We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I am one of the middle aged brigade who form the majority of users of the hotel.
My wife and myself visited the hotel for 10 days in June on a half board basis with my elderly father in law who had a single room on the same floor with a side sea view(floor 3 main building).
I would reiterate the view of the solid majority of posters who speak fairly highly of the hotel.

This area seems to be fairly typical of the Costa`s in terms the feel and building design and you get exactly what it says on the tin from the hotel and a 4 star experience .

The location is very good and a selection of cafes immediately opposite the main entrance to the hotel ranging from the Brit pubs offering cheap booze like 1 pint for a euro,coffee/brandy for 1.30 euros,watch soaps/play bingo to an Irish bar where drink is considerably dearer and about 8/9 other Irish Bars within a couple of hundred metres but there is not a noise issue to be concerned about.
There are also a couple of Spanish cafes so really you have most things on your doorstep for daytime snacks/drinks and one of the Spanish cafes(El Cordobes or similar name)situated 50 yards to the left of the main entrance looked to serve nice meals for evening.(The sole looked amazing)

We spent most nights having a couple of drinks there as we much preferred that to the Brit/Irish bar type atmosphere which we felt fine for the relaxing lunchtime/teatime pint.

Loads of other cafes,a chemist,internet cafe within a few hundred yards down to the right.

On the other side of the hotel at the pool side is the beach area and you have very pleasant walks with the marina to the right and Benalmadena beyond.
To the left lies La Carihuela where you again have a number of shops,cafes and a nice place to visit generally.Recommended to visit and The Marina)
!5-20 minutes stroll.
Either left or right are a number of beach cafes/restaurants so you can stop for a drink if you like and there are also plenty benches for the elderly or people with young children to stop and rest along the way.

To turn to the hotel itself.

Reception;
No problems whatsoever either booking in or out and staff also spoke and understood English very well and very friendly/helpful.
Even our hotel expenses bill was perfect.
Items like hiring a safe I regard as essential but not the nightime drink we had on the nice terrace overlooking the sea after dinner each evening.
Still it was a pleasant holiday pleasure although pricy in comparison to the local cafes as expected but no more than you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel.
6.75 euros for a vodka/coke and a small beer 1.75.

Restaurant/Food.

At reception you are requested if you wish an early evening dinner slot or a later one around 8.30pm which we opted for which I understand can be changed on request.
On arriving at the restaurant you are allocated a table which you use for your stay for evening meals but sit anywhere at breakfast.

The quality of the hotel food is very good and varied and there was always at least a few meats suitable for the British palate including a carvery and also fish dishes and veggie options including a large salad bar .

Breakfast also pretty good with eggs poached,boiled,scrambled spanish style bacon,disappointing sausages however,and the usual range of items as accompaniments.

The items I identified are only given as a sample and of course there were numerous items more suitable for the continental palate at both meal times.
Fresh fruit and desserts/cakes bread rolls/bread in abundance.

I would suggest that the quality of food is good and varied enough that if you wished you could eat in the restaurant for the duration of the holiday without venturing outside for meals.

Entertainment;

My elderly father in law liked to go to the entertainment every night and as he used to be responsible for booking entertainment at a social club I would estimate a fair judge but obviously his thoughts would be be that of a mature gentleman but not a fuddy duddy.

The entertainment in all our views was dire almost without exception.
Part of the reason he felt was that the atmosphere in the hotel was not condusive to providing entertainment as it was watched by only about a dozen people.
Perhaps the quality of the entertainment was the reason there were only a dozen people watching.
It was a lot busier the night of the Spanish dancing but as my father in law remarked" I`ve seen a lot better"

Broadly speaking very poor entertainment.

Rooms.
Standard and good sized rooms with decent view and balcony.
Nothing to write home about but nothing to be too unhappy with.

The usual crappy shower with the hose wanting to go everywhere but your body but no worse than most hotels
The air conditioning in our hotel was broken when arrived and it took 2 visits to repair but I thought it was really poor.


General Comments/Summary

The hotel was very good in all aspects but if I travelled with a young family it would not be so suitable as I thought very little for them to do.No kids club or organised entertainment of any description and the kids paddling pool was only big enough for 4 very young children.
Very satisfactory for an older age group and I have only a very few negatives which are relatively minor but perhaps would be better described as suggestions for improvement.

1.At breakfast times I have previously enjoyed omelettes made to order.
You know you stand in a small queue and there is a chef waiting to make it and you tell him your prepared filling.

2.There is no air conditioning in the very small lifts(only take 6 people).
In hot days pretty uncomfortable and stuffy)

3.At other hotels we have been in we have been offered a complimentary drink or canapes prior to entering the dining room at evening meals.
Think it happened once at the Nautilus but we always thought of that as a nice touch in at other hotels.

All in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rayGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Nautilus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here from 13th June to 25th June 2010. It was perfect for what we wanted - a quiet and relaxing place to kick back and chill out in. We stayed in the Riu Benalmadena Puerto up the road last year – another fine hotel - but we decided to go to the Nautilus this time as it has a larger pool area.

The clientele was mainly middle aged (like us) and older with only a smattering of young couples with toddlers. There is really nothing here by way of entertainment for older children and teenagers …and long may it remain so.

The guests themselves were mainly German and Dutch with a few British. We were the only Irish there as far as I know.

We were on half-board basis which meant our breakfast and evening meal was included. We availed of the breakfast from the get-go but we were not too enthusiastic about the evening meal having experienced too much bland food in other hotels offering the service. Accordingly, we dined out for the first few nights. Then one evening we decided to sample the fare. What a surprise! The food was excellent. We dined in-house every night after that. (I should mention that it is a self-service buffet arrangement).

At our first evening meal the waitress asked us, when we ordered a bottle of wine, if we would like a ticket. A what? She explained that if we did not finish the bottle of wine they would cork it and keep it for us the following night. The idea of not finishing a bottle of wine with a meal struck us as odd in the extreme so we declined the offer. However, looking around, it was clear that many diners were availing of the service. One couple got at least three nights usage from one bottle. Which tells you a lot about the clientele – ravers they are not.

The staff were excellent – efficient and very friendly. Even the maids greeted you with a "Hola” and a smile. The manager made a point of meeting all guests and it was clear too that many of them had been there before when he and other staff greeted some new arrivals as if they were old friends. Indeed, several guests told us they had been there on several occasions with one UK lady telling us it was her twelfth annual visit.

Our room was fine and spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the air-conditioning very efficient. The cleaning service was excellent and we came back one day to find the maid had ingeniously folded a couple of hand towels into the shape of an elephant’s head!

We also enjoyed the varied evening entertainment. For the two weeks we were there we saw none of the acts twice.

What are the downsides? As far as we are concerned, there are none. The hotel is ideally located near the Marina and Benalmadena’s Twenty Four Hour Square is within walking distance if you wanted to avail of the local bus service to Malaga or Fuengirola.

We have been coming to the Benalmadena/Torremolinos area for several years. This will be the hotel we will return to from now on. Top class.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This hotel is in a prime position, Just 200 hundred metres from the marina and the beach immediately outside, All of the famous fish restaurants are along this part of the beach. Also behind the hotel are lots of small bars with some only costing 80 cents for a pint of San Miguel and 50 cents for a large glass of wine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks in this hotel staff great hotel spotless but for a 4star the rooms are basic, no easy chairs to sit on and the TV gets just 2 stations in english both news stations.sometimes you like to come in and sit and read for an hour but on two hard stand chairs its no fun i did ask for an easy chair but none could be had, Due to the ammount of people in the hotel which was very few the air con was off till a few people went mad at the desk then it came on at 4 till about 5-30 i know that it was in the middle of this volcanic ash time but the food has also gone down a heck of a lot since we went there last year never no theme nights or seafood etc etc just basiclike any 3 star Myself i found the Greigo Mar was just as good at half the price. and as for the prices well it is now really expensive to go out. also i have put photos on as we could not belive how quiet and rundown the area has gone i took these photos at 11-30am and there wasnt anyone about and the shops were still shut down as they were in Oct.,I dont think the Riu Nautilus is any better than a lot of 3 star hotel now.i have been going to spain 2/3 times a year for the last 20ys but i notice people have left in mass numbers. Pity as it was so nice now its rip off were they can also the place has gone right down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponfret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed for 7 nights returning 28th April. Had a brilliant stay at this hotel. Could not fault a thing. Room was large and clean with excellent views of promenade and marina with afternoon sun. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, food was excellent with a wonderful selection to suit every taste. Anyone who says the food is below par at this hotel must be very hard to please!! If you need help with local transport the reception staff will provide you with maps and timetables. A visit to the new park in torremolinos, ( Parque de la bateria ) is a must. Bus L1 from outside hotel tkes you direct, get off at Montemar alto. Also the parque at Benalmadene is worth a visit. If you like to have a drink in a bar without telly and have good conversation then try Buddy's bar in plaza ole behind the hotel triton next to the marina. Jackie and Malcolm make everyone feel welcome. Outside hotel entrance across the road is Tom's Tavern, also no telly and good Banter!! So many things to see and do in Torremolinos/Benalmadena, a visit to Benalmadena Pueblo is recommended with stunning views down to the costa. Try tapas in the square near the church. Bus 121 which also goes to Mijas passes through the Pueblo. Altogether a brilliant holiday, it was our 4th visit to this area and will be returning again soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chippersNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Due to a mix up with our apartment, we had to book into a hotel for one night until the apartment was ready. I had read the reviews on Riu Nautilus many times and they always were positive. We deceided to see if they had any spare rooms, which thankfully they did. We were given a glass of Cava on checking in, even though they knew we would only be there one night. We had been walking around the resort since 11am and this was 7pm in the evening when we checked in the hotel, so it was appreciated. We were allocated two lovely rooms, and had a delicious evening meal, bed and breakfast. The rooms were really nice and the food was very good. We were made to feel welcome by Lucas and Philippe who were on reception. We will definately return for a longer stay soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just returned from the hotel with my wife 28th March - 4th April.Flights were good as Thompson usually are.Bus transfer to and from hotel good aswell.As we in are 30s noticed most of the other passengers were retired and were heading out for 2-3 weeks,didnt bother us as we are not party animals anymore ourselves.We have been there and done that.Arrival at the hotel,we were not greeted with complimentary drinks as other guests have stated.But noticed some guests did receive throughout the week when we were passing through the reception area.Reception staff were rather grumpy aswell,but we were dealt with quickly and soon in our room.Note - a safe key was given too us but we were not told the cost.In which you pay for at the end of your stay.It was 13.30 euro for the week.They put us a small cold buffet on the first night because we arrived after 9pm.Bread,ham.cheese,water etc.Which we thought was rather nice.Our room was Number 507 which was large,modern with balcony.Excellent to sit on the balcony from 3pm-7pm it was a right good sun trap.Because other areas of the hotel did not get much sun on them,so we was rather lucky.Rooms were cleaned very well daily and well looked after.We chose the later sitting for our evening meal which was 8.15pm,the earlier one was 6.30pm.You are allocated a table number on your first night in the restaurant unknowing to us,but we was not greeted by the restaurant manager so we sat at a free table.After approx 15mins the manager came over with an English couple and he was very abrupt saying we were sat in someone elses table and made a big issue of it,the English couple were absolutely fine about it.We stated that it was our first night in the restaurant and we was not aware of this and if he did is job properly he would have been waiting for us on arrival to take us to our seats,anyway after 5 mins it was all sorted and we were given a table number for the remaining week,but we reported this to our Thompson rep as he treated us like children.All the other restaurant staff are lovely and work very hard,nothing is too much trouble for them.My opinion of the food was rather good,plenty of choice,but with my wife being vegetarian she did struggle most evenings,as it was pasta/vegetables thats it really.Some of the other guests were very ignorant,and dont know what a queue is,so be aware.Wine list in restaurant is very expensive.The hotel location is the key too this hotel thats why its rated so highly on here.20 mins walk too the main shopping area,and 15mins walk to the lovely Benalmadena Marina,and a couple of strides and you are on the beach.The promenade which runs for miles along the sea front is kept immaculate and cleaned several times daily,the bars along the prom are great aswell especially if you like people watching.The pool area is very nice,but very busy.Think you might struggle for sun beds in the summer months.A visit to Mijas is a must aswell,50 mins by bus which we caught near the Mcdonalds.1.35 euro each way per person.Mijas is all untouched,great views,flamenco dancers in the square area.Donkey and horse a cart trips around the town are available.A visit to Sealife and the cable cars are also a must,something too do most days which we liked about the area,as this was our first visit to Southern Spain.Hotel bar prices are rather expensive,but not too worry if you walk over the road just outside the entrance too the hotel you will find a bar called 'Mirage' which is run by Mick and Debbie from Preston they are lovely people and looked after us fantastically all week,and a pint of san miguel is only 1.50 euro.Their food is also very good and at very good prices.If you do go in mention Matt and Lisa from Worksop for us.So if you want a quiet drink at good prices this is the place too be.Bars around the marina are also very expensive.We will return to the area again,might not be in this hotel.But we had a fabulous week,got some lovely weather and met some very nice people.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt_240475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,897 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,950 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,241 reviews
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $139 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing