We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go elsewhere? The Nautilus Ticks All Our boxes”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke On Trent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Why go elsewhere? The Nautilus Ticks All Our boxes”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We took a 4 day break at the Riu Nautilus the week before Christmas, and with us staying there 3 or 4 times a year, I think we should at least let people know why we keep going back time and time again.

It's incredibly convenient, no more than 15 mins in a taxi from the front door of Malaga Airport. There are no long transfers and you can always get a taxi at the airport. (20-22 Euros)

The welcome at the Hotel is warm and friendly, and despite the fact that sea views cannot be guaranteed, the reception staff will always assist where ever possible. During check in there is the complimentary glass of bubbly or chilled juice. The reception area is now covered by Wi-Fi - there is a small charge but it’s much cheaper than using the hotel computers.

The rooms are always clean and to a good standard. The housekeeping staff do a great job maintaining the rooms during your stay. Although TV choice is limited you can get Sky News, BBC1 and Eurosports. There are a number of bars close to the hotel showing everything from Sky Sports to your daily fix of the soaps. Each room has a safe which we find is a must, especially in the summer months when you’re at the pool for the majority of the day.

The Hotel Restaurant has two evening sittings, we always chose the latter sitting as it gives us more time either by the pool or to enjoy our siesta. There is always a varied choice on each day’s menu. My wife is a vegetarian and always finds plenty of choice for herself. Manuel and his team really do look after you, the waiting on staff are very attentive. As we are half board, we tend to have a mooch around the hotel if we choose to have a snack at lunchtime. Very close to the hotel we found that Juan's (opposite the main hotel entrance and some really good fish dishes) and Mirage Bar (just to the right - and with real chips) were both of good quality and very reasonably priced.

The pool area is great, plenty of sun beds and plenty of room. During the summer months, we found ourselves sitting out for an hour before breakfast. just to get more sun!
The only niggle we find the price of the drinks in the bar and as luck would have it, we found Tom's Tavern right opposite the hotel.

Dave and Jean, along with Michael run a great place, very friendly and the prices are very very competitive. Open from 10am you can read the morning papers and enjoy fresh coffee (and a brandy for little more than a Euro!!) With the roof off the terrace it’s a great sun trap in itself! No TV's or loud music, just nice people. If you fancy a pint (or a coffee and brandy) whilst you’re away make sure you pop in.

The Marina is approx 10 minutes walk one way and Torremolinos 30 minutes the other. Both of which have plenty of restaurants, shops and bars for your enjoyment. We have noticed that due to the exchange rate, some places can appear to be quite costly. If you seek you will find the places that are quite well priced.

On this occasion the weather was not as good as last year, in fact we lost a day due to the heavy rain. That said the sole purpose of this break was a few peaceful days away before the Christmas festivities kick in, so the weather was not an issue. However, this is the first time we have seen rain there for years and are looking forward to the warm temperatures and sun when we return in May and September

One tip we were advised of a couple of years ago. If you’re on email, sign up to the news letters for BMI Baby and Easyjet who still let you take 20kgs of luggage. They will send info on when flights become available and when they are reduced. No matter what time of the year we travel and because we book up in advance (we have already booked May and September) the flights are much cheaper. Our December trip cost us under £100 including 2 Bags. And watch out for your baggage weight. BE WARNED The check in clerks at Malaga WILL charge if you’re over the allowance and check the size of your cabin luggage.

The Hotel is great. The rooms, the food, the accommodation, the pool, THE STAFF just make each visit a pleasure. I just can’t see the point in looking to find another hotel when this one ticks all of our boxes. All in all, we can't help but to recommend this hotel. We find it great. And hope you will too. (Not that we’re counting but only 122 days to go.)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LolaMaeWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    472
    141
    24
    15
See reviews for
175
980
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Lovely hotel except for quite rude reception staff. Requested special room by e-mail and by tour operator, both ignored. Staff did not even bother to reply when I asked them about this. Also despite the very bad weather here they did'nt even bother to ask how our journey was. As we were the only ones checking in they weren't exactly busy. I was looking forward to being offered this drink I had read so much about but, despite a large array of glasses, we weren't offered one. After the dreadful time we had endured getting here a friendly greeting would not have gone amiss. The rest of the staff were excellent.
Please take note reception you are the first people the client sees.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nun891b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed at this hotel a few days before we did a cruise from Malaga, it was recommended to us by some friends and we were impressed. Good location for the Marina area although it seemed very quiet as in the amount of people.
Hotel is real nice with awsome views from our room. rooms have queen size bed and everything you want and need, rooms are serviced everyday and are very clean. Restaurant is good with excellent selection of food, but why eat in the hotel when your in Europe?
Fantastic restaurants around the hotel, Charnley gastro pub came recommended to us from our friends,its further down the road near the Pharmasist and has real good food and drinks. Very clean and relaxing with great service.
Teto Juans also came recommended and is a real taste of Spain! Free tapas with every drink. Head right out the hotel and when you come to a fork in the road, take a left and youll find it on the right hand side up a few steps. If you get stuck ask for Cheers bar (like the tv program)
We didnt go to it but my friends recommended House Ming Chinese Restaurant down near the Pharmasist, they said it was amazing and also a great price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanna-ivy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Just returned from a 4 night break at the Riu Nautilus and I am dying to go back as we had such a fantastic time.
Right from the start the service at the hotel was second to none, with a glass of champagne each when we arrived to arranging a wheelchair for my elderly grandmother once we had checked out!
The staff couldn't do enough for you and were always keen to help with a smile, nothing was too much trouble.
Very clean spacious rooms, gorgeous pool area, excellent location right on the promenade and the most amazing food.
I can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikkinooLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

just returned from ten days at this hotel and this is the first time i can say the hotel realy was four star.food, rooms, staff everything was excellent.from the time we arrived to be greeted with wine to the time we left when they arranged an early morning breakfast for us you felt nothing was to much trouble.we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachcomber4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Arrived at the RIU Nautilas on the 18th August with a warm welcome and was served a glass of fruit juice. Myself my Husband Daughter (21 yrs) and Son (13 yrs) had a a lovely holiday so much so we wanted to stay another week. The only downside was our travel agent emailed the hotel requesting interconnecting rooms with a pool view we also emailed the hotel and both replies stated they would do their best to accomodate us. When we arrived we asked again but none were available and as the rooms we were allocated did not have a pool view they said they would move us the following day to different rooms with a lovely view of the pool. When we went to our adjoining rooms they were lovely and clean and very spacious so as we were only there for a week we deceided to stay put. The management and staff were very friendly and polite and the cleaners were fab All in all had a great holiday.

Going again next year for 2 weeks and hopefully we will get our interconnecting rooms. Would recommend this hotel and one final thing my daughter and myself are fussy eaters but we always found something nice to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4MAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed for oneweek mid-july at this hotel, we chose a Riu hotel as we have stayed in this chain of hotels before.
Upon arrival check in was very quick and efficent we were in our room within 15 mins of arrival.
The room, on the second, floor was what you would expect from a good 4 star hotel. Large, very clean, good views of the med. There are large grounds and many areas for relaxation around the pool.
The best reason for recommending this hotel is the location, only 5 mins walk from the beautiful marina, with shops and bars. However the bars and restaurants are very expensive. The area directly in front of the hotel is also full of 'typical' english bars (read: scruffy and full of chavs!) we used to walk about 2 mins up the road to Charnleys bar (opposite the Farmacia) for our meals as this is easily the nicest (cleanest) and really good value for money also House Ming for chinese food as easily the best chinese on the road!. We ate in Kanibal one night which was also a nice treat but too much food/cost.
All in all I would happily recommend this hotel if you are looking for some luxury in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,733 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing