We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WEEK AT THE RIU NAUTILUS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A WEEK AT THE RIU NAUTILUS”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Good Hotel - well situated on promanade to Benalmadina - our room balcony was in shade though (room 612). Entertainment very poor - mostly guitars and singers and one half hour Flamenco show. Food quite good - reasonable choices - Spanish night excellent. WiFi chargable - sad for this type of hotel as was safe key chargeable (14 euros a week). High standard of cleanliness in room - Television reception fair for English channels, could be better choice. Took excursions to Rhonda and Gibralter - good but expensive (over 200 euros for the two of us). Local buses very good and a lot cheaper - went to MIJAS (lovely place) and only cost 3 euros return each !!! Resort mostly closed as early in season - o.k. in day, rather dead at night !! Walk along promanade by beach very enjoyable - worth visiting the marina in Benalmadina. Watch out overcharging in shops - was charged twice on credit card for handbag (they said the card did not work first time). Overall a very enjoyable stay - the RIU chain is one we will use again - and the Thomson service was more than acceptable. (apart from those expensive excursions !!!).

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in main hotel (not annexe) on floor three and above (7 floors in total). If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    446
    135
    24
    14
See reviews for
168
931
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Riu Nautilus with my wife, two children (aged seven and eleven months) and my parents for seven nights from 12 February 2012 to 19 February 2012.

The hotel was clean, the food at breakfast and dinner was plentiful and the rooms were pretty spacious - and contrary to earlier reviews the staff (both at the reception and throughout the rest of the hotel) were absolutely fabulous from start to finish. I suspect that the staff were pleased to make a fuss over my two children (bearing in mind that there were not too many children staying at the hotel at this time) - but to be honest this really made us feel at home and made our holiday!

I would certainly recommend others to stay at this hotel - it is in a prime location (near the Benalmadena Marina and La Carihuela Beach) and has excellent transport links to other attractions such as Malaga, Mijas and Gibraltar!

In summary - a fantastic holiday whilst others in the UK suffer with the cold weather!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kevinb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The coach from the airport stopped on the road outside, with the exit door opening on to traffic in the centre of the road (one way street), We then found ourselves dragging cases across about 25 yard area of pebbles, set in concrete, then across a tarmac access area and finally up steps. We later realized that there was a ramp available, to the side, but this
is not immediately obvious to tired strangers arriving. There was no guidance from the coach driver, nor were any hotel staff present. The first part of this progress was not safe and the second was inconvenient.

On subsequent examination of the area, we realized why the coach did not leave the road to come to the hotel frontage, because at one side of hotel`s area, next to the road, there was a large hump in the tarmac, which would obviously risk the coach grounding.

One should be able to expect a four star hotel to have rectified their tarmac hump, but whilst it existed, to have provided guidance and assistance to new arrivals.

Having arrived at reception, we were then told that they could not forecast when it might be
possible to be able to bring the cases to our room. Having got up, at home that morning,
at 3.0 a.m, we wanted to have an undisturbed afternoon rest and so took our cases to the room ourselves.

The immediate area next to the hotel is the typical Costa Del Sol concrete urban sprawl, but as this was expected, it did not disappoint us. The area to the sea front is better, with a
pedestrian promenade, stretching long distances in either direction, one of these being to
the unusually attractive Benalmadena marina.

Having got over the sub standard arrival and reception, we discovered that we had got a room as high as requested. The outlook was across to flats opposite, but again not unexpected, in such an urban area.

From then on, were were able to enjoy the usual Riu high standard which we have come to expect from other Riu hotels at which we have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel's address is for Torremolinos, but in fact it is right by the border for Benalmadena. The location is great, the garden entrance backs onto the beachfront promenade, literally 10 metres from the beach. If you turn right out of the gate and walk 10 minutes, you will arrive at the Puerto Marina, which is full of wonderful shops, eateries.bars, boats and things for the children. If you turn left out of the gate, the prom will lead you to La Carihuela ( the old fishing part of Torremolinos), which has loads of seafood restaurants and shops and bars. Further along and you'll reach the main part of Torremolinos, with all the streets of shops, restaurants, bars, nightclubs and other activities.

The hotel's area is quite peaceful, but not boring, with bus stops nearby taking you to Malaga, Mijas, Fuengirola, Marbella etc.

On entrance to the hotel it is a relaxing ambiance with marble floors and comfortable seating, and an efficient reception. The lounge bar with the entertainment is on this floor ( which can be a bit hit and miss ), and also the outside terrace, which is nice to sit on in the evening.

The dining room has allocated tables in the evening for either the first or second sitting dinner, and this can also be taken on the terrace if you so wish. The food is wonderful, fresh and hot, with a good choice of menu, lovely salads, meat and fish cooked in front of you, and lots of delicious desserts. When ordering drinks etc , you can either pay up front or sign a chitty and pay at the end of your holiday.

Breakfasts are a more relaxed meal where you can sit where you like, and there is a delicious array of breads, cakes, cooked meats , cheeses, eggs ,bacon, churros, etc.

There is a snack bar by the pool, which sells light lunches, pizzas, burgers ,cakes, ice creams, drinks.

Children have a small kids club during the day, and a mini disco in the evening, and there is also a childrens pool too.

I've been to this hotel twice, and both times I've stayed in the annexe part of the hotel, the bedrooms here are spacious with ample storage space, mini bar / fridge, air con and ceiling fan, the t.v. only has 2 English speaking channels and both of them are news ones. There aren't any tea / coffee making facilities, so bring your own. I assume the rooms in the main part of the hotel would be the same. Beds are very comfortable.

The whole hotel is very clean and up to the usual Riu standard. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Enjoy your time here, and don't forget to apply for your Riu membership card, which will enable you to receive discount off your bar bill and also various perks with booking future holidays.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chantelleAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from having a weeks stay at the Riu Nautilus ,after reading the review’s I can understand why people were not happy ,we were quite fortunate that our room was in the annex part ( this would not suit everybody special if you have mobility problems) and on second floor with a side view of the sea we did get the sun up till about 2 o’clock and though there were doing a bit of maintenance work on the block across the road it did not effect us. On arrival were offered champagne or orange juice, which was a nice touch. We ate in the hotel restaurant for both breakfast and dinner and the quality and choice of food available was very good some nights were better than others, it was not always hot but there is a microwave. The rooms are kept very clean. The hotel is in a lovely position on the promenade and across from the beach and a few minutes walk from Benelmadena marina, we also walk on the promenade up in to Torremolinos one day, you can catch the bus across from the hotel if you wanted to. Tom’s tavern is one of the cheapest bars around and straight across from the main hotel doors. What we paid for this holiday we were very impressed and would go again

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the ground floor in the annex do not look like they would get any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshire9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week at the end of November, and had a really lovely time. The weather was fantastic which obviously helped! The hotel rooms are clean and spacious, the food was always plentiful and hot. I cannot understand people saying not enough choice...i've never seen so much choice. The hotel is in a great location next to the beach and close to pubs, restaurants etc. It is spotlessly clean, in all areas of the hotel. The staff were all excellent and very knowledgable on trips, local transport etc. A special mention to the chap by the pool looking after sunbeds/umbrellas, he was very nice and extremely friendly to all the guests. I would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat, we had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cas1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed at the Nautilus (again) for a 5 day break early in December, what a good move. As usual on arrival were offered champage, checked in with my 'Rui members card' they then don't require your passport, and what we spent in drinks in the restaurant came with a discount because of the card. Get one. We sat on the sunbeds every day the weather was that good, the food as usual was excellent, great choice and quality, hotel was in preparation for Xmas and the tree and plants etc had just been delivered as we left, looked like they would really look after their guests. - Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annie5173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
317 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Property: Hotel Riu Nautilus
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos* 3-storey and 7-storey buildings* 2,500 garden* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* 700 m from Puerto Marina* 700 m from various shops* 8 km from the Malaga airport* 100 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing