We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
dumfries
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Cant rate this complex highly enough,
Staff generally are excellent,
Rooms are very spacious and clean with a perfect side sea view which is more than can be said for other experiences we have had in the past
Reception was so well run it was a pleasure rather than a chore,glass of bubbly was very welcome.and unexpected,no porters was a bit unexpected but lifts to all floors is about 5mtrs away from reception so no problems.
Food!
Breakfast is such a wide and varied choice of what you would expect ,cooked in front of you to perfection,coup-led with non hot food is more than you would expect.
Dinner was equally mouthwatering +a carvery every night couldn't fault the cooks nor the wide and varied selection of food.
The sweets ah well lets just say I came home with an extra 1/2 stone acquired from somewhere and I THINK ?I know from where.
Loads of sunbeds although slightly cramed in.
Sea within a stones throw,hotel garden opened directly on to the prom.
Benalmadena Marina 500mtrs Brilliant.
Entertainment every night was very varied and enjoyable.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to young and old.
Stayed 2 weeks from 29 Sept 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    447
    135
    24
    14
See reviews for
168
935
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel, a fortnight prior to the holiday i emailed requesting a quiet room, on arrival was allocated room 116 where the air condition unit was located so therefore a continual humming noise that increased during the night, so immediately asked for the possibility of being moved , and was told by po faced Isa sorry we are full but will put you on the waiting list, 4 day's into our holiday we were offered a change but we were only there a week so couldn't be bothered to re -pack,I think we could have been moved sooner as there are people coming in and out every day. The food not as good as when we were there 2 years ago, same boring choice of salads every night, a vast difference to the Palace hotels.Raquel our waitress really lovely, the friendliest staff member we came across. The hotel is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean and in an ideal situation.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 114 to 120 in the main block looking out over another hotel and the noise from air-con u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygalCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived 8th Sept 2013,What a stunning hotel ,modern, clean, staff brilliant & attentive, food plentiful & a great choice. We didn't get a room with a sea view but that didn't matter as this hotel is right on the sea anyway. We were a party of nine all various ages 20s 30s,50s,60s & 80. Everyone enjoyed the whole spectrum of what this hotel had to offer. Plenty of sun loungers, towels for the beach at no cost, choice of indoor or outdoor eating, exemplary staff. The room was large with plenty of wardrobe space, lots of draws, flat screen TV, mini fridge, there is a walk in shower, balcony with furniture. The bed was the best I have slept in on holiday, very comfortable. We would definitely recommend this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redders1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights from 29 sept Our room which has side sea view and marina in distance with sol Timor apartments directly opposite.The room itself was lovely - spacious plenty of room for clothes /cases in wardrobes and great large walk in modern shower . Flat screen tv great but only two English channels bbc1 and bbc2. Lots of European channels and majority of guests do appear to be German Dutch Spanish .

The reception area is very purple and grey with no atmosphere at all , at the rear of reception is the bar/lounge area with access to a lovely outside balcony area overlooking pool and sea where you can sit with drinks.
The restaurant is quite small and tables are very close together , we went for later breakfast and it was lovely sitting outside . There are two sittings for evening meal -6pm which you are automatically put on for your 1st night (which didn't suit us at all and we were told see head waiter and he will swap you to later 8pm sitting for rest of stay which he did) It is a scrum for food and if you don't like seafood or pork you will have a limited choice of what you eat . Even some of the salad items like beans or pasta had fish in it with even though there was seafood to accompany the salad 5 nights out of the 7 we were there , I spoke to the assistant manager regards this and he did say he thought was plenty of choice but did say if I was struggling to ask and something could be brought to me from the kitchen . Funnily the day the surveys came out the better food and posher ice cream came out!
The staff are very friendly and efficient.

The pool area is very small and cramped and people were putting towels on loungers when it was still dark but towels were never removed by staff.
No activities or music round the pool area so if you like it very quiet would suit you .
We hired a car for 4 days and there was always space near hotel to park .

The hotel is in a great location very short walk to both Benalmadena marina area and Torremolinos where there are some lovely old streets with fish / Spanish restaurants mixed in with modern bars and shops .

Upon checking out they tried to charge us for a safe that we had never had - after querying was removed from the bill and apology given .
Overall mostly enjoyable but average and for those who think its fantastic maybe they haven't stayed in 4* /5* somewhere like Antalya area of Turkey where the hotels far exceed the standards of this hotel for not much more money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incaCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A return visit to Nautilus. I felt this visit there seemed to be a lot of new staff on Reception, Restaurant and Bar Lounge and it was an effort for them to be interested in the Guest. I overhead another guest stating the same. Was talking to another guest who stated that the hotel enjoys a 68% return of guests So I think that says a lot about the experience of Nautilus.. Another guest I spoke to didn't like the new upgrade, she preferred the old style.

Everything was as it should be for this visit. We had an excellent room food was good. My only gripe is that tables at meal times are very close together. Dinner time you must sit at the table that has been allocated. We had different languages, including Holland and Belgium. The language barrier was a bit of a problem. Though most of them could speak a little English. Again the age old problem of reserving the sunbeds crops up. This didn't bother me as I was always able to get a sunbed myself.

We will return perhaps next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment after our previous experiences in Riu hotels. The reception area was almost clinical and the lounge area lacked any atmosphere. The colour scheme seems to have copied our Premier Inns but was incomplete with the green lounge chairs clashing with the lilac and grey colour scheme. The restaurant resembled a bun-fight with all guests expected to sit within a very short time frame and the pool deck area was small with only very tired sun beds. It really needs new sun loungers and some chairs. The room was spacious with a sea view. It was clean though lacked sufficient storage space. We were on the 7th floor (east side) and overlooked the bottlebank - annoying at 2am in the morning when the local bars decide to dispose of their empties. The local Dutch music bar was also noisy. The sound of the surf is constant. On this experience its not a hotel I would rush back too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinWW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hucknall
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The reception area is clinical and soulless unlike previous RIU hotels which are have always been welcoming. The room however in contrast was very good and would have been excellent if the facility for making a hot drink was available. The staff throughout the hotel are courteous, friendly and efficient. The pool area is so full of sunbeds its like looking at sardines in a can and very early in the morning while it is still dark figures can be seen reserving their favourite sunbed despite a notice saying sunbeds should not be reserved this could easily be remedied by the staff removing the offending towels. As the beach is just across the promenade we used this option and at 9 euros for 2 sunbeds, table, brolly, waiter service and use of toilet at beach bar this seemed a good alternative. The food in the restaurant is buffet style and seems to be geared to our EU partners which is understandable as the Brits were only a tiny minority. The quality of the food left something to be desired as for example the fish was full of bones and the beef was extremely tough. Perhaps I am being picky but this is one RIU we won't be going back to.

Room Tip: high floors for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hucknall_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing