We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second visit to Riu Nautilus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Epworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second visit to Riu Nautilus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Once again I spent a week at the Riu Nautilus from the 2nd October to the 9th October and had a very enjoyable holiday. When we booked this holiday I again requested a sea view room overlooking the pool and on the west side. As before, we were told that this is only a request and they may not be able to meet our requirements. All the rooms are the same price apparently and it seems to be the luck of the draw as to the room you are allocated. It is a pity that they don't charge according to the sort of room as some are more desirable than others. As it was, two days into the holiday we were changing rooms. This results in losing most of half a days holiday.

I went back to this hotel because of the location next to the beach and the lovely flat promenade stretching for miles. We were welcomed by the restaurant manager who remembered me from my previous visit and I find the staff very helpful. The food again was very varied and you can always find something to suit.

If you suffer with sciatica, or have arthritus (which I do) the beds are a little hard, and I would prefer a more comfortable mattress. We spoke to another older couple and they had the same problem. Maybe we should have mentioned it and they could have rectified the problem.

Overall we again had a super weeks holiday, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and the food was very good for a hotel in Spain.

Room Tip: For a sunny room ask for the West side but there is no guarantee you will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank satisfiedguest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    341
    101
    22
    12
See reviews for
139
728
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were overall very happy with the Nautilus. The room we had was very clean and well maintained daily. The food served was very tasty and there was a good variety of food. When you view the menu outside the restaurant if you do not see anything on there that you fancy I would recommend going during the evening anyway because there is so much to choose from they can't possibly list it all!

Negative Comments -
The restaurant staff did appear rather too busy and would take our drinks order as they passed the table!
The tea pots were missing lids and some of the crockery was chipped.
We did find there were not enough sun beds and rather annoyingly towels were placed on these every morning from very early!
As usual with most hotels the bed was hard.

The Nautilus is under going a make over at the moment so I'm sure the crockery will be replaced and the rooms will be fantastic!

We would recommend this hotel and we would stay again!

Room Tip: Up high and facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is one of the best 4 star hotels we have stayed in.My wife and I spent a week here to celebrate my birthday on arrival at 10.30am we were suprised to find our room ready and it was exactley the type of room we requested through an e-mail prior to the holiday.Large and spacious and very clean.The maid service was excellent. The meals,breakfast and dinner are as good has we have had in Spain plenty of choice and variety chef cooking your food while you wait. The bar prices are as expected a lot dearer than the bars outside,(mr jeeves if you like bingo) but the service is very fast and efficient. The pool area (leads direct onto promenade) has plenty of sunbeds we had no problems getting one but it was october. All the staff, reception,dining, bar and maid service were polite friendly and helpful. One nice touch which we didn't expect was that on the day of my birthday the hotel sent a large basket of fruit up to our room then at dinner they gave us a bottle of champagne, a nice touch. All in all a top class 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room in the main block facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackrodWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the RIU as a family and I have to say it was great. Cleanliness very good and the staff were great and the food was first class. The hotel is situated on the promenade, which is clean flat and easy walking. Pubs just over the road, must mention Toms Tavern, which sells agreat pint of lager at 1.3 euro's. Entertainment on the evening was quite good, the Four Tops show was excellent. On our sons birthday when we came back to our room they had put a basket of fruit for him and also when we went down for our evening meal, the table had a candle and a bottle of sparking wine was also on the table, a great gesture. We cannot wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of each block are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel in great position beach front.
5 mins walk to Benalmadena port and a little further to the resort centre.
Torremollinos centre can be reached along the beach front walkway with its many shops or by the back road which we did one night,which was about 1hour.
Hotel bed very uncomfortable...food was good nice to have crispy bacon and proper fried eggs...entertainment didnt suit us we are in our 40s and felt was too boring as its nice to let your hair down when away not fall asleep!!!!
Several cheap bars to drink in opposite,they are not posh but cheap runours being one of them great cocktails.
Around the corner was irish bar Mulligans food was great proper home cooked...
We stayed for one week and never got to go by the pool no beds available.
Maids very friendly,reception staff miserable,dining room staff very friendly.
Air conditioning on a timer you couldnt change it so very hot at night.

Room Tip: Sea view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was fabulous the staff so friendly nothing too much trouble to any staff member and the wonderful manager so approachable and spoke to all guests really wanting to know how they felt about the hotel, staff and food experiences on your visit.We have never had this attention to detail from a manager and so we are looking forward to our next RIU experience in GRAN CANERIA soon,if its half as good has the NAUTILUS we are in for a wonderful time.
So thankyou all at the RIU NAUTILUS for a wonderful weeks holiday and hope to see you next year,OH just a little word for the manager the WESTLIFE TRIBUTE night was FANTASTIC WE MAY BE IN OUR 60is but more of this PLEASE, NOTED THE motown MARTIN GAYE night when we were leaving shame on you you could have had this whilst we were there, hopefully next time please.Just one niggle will you be looking to give guests multi choice board basis like all inclusive we think this would be the iceing on the cake,if guests could choose what board they prefared everyone would be catered for please consider this option.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool and on end of hotel have good outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATY_G65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having returned home following a very relaxing ten day stay at the Nautilus. Have been several times but the last visit was three years ago. The Hotel is much the same as we remembered it, first class staff, good food and a very relaxing atmosphere. I was informed that the hotel is due to close for a major refurbishment in a few weeks, I hope they dont destroy the ambience of the old girl and turn it into a modern gin palace. Had a great room overlooking the promenade and beach. Really enjoyed the stay as like all Riu's they really do make you welcome and look after you in a quiet manner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inspector77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.1 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,674 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing