used to using the propane stove) for doing your own meals if you like or access to lots of restaurants within walking distance. In addition you're within walking distance of downtown Torremolinos as well as having the 7 mile promenade to stroll along the sea. Access to the commuter train is just up the hill, a 10-15 minute walk away. We love to catch the train to the next stop and spend some time in the park on the hill overlooking the water, and then take a leisurely walk back to the hotel through the streets of Torremolinos. All this at incredibly inexpensive room rates. Plus you get complimentary transfers from the airport to and from the hotel. It's the best deal we've ever experienced. Want to take some day trips, most of the tour buses stop at or near the Bajondillo. Plus there's a variety of "interesting" local entertainment in the cafeteria/bar or in the social room most evenings. All in all, if you want a relaxing low stress fall vacation with good weather and easy access to lots of possibilities in southern Mediterranean Spain, the Bajondillo is worth your consideration. It may not have the latest in high fashion decor, but it's certainly comfortable like going home to mom's house for a visit where you feel like you can simple hang out, relax and be yourself.

Room Tip: You've got your choice of a relaxing location on the courtyard side overlooking the pool and bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovely hotel. Great apartment with huge balcony. terrific sea view Very clean and spacious. Pleasant
helpful staff. Specially Alberto at reception. I forgot to pack my phone charger and he
lent me one for the duration of the holiday. Hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELHAPPYBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

My 2nd year in a row I have stayed here. This a clean well run hotel. There always seems to be staff cleaning, painting etc. The apartment was basic but good value for what I paid. The free Wi Fi also helps. Did not have a whole lot of contact with the staff but when I did they were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is about a quarter hour from the airport.. It is the other side of the road to the beach, near shops and restaurants all along the long sea front. A small supermarket is just a few steps from the entrance. There was shaded parking in the hotel grounds - though the hotel was far from full when we were there- it could get crowded maybe.
The 'apartamente' is actually a spacious room, OK bed, (a bit hard for me), table, armchairs and good sized balcony with table and chairs.- everything needed. Pleasant but not fancy. I imagine nearly all the balconies got an agreable side view of the sea - it is a very large hotel.
There is is a small area with a hob, full size fridge, and cupboard with basic cooking utensils, plates etc, just as you go through the bedroom door. As a hotel it was a real bonus, we could keep water bottles cold: not really a set up for major cookery. The bathroom was a good size and very clean, with hot water, and good towels, but no soap.

We just wanted to spend a night there and it was excellent for that purpose, but I can imagine someone enjoying a longer stay. The receptionist was fluent in English and other languages and the restaurants and cheerful shops nearby were aimed at tourists. Breakfast was generous and had good continental and English- style food ad lib. It was served in an attractive dining room, but could be taken to tables outside. We could see a clean swimming pool, and people were playing table tennis.
Entertainments were provided every night and we heard people saying that they were enjoyable.

There were a lot of rooms , and we thought the lift provison might be a problem if the hotel was full - it would be a lot of stairs to the top! There is a slightly dated feel to the hotel, but the rooms were large and clean, the staff friendly, and the price a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at this complex and I really can't fault it. The studio was large enough and very clean and although the cooking facilities were very basic and the decor dated, there was a good sized balcony and bathroom. The bar had entertainment on each evening and although this wasn't to my groups taste, the older patrons seemed to enjoy it and were dancing away to the singer. Breakfast was available for 8 Euros and was excellent value, even compared to some of the local small restaurants. The pool area and gardens were pleasant enough but if you prefer the beach, it is literally just across the road. I can imagine that in season the pool area would get very crowded.
The complex is well situated with local bars and restaurants within minutes walk. As other reviewers have mentioned though, it is a steep walk up steps in to the main town area.
The complex do accept large stag parties (I know because I was on one!!) and so was perfect for what we were looking for at that time of year. Although the night life in Torremolinos wasn't that great in April, a taxi to neighbouring Benalmadena was only 15 Euros and the nightlife much busier with plenty going on.
For what we wanted, I can't fault the Bajondillo, not sure it would be my choice for a quiet getaway though!

Room Tip: The rooms in the adjoning building, to the south side (the right hand side of the complex as you loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jono295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.7 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#11 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajondillo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajondillo Apartments

Property: Bajondillo Apartments
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bajondillo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bajondillo is in the heart of the Costa del Sol and right in front of the beach. All our Apartments have an excellent distribution and orientation as they all face the sea. The atmosphere is peaceful and inviting.Big garden with swimming pool with sun beds, hairdresser, PC with internet access, free WiFi in whole complex, a la carte restaurant “La Brasería”, cafeteria, self service laundry, external medical service (24h) and free Airport Shuttle-Bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bajondillo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajondillo Apartments Hotel Torremolinos
Torremolinos Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Apartments Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing