We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN ENJOYABLE HOLIDAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Hull UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AN ENJOYABLE HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

First visit to this hotel and very satisfied and would like to record a few observations. Would appear that smoking is allowed in the outside restaurant. General opinion from the non smokers is that this was an annoying irritant particularly when some guests were smoking cigars. Alas the entertainment was disappointing. In some circumstances even boring especially on nights when we were being entertained with solo artists on the classical guitar and saxophone. It was also noticed that around the swimming pool there was evidence of bathers who were not residents in the hotel and this sometimes could lead to confrontation. Otherwise a very enjoyable holiday very highly rated in all other aspects. Recommended..

Room Tip: Always be objective at the time of booking. If not readily available on arrival the management appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    431
    130
    24
    14
See reviews for
165
908
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my second stay at a Riu hotel and wasn't disappointed. The hotel was lovely throughout, with a large reception area which is tastefully decorated, there is 90 minutes free wifi available in reception or 20 euros for a week used anywhere around the hotel.

The staff who we spoke to during our stay were very nice and helpful. Also the Thomson's rep was very helpful for the enquiries we made about trips and a couple of minor issues, these were nothing to do with the hotel may I add.

The rooms were nice and spacious and decorated nicely, the bathroom had a big walk in shower and the toilet was in a separate area off the bathroom which I thought was a great idea. The air conditioning worked great, plenty storage space and safe available for 2 euros per day. Maid service was great and room always spotless. I've noticed on previous comments moans about there hardly being any English channels on the TV, who goes on holiday to watch tv anyway? Also moans about the room and pool towels being too thin. Personally don't know what the fuss is about when they are just for drying yourself and lying on.

Food was very good, always plenty choice. On arrival you are allocated a time for dinner as there is 2 sittings but you can change this on your first dinner visit if you wish. Tables are very close together together though and this was the same with first Riu hotel we stayed at. The restaurant for lunch was very good, good size portions for a reasonable price.

The pool area is very nice and quiet, but its too quiet. There is no music or any entertainment. Sun beds aren't too bad to get but like every other hotel there is the usual early morning towel brigade reserving loungers, I personally think this shouldn't be allowed as loungers were empty for hours after being reserved. One day we went down at 10.30 and stayed till 5.30 and there was at least a dozen beds in the area we were in that had been reserved that hadn't been occupied during the entire time we were down! This is not fair on other guests!

Although I did enjoy my stay at the hotel and have no complaints about it or the staff and being an adult only hotel I found it very relaxing with no children around, however, it was the guests I found a problem! Obviously not them all. This hotel when we were there was about, in my opinion, about 80% occupied with over 60s, the rest 40s and 50s, with a very small number of younger couples like myself and husband. In the dining room I was looked at like rubbish by other diners, can't make up my mind if this was because of my age or how I dressed as some nights I wore dress shorts and nice tops but nothing revealing! One guest stood right in front of me, looked me up and down and shook her head one night I was waiting in line for food! Also, the couples that were on tables at either side of us kept staring at us and what was on our plates! Around the pool area I experienced the same looks again walking around with shorts and t shirt on and swimwear, I even saw a few older men staring at me whilst sunbathing which I did not like!

Anyway, overall, despite some guests it was still an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L22tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013. The hotel is actually on the beach, the beach is full of shops and restaurants and you can walk around all day and not get board. The hotel staff were nice, the rooms were spacious, clean and the bathroom was fabulous. Such a clean clean hotel. There's the outdoor and indoor pools, i did both, both were just to die for. The food was lovely, big spread. Its not really a hotel for kids at all. MOre for adults. There was entertainment in the form of singing and dances for the 'ouldies' in the evenings, which we, although we were too young to take part, thoroughly enjoyed. The food in the restaurants around was very cheap. Embarrassing to pay for a full meal sometimes for what they were asking! So, i would highly recommend and would love to return :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJay08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went to this hotel in June for 11 nights leaving on July the 4th. Very warm welcome on arrival glass of Champagne or Orange juice. The hotel has been redecorated since last year , what a great job they have done. Everywhere it is spotless and all Staff were very friendly. The new showers in the bedrooms are superb. Food again was of a good standard but in my opinion not quite as good as last year. The pool is now very easy for people to get in and out of well done. the new indoor pool was very nice but empty so could not try it out.The only dissapointment was the Sun Beds they are not as good quality as last year also no cushions to go on beds as there was last year. Overall a great Holiday.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on the inner part of hotel or annex as roads on both outer sides can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

First riu have stayed in. Was absolutely perfect. Rooms were lovely, clean and air conditioning was really good! Had to switch it off was too cold! Which is great when it's so hot outside! Beds in the room was the best hotel beds I have had in a while!

Food in the restaurant was great. Breakfast was great. So much choice! Dinner something different every night!

Swimming pool was great and sunbeds were plentiful. Ignore the other comments regarding sunbeds. No matter what time you went always got a bed.

Location of thd hotel is perfect too. 5 minute walk to bemalmadena harbour. But its more expensive there for drinks in the evening. We always went to the left when you go out the back gate. Lovely bars and shops! Would recommend the launch bar. Free wifi and cheap drinks!

Would definitely go back again!

P.s - note to cat lover's there is a lovely little ginger cat that stays at the hotel. Save her a little bit of fish after dinner!! She doesn't bother anyone but just a sweetie!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tg278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just back from a fabulous week at the Nautilus.Lovely rooms, comfy beds, ice cold air conditioning, quiet beautiful pool, well tended gardens. Restaurant is very nice, meals were plentiful and beautifully presented.Adults only is a definite bonus! Chef was always very helpful if you require anything. Outdoor terrace for breakfast in the morning is gorgeous. Rooms were very spacious, great showers, Staff were very pleasant and helpful. There were different shows on every night, some not too bad. The only thing that was a pain was the smoking policy on the outdoor terrace part of the restaurant. Nothing worse than trying to enjoy your food when chain smokers are sat at the next table. Why have a beautiful restaurant and spoil it with allowing smoking, even though its outdoors, the doors are kept open to the inside part of the restaurant. Perhaps the management could look at this.

Room Tip: we had room 304 overlooking the hotel gardens, still had a sea view and the sun was on the balcony l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorer50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEastUK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

There's not much I can add to what many other positive reviewers have already stated about this hotel, so I'll start with my only 'niggle': The sun beds are rubbish!!!
I mentioned this to the reception manager on my departure and the reply was; we've had a lot of complaints about them!
Apperently when the hotel was refurbished, no doubt at great cost, the old sun beds where replaced by these 'second hand' ones, which are the most uncomfortable I've ever laid on and when you consider how much time you spend laying at the side of the pool when you're on holiday!!!
The only other complaint would be that the pool area is not kept anywhere near as clean as the rest of the hotel, with small amounts of litter being seen for a few days. Now don't take this the wrong way, I don't mean it's dirty, far from it, but it just could be much better.
The pool area itself is very nice (looks good at night when lit up) with plenty of beds, despite the lack of comfort, with a very good bar area offering snacks and drinks, with poolside drinks service, none of which are expensive.

The hotel has a pan-European clientele, being very popular with Spanish, Belgian, German and British tourist (and others). It is in very good condition following the refurb, although I'm sure the lilac and grey colour scheme isn't to everyone's liking. The rooms (we were in the main building, 4th floor) are a good size with good aircon, ceiling fan, very comfy beds (unlike the sunbeds!) and plenty of storage. The bedrooms are cleaned daily, towels and bedding changed on request and are well furnished, with safe, mini bar and LCD TV; although I don't understand why an 'Adults only' hotel would have the Disney Channel and CBeebies as a TV channel choice!
The bathroom has a large walk in shower, with his and hers basins, very handy when you're both trying to get ready!
The location is very good also, next to the beach, close to the very popular marina and plenty of Irish bars just across the street. I would also suggest a walkalong the prom in the opposite direction to the marina where you can find shops, bars and restaurants (if you're still hungry!).

I can't understand why anyone would have any complaints about the food as there is always a good choice which is wide ranging and tasty (you can also try the al la carte restaurant attached to the main restaurant which is also very good). Remember, this is a buffet style restaurant servicing a lot of people over 2 sittings in the evening (with allocated table for the duration of your stay) and 1 sitting for breakfast, but the staff do a great job of catering for the number of people eating there. Saying that, the hotel isn't huge and never really feels 'busy'.

Finally a word for the staff - FANTASTIC, always smiling and always helpful: Well done :-)

We had a great holiday!

Room Tip: The main building has 7 floors with 17 rooms on each floor. Marina side rooms, like ours, have sun i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing