We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Amaragua
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Vik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights, booked a room through Booking.com norefundable and was told in the lobby when I asked to be sure that I would get the kind of room that I booked that it was not possible... this let to a litle argument, I wanted the room I had booked or at least a refund for the difference of the price of the rooms. after having to been waiting too long for the solution wich at my opinion would not have to be a trouble, we were given the room I had booked, strange that we needet to argue for it then;-/ The hotel it self is beautyfully decoradet, the rooms are spacious but a little old/used. The hotelgarden is very good and the hotel is located just a few steps from the beach and the bars which is convenient because I do not reccomend the cocktails at the hotel they are not as they are supposed to be;-/ They charge for the Wifi at the rooms, but in the brouchers says it is supposed to be free. We had dinner the first night and got disappointed, it tasted bad, also the breakfast the first night was strange so we decidet not to have the dinner includet in the price the later night. Breakfast the later morning was a litle better though don't ask me why, we had breakfast at the same time both mornings so that is not that. I had a little higher expectations for a 4 star hotel found it more like 3 star hotel looking extremely good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelersouth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    226
    107
    31
    34
See reviews for
144
242
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is clean, ideally located and has a great breakfast and that is where it ends. The hotel is so understaffed it is not funny. The staff that are there especially on reception are the most unhelpful I ever met. Don't look for a drink! you will grow old waiting or look for a towel outside the designated times! "who do you think you are" "a customer"

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st floor unless you like the smell of clorine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paddywackDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN IRELAND
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was in The Amaragua recently for a 50th Anniv celebration and have to say i was very impressed with the overall service. Obviously the planning of such an event had been ongoing for nearly a year but everything turned out top class on the night. The buffet dinner and pre-dinner drinks reception went off without a hitch and the attentiveness of the staff was excellent.
I had been there before on a number of occasions just for drinks and to listen to the wonderful piano player in the lounge. As it situated right on the Paseo Maritimo, its an ideal place to relax for a few days or longer. The hotel would be rated at the top end of the market, but in good packafe deals can still be found on their website. Go ahead, treat yourself!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BALLADMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Reception not very helpful, tried to change room and they said it was full. 10 minutes later a couple from Spain did change theirs. Expensive parking. Asked for no smoking room and mine smelled really bad. Ask for extra pillows. Poor food and always the same. Quite boring hotel with no entertainment just at night for 2 hours and very poor quality. Go early for breakfast or wait for at least half an hour. Wake up early for a sunbed or get none.
Some very helpful staff, Hall Porter and Jose at the bar. Great location, walking distance to La Carihuela and beach. Recommend El Mojito Bar and Mi Bodeguita to have tapas.

Room Tip: Ensure you get what you ask for, I asked for double beds and got twin, asked for no smoking and got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, situated right on the beach. Breakfast good, but dinners very poor, with mostly fish dishes. If staying again, we would go b&b, and eat dinner at local restaurants.Waiters in restaurant surly .

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the modern block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatB186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Good points:
1. The hotel is very well located. On the beach and half way between Carihuela Beach Center and Benalmadena Marina.
2. The food (I had Full Board) was very good and various.
3. The hotel is very clean.
4. The prices for food and drinks are acceptable.
5. It has SPA and pool *(a little crowded).
6. The stuff is kind, with little exceptions.


Not good:

1. The furniture in the rooms are a little bit old and uncomfortable.
2. Waiting lines may occur in the last hour of breakfast.
3. The beach is not included, but you can stay there free without beds ans umbrella.
4. The stuff, 80%, do not speak any language than Spanish.
5. Supplementary bed is a nightmare.
6. Not facilities for children, so, I do not recommend this hotel for families with children.

TIPS:
1. Get earlier for breakfast.
2. Occupy a bed in the pool before breakfast.
3. Take only Half Board, because you can eat everywhere for lunch at good prices around 10 euro per person.
4. You can do daily shopping in Mercadona 600 m from the hotel for half of the price of mini ”supermarkets” around.
5. Take a guided trip to Gibraltar, it worth. Price around 30 euros.
6. Visit the City of Ronda, also guided trip, same price.
7. Be aware: a lot of fake product on the street an in some shops.

Room Tip: Ask a room with big balconny. Avoid rooms at the pool or near the service court, it may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed from 11 until 13 June 2012. Room was 116 euro/night for two people. Garage parking was an additional 15 euro per day! Free parking is difficult to find in the area. Hotel adjoins the beach, has a delicious breakfast with lots of variety, WiFi (free) extends to the pool in the rear, nice decor in the hotel, other guests were mature and not raucous. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister_Compliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#45 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#11 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
#31 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Property: SENTIDO Amaragua
Address: Calle Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing