We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel,but been too alot better!!!!”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just returned from the hotel with my wife 28th March - 4th April.Flights were good as Thompson usually are.Bus transfer to and from hotel good aswell.As we in are 30s noticed most of the other passengers were retired and were heading out for 2-3 weeks,didnt bother us as we are not party animals anymore ourselves.We have been there and done that.Arrival at the hotel,we were not greeted with complimentary drinks as other guests have stated.But noticed some guests did receive throughout the week when we were passing through the reception area.Reception staff were rather grumpy aswell,but we were dealt with quickly and soon in our room.Note - a safe key was given too us but we were not told the cost.In which you pay for at the end of your stay.It was 13.30 euro for the week.They put us a small cold buffet on the first night because we arrived after 9pm.Bread,ham.cheese,water etc.Which we thought was rather nice.Our room was Number 507 which was large,modern with balcony.Excellent to sit on the balcony from 3pm-7pm it was a right good sun trap.Because other areas of the hotel did not get much sun on them,so we was rather lucky.Rooms were cleaned very well daily and well looked after.We chose the later sitting for our evening meal which was 8.15pm,the earlier one was 6.30pm.You are allocated a table number on your first night in the restaurant unknowing to us,but we was not greeted by the restaurant manager so we sat at a free table.After approx 15mins the manager came over with an English couple and he was very abrupt saying we were sat in someone elses table and made a big issue of it,the English couple were absolutely fine about it.We stated that it was our first night in the restaurant and we was not aware of this and if he did is job properly he would have been waiting for us on arrival to take us to our seats,anyway after 5 mins it was all sorted and we were given a table number for the remaining week,but we reported this to our Thompson rep as he treated us like children.All the other restaurant staff are lovely and work very hard,nothing is too much trouble for them.My opinion of the food was rather good,plenty of choice,but with my wife being vegetarian she did struggle most evenings,as it was pasta/vegetables thats it really.Some of the other guests were very ignorant,and dont know what a queue is,so be aware.Wine list in restaurant is very expensive.The hotel location is the key too this hotel thats why its rated so highly on here.20 mins walk too the main shopping area,and 15mins walk to the lovely Benalmadena Marina,and a couple of strides and you are on the beach.The promenade which runs for miles along the sea front is kept immaculate and cleaned several times daily,the bars along the prom are great aswell especially if you like people watching.The pool area is very nice,but very busy.Think you might struggle for sun beds in the summer months.A visit to Mijas is a must aswell,50 mins by bus which we caught near the Mcdonalds.1.35 euro each way per person.Mijas is all untouched,great views,flamenco dancers in the square area.Donkey and horse a cart trips around the town are available.A visit to Sealife and the cable cars are also a must,something too do most days which we liked about the area,as this was our first visit to Southern Spain.Hotel bar prices are rather expensive,but not too worry if you walk over the road just outside the entrance too the hotel you will find a bar called 'Mirage' which is run by Mick and Debbie from Preston they are lovely people and looked after us fantastically all week,and a pint of san miguel is only 1.50 euro.Their food is also very good and at very good prices.If you do go in mention Matt and Lisa from Worksop for us.So if you want a quiet drink at good prices this is the place too be.Bars around the marina are also very expensive.We will return to the area again,might not be in this hotel.But we had a fabulous week,got some lovely weather and met some very nice people.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt_240475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here from 7th-12th March. Hotel itself is very good with food choice good, rooms very clean, staff very friendly. When we where down at dinner on first night we had money stolen from our suitcase which was in wardrobe with a padlock on it. We did not discover this until next morning. The Director of the hotel wasn't very helpful. Stated this hadn't happened before. I think it had to be one of the staff as who else would have known the set time we would go for dinner (6pm sitting), also that we didn't have a safe deposit box. So just be sure you take a safe deposit box.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Our return visit to the Riu Nautilus, and it was every bit as good as our first a year ago. Spotlessly clean throughout, friendly and attentive staff, a good range of high quality food - and with Riu's current offers, exceptionally good value for money. Definitely recommended.

As last year, a special tip: hiring your car through one of the UK companies on Google before you leave will save you a fortune: a small car for one week cost us £55, compared with £150 - £200 locally

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Booked a 4 day stay here mid January. Chain Hotels on Spain’s Costa Del Sol offer great ‘short stays’ over the winter months with very reasonable half board rate. This one from German RIU Hotels this was one of the best we have had of late. It’s quite inexpensive to get from UK to Malaga by air at this time so, all in all, a great quality cheapo.

The hotel is beautiful, semi traditional in its furnishing , spotless and very well maintained. The double room we had on the 3rd floor was large enough, 2 twin beds, air conditioned, quiet, and had a mini bar, great bathroom with shower etc. Everything worked! The food was brilliant, the breakfast was awesome and there was something different every night at the very extensive buffet.
Entertainment in the lounge, usually singer(s) with keyboard kept the place alive and interesting in the evening. The drinks were very reasonable at the bar, an incentive to stay in the hotel in the evening.
The RIU is right on the promenade, well positioned, a couple of hundred yards from the Benalmadena Marina. The outdoor swimming pool is heated and there are plenty of loungers and mattresses about. Shops and restaurants are right across the street from the front entrance so everything is at hand.
Every one of the staff from the manager to the maid was smiling and helpful, they made us feel very welcome and couldn’t do enough for us.
We have seen RIU group hotels in our travels across the world but this was our first stay in one, and it won’t be our last.

All in all a great success.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TimPoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is an excellent hotel in all respects...and I have stayed in some of the world's leading hotels.
Spacious, clean room, friendly staff, nice bar and really good buffet-style restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner, excellent selection and extremely well presented.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vincent7A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We were looking on Tripadvisor for a Riu hotel to stay at for a 4 night Christmas break and liked the look of this one but were nearly put off by some of the reviews. We decided to take a chance on the Nautilus because we liked the price and the location and what an excellent choice we made. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff, offered a glass of champagne and were directed to a large, very nice room. Throughout the holiday, all the staff were extremely helpful and the food was outstanding, especially the Christmas Day evening meal that was a banquet with waiters constantly topping up glasses with free wine, (not something we had expected nor have we experienced in any other Spanish hotel at Christmas). On Boxing Day, the weather was wet and stormy and so the management made the decision to open the salon which is usually only open in the evening for drinks and entertainment. This gave everyone the opportunity to spend the day in pleasant, comfortable surroundings and purchasing drinks was not compulsory. This was a typical example of the staff catering for their guests. When we finally and reluctantly had to leave, the receptionist shook our hands and wished us a good trip home. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends, it may not be the most modern Riu hotel we have stayed in but it is certainly the friendliest and we are looking forward to our next visit there..

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jonshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We took a 4 day break at the Riu Nautilus the week before Christmas, and with us staying there 3 or 4 times a year, I think we should at least let people know why we keep going back time and time again.

It's incredibly convenient, no more than 15 mins in a taxi from the front door of Malaga Airport. There are no long transfers and you can always get a taxi at the airport. (20-22 Euros)

The welcome at the Hotel is warm and friendly, and despite the fact that sea views cannot be guaranteed, the reception staff will always assist where ever possible. During check in there is the complimentary glass of bubbly or chilled juice. The reception area is now covered by Wi-Fi - there is a small charge but it’s much cheaper than using the hotel computers.

The rooms are always clean and to a good standard. The housekeeping staff do a great job maintaining the rooms during your stay. Although TV choice is limited you can get Sky News, BBC1 and Eurosports. There are a number of bars close to the hotel showing everything from Sky Sports to your daily fix of the soaps. Each room has a safe which we find is a must, especially in the summer months when you’re at the pool for the majority of the day.

The Hotel Restaurant has two evening sittings, we always chose the latter sitting as it gives us more time either by the pool or to enjoy our siesta. There is always a varied choice on each day’s menu. My wife is a vegetarian and always finds plenty of choice for herself. Manuel and his team really do look after you, the waiting on staff are very attentive. As we are half board, we tend to have a mooch around the hotel if we choose to have a snack at lunchtime. Very close to the hotel we found that Juan's (opposite the main hotel entrance and some really good fish dishes) and Mirage Bar (just to the right - and with real chips) were both of good quality and very reasonably priced.

The pool area is great, plenty of sun beds and plenty of room. During the summer months, we found ourselves sitting out for an hour before breakfast. just to get more sun!
The only niggle we find the price of the drinks in the bar and as luck would have it, we found Tom's Tavern right opposite the hotel.

Dave and Jean, along with Michael run a great place, very friendly and the prices are very very competitive. Open from 10am you can read the morning papers and enjoy fresh coffee (and a brandy for little more than a Euro!!) With the roof off the terrace it’s a great sun trap in itself! No TV's or loud music, just nice people. If you fancy a pint (or a coffee and brandy) whilst you’re away make sure you pop in.

The Marina is approx 10 minutes walk one way and Torremolinos 30 minutes the other. Both of which have plenty of restaurants, shops and bars for your enjoyment. We have noticed that due to the exchange rate, some places can appear to be quite costly. If you seek you will find the places that are quite well priced.

On this occasion the weather was not as good as last year, in fact we lost a day due to the heavy rain. That said the sole purpose of this break was a few peaceful days away before the Christmas festivities kick in, so the weather was not an issue. However, this is the first time we have seen rain there for years and are looking forward to the warm temperatures and sun when we return in May and September

One tip we were advised of a couple of years ago. If you’re on email, sign up to the news letters for BMI Baby and Easyjet who still let you take 20kgs of luggage. They will send info on when flights become available and when they are reduced. No matter what time of the year we travel and because we book up in advance (we have already booked May and September) the flights are much cheaper. Our December trip cost us under £100 including 2 Bags. And watch out for your baggage weight. BE WARNED The check in clerks at Malaga WILL charge if you’re over the allowance and check the size of your cabin luggage.

The Hotel is great. The rooms, the food, the accommodation, the pool, THE STAFF just make each visit a pleasure. I just can’t see the point in looking to find another hotel when this one ticks all of our boxes. All in all, we can't help but to recommend this hotel. We find it great. And hope you will too. (Not that we’re counting but only 122 days to go.)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LolaMaeWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,127 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $114 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing