We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good stay but a bit mean with the "extras".” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Amaragua to your Saves list
SENTIDO Amaragua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good stay but a bit mean with the "extras".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Amaragua. Location is excellent, staff are friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfast had just about everything you could wish for. Rooms are clean and spacious and as far as I could see all have some form of sea view. The bed was a bit on the hard side and there appeared to be some noise/vibration from the heating system (I presume it was the heating because it only appeared at night).The indoor pool is great on a chilly January afternoon.
A few grumbles! No tea/coffee in the room (standard for Spain), free wifi but a euro for 15 minutes if you have to use the hotel computer and a charge of 2 euros 75 cents per day to use the room safe. I wouldn't expect these to incur an extra charge in a four star hotel.
If the price was right I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: I would avoid the top floor. The heating noise appeared to come from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flyingscot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    211
    96
    31
    32
See reviews for
131
217
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Amaragua in mid December 2012 for a long weekend. Was very lucky after being relocated there, due to the original booked hotel being closed. The location is ideal and close to everything. The foyer and the helpful person on the front desk certainly gave that good first impression, which set the tone for an enjoyable stay. The was spaceous and clean, and above all the staff were so helpful.

One gem was the Spa facilities that were all included in room price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed there mid November 2012.Although we were in the old section, everything we needed was there. Right on the beach although that was ot the time for swimming. WOULD BE OUTSTANDING IN THE SUMMER.We were extremely pleased with the staff, especially the front desk. All of those we had contact with spoke very good English and were easilyunderstood.Our stey included the buffet Breakfast and Dinner. The food was well presented and if you left not satisfied , it was your fault.
We would return there anytime

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Amaragua Hotel the end of October 2012. The best part of the Hotel is the location. Do not expect personal service, the front desk while somewhat friendly does not speak english well, nor do they have time for anyone, they are extremly busy. The Hotel seems to cater to travel groups. But as said the location is very good, the rooms are small , not fancy but clean. The public areas are spacious and they offer piano music at night, which is very loveley. The pool area is also attractive and the price is not bad ( may even be very good, you need to check online ) because it includes a decent buffet breakfast served in a big noisy room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

dont be put off ,by any bad reviews,hotel is lovley in a great location,we stayed in a standard room which was large and spotless,the fixtures an fittings were good.the hotel foyer is beautiful and the staff friendly.we were there with another couple and we all agreed we would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the beach,its great for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've read the reviews of the hotel that have been posted on Tripadvisor in the last year or and wanted to provide updated information to travelers. We stayed there as part of a U.S. travel agency package deal. To summarize, the Amaragua Hotel is nice, very nice. Overall, the hotel is in very good condition. The lobby, bar area and restaurant are very nice and all of the staff is very friendly and quick to resolve any issues. Much of the staff (especially front desk) is fluent in English, Spanish and German, although they clearly appreciate if you try out your Spanish, regardless of how bad it might be. With that being said, Americans should understand that a "4 star" European (or at least Spanish) hotel is a bit different than a 4 star US hotel. You are not coming to Spain to stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. In the interest of full disclosure, this was my first time to Europe, so all I had to compare was U.S. chain hotels.

Guest Rooms - The rooms, while very nice are a bit dated, the beds are very hard from U.S. standards and the pillows are long and very flat, making sleeping difficult if you're used to a softer bed and larger pillows. The bathroom is very modern, always clean, however small slivers of bar soap are only available at the sink (liquid body wash/shampoo and an unusual 'body sponge' is available in the shower). Towels are adequate and staff is quick to supply more if needed. We had an issue with how warm the room was when we arrived and after a 'Spanglish' (due to our bad Spanish) discussion with a maintenance man, we discovered that the entire building shifts from AC to heat on November 9th (we arrived on the 16th), so getting any cool air in the room required opening (and leaving open) the window, which had no screen. We saw this as an annoyance, but by itself not a deal breaker. The room did in fact cool down with the window and balcony door left open at night.

However, if you only take 1 piece of advise from this review, it is, MAKE ABSOLUTE SURE THAT YOU DON'T GET ASSIGNED A ROOM THAT FACES THE STREET (other rooms face the pool/ocean). The hotel is on a busy, noisy city street (a fact of life, but not itself a fault of the hotel) that stays noisy late into the night, making sleeping difficult. This street noise was our main complaint of the entire hotel. We don't live in a big city where this might be the norm, and so the noise made for several nights of lost sleep. Fix this and you'll have no other major complaints. Side note: we had an iPhone app called 'Sleepmaker' on our phone, which provides an ocean surf noise which we used to drown out the street noise. We highly recommend that app.

The facilities of the hotel are first rate. We enjoyed the outdoor pool overlooking the boardwalk and ocean, as well as the spa area, where they have a smaller salt water heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, nice workout facilities and other, expected spa facilities such as massage (avg price was 75 euros/hour) and facials. The sitting area and bar off the lobby was great, with lots of inside and outside tables for conversing. Cocktails/wine at the bar averaged 5 euros.

Internet access - I've read comments about spotty internet access. These are true. The hotel does offer free wifi around the hotel, however due to the many dead spots, not to mention the hundreds of guests trying to access it at the same time it is spotty to non-existent inside the rooms along with many of the common areas. However, if you sit on the room balconies or down in the area of the public internet terminals (1 euro for 15 min, 2 euro for 30 min), particularly in the afternoons, the wifi is plentiful and fast. We found that after 11am most guests had checked their email and that the internet worked fine.

Our travel package (and apparently most other guests as well) included 1/2 board with breakfast and dinner included in the room price. I've seen several complaints about the food at the main restaurant. I'll tell you as a 'foodie' that the meals were very good. Given the understanding that the Spanish chefs are trying to satisfy the palates of the American, Spanish, English, German and other palates, its hard to satisfy everyone. That being said, they certainly try hard to please. Is there repetition in some of the menu items? Sure. However, the breakfasts and dinners have at LEAST 15 choices of meats, cheeses, salads, seafoods and other items to choose from each day. Spanish cava (champagne) is served with every breakfast and while wine is supposed to be supplied at dinner as 1 glass per person, the waiters frequently provided a 1/2 bottle to each adult patron of either a good Spanish red or white wine, as well as your soft drink or coffee/cappacino/espresso of choice. Note: for some unknown reason, coffee/cappacino/espresso seems to only be available at breakfast, not dinner. No idea why. A nice dessert station is available morning and night with fresh baked desserts as well as at least 5 different types of ice cream. There's not much to complain about with their meals.

Location - While the hotel isn't in the center of Torremolinos (such as the Melia Costa del Sol), there is plenty to see and do in this area, as well as hundreds of wonderful restaurants. If you're staying for multiple weeks at the hotel (some guests were staying for 2-3 months!), I found an article before our trip about a self service laundry facility at the Sol Timor hotel, located about a 10 minute walk away from the Amaragua. This turned out to be right on the money. For 3 euros to wash and 3 euros to dry, it was fine. Not cheap but it did work and that hotel had no issues letting people from outside that hotel use that facility. The dryers weren't high powered and some of our clothes didn't dry completely, but it still allowed us to bring less clothes.

In short, were some things not exactly as we imagined at this hotel? Sure. However, we've never stayed in a hotel in Europe and had no way to compare what we got with anything except name brand, chain hotels in the U.S. Would I stay here again knowing what I know now? Yes. The staff, facilities, food and other amenities generally offset the issues of the very hard bed and annoying street noise. So, come to Costa del Sol, stay at the Hotel Amaragua and if possible, ask for a room away from the street. You'll have a great time, meet some interesting new people, who want nothing more than to help you enjoy your stay and your 'Spain experience'. Enjoy the adventure!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank MrWizard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night en route to Malaga Airport. The twin room was large and comfy. I think most rooms have a view but our room was on the first floor so didn't see much apart from a big plant and another building. Try and stay on a higher level as think the views to the sea would be lovely from there. In the main the staff were friendly apart from one female member of staff. We used the bar and sat at the terrace - a lot of flies about! The barman was super-friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The pool is large and good for swimming. From the secure back gate you come out onto the promenade and beach. Lots of restaurants along the promenade. The breakfast was great with a wide choice of food (and fizzy wine!) including made to order omelettes, fried eggs and pancakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trippytoesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#18 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Property: SENTIDO Amaragua
Address: C/ Los Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing