We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORTH THE WALK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Carihuela

La Carihuela
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.33*
and up
Malaga Bike Tour and Tapas departing from Benalmádena by Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood that used to be the fisherman's district.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“WORTH THE WALK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Well worth a visit nice sea front, back streets interesting. Plenty tapas around and good prices too

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rutland-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    765
    134
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford
Level Contributor
322 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nestled between Benalmadena and Torremolinos is La Carihuela. Bars, restaurants and shops are plenty and reasonably priced. The area is a must for those looking for something different. Long narrow streets and typical Spanish homes intermingle with what the area has to offer. The beach is really good and from the beach you can easily walk to either resort mentioned. For the disabled and handicapped the walkway is flat and traffic free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots of cats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had walks along here on a couple of evenings looking for a restaurant (never did find it). As it was November some of the places that are actually on the beach were understandably closed for the evening, but there was still quite a number of other places to eat or drink. On our penultimate day in the area we walked the entire length of the promenade from Puerto Marina in Benalmadena back to our hotel which was just across the road from Playa Bajondillo. There are a few shops selling the usual tourist tat and the odd "artisan" establishment. I would imagine during the summer months it's a magnet for "looky looky men", we saw just one at the Marina end but it was low season.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomoRosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I really enjoyed our evening walking along La Carihuela, plenty of shops to explore (some selling the same old tat) but some individual shops. Plenty of places to eat and drink too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleisha_c93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful promenade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice to take a walk and stop for some tapas and an Sangria or beer. Lots of places to eat and a beautiful view of the ocean.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guyfleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carihuela also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Carihuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing