We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Costa Del Sol!!!”
Review of Hotel Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tropicana
Ranked #50 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the Costa Del Sol!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This was a lovely little hotel but showing its age, the room was roomy, had a balcony to sit on, cosy but small pool area. Right on the beach and boardwalk. restaurants and shopping. The front desk was helpful. Housekeeping wasn't very thorough. Beds are very uncomfortable. There were some grumpy staff handling the breakfast buffett on a couple of the mornings we ate there. Over all it was ok.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    108
    79
    30
    23
See reviews for
49
155
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ellesmere port
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

enjoyed our stay at the tropicana, a nice quite hotel in a good location, nice pool area and close to the beach and bars and restaurants. the only problem we had was on the first night, the air conditioning was not working, we had no sleep the room was stifling, we went to the reception, told them of the problem, we returned late in the afternoon to find it working, nice and cold, from then on our stay was enjoyable, the breakfast was ok could have been better. we enjoyed our stay at the tropicana. on our last day the air conditioning stop working again, we then found from other guests this was the normal procedure of the hotel, they do not switch on the air conditioning till you ask or complain, find this a very strange occurence for a 4 star hotel, wish we had known this on our first night, nobody told us, other than that we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5thtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N.I.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I must have stayed in a different hotel to the one reviewed by some of the previous guests, as this is an excellently run and spotlessly clean hotel. It is one of the older hotels in the area but this is a bonus as it is more aesthetically appealling than the monotone newer buildings, and has been maintained to a high standard the location is near on perfect for exploring Torremolinos and Benalmadena with it being situated nicely in the middle and right on the beach, the only downside was that i was anticipating a downside due to some of the less flattering reviews which are totally unwarranted in some cases, anyone of less mobility will be pleased to know they have nearly installed the lift to enter the front of the building not that this entrance would be of any concern for any able bodied travellers. Have no fears chosing this hotel, it will be on my list of hotels to go back to..its a no brainer !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobbic03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

me and my wife have just returned from a five day break in the tropicana only b&b
the room was very good the staff were very pleasant but the breakfast could only be
described as terrible always cold and poor choice and we went next door to eat after a couple of days the pool area was very untidy but the weather was good

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We stayed in the appartments. It was nothing special but we did have a lot of room. Breakfeast isn't special but you get a buffet with most included.
However the staff in the bar called us something like "hot stuff" in spanish behind our backs when we checked in which wasn'r really flatterin, and we didn't have our room cleaned until the fourth day.
I would say a nice place to sleep but spend your day and evening outside.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazzeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#27 of 71 in Torremolinos
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Barracuda Hotel
La Barracuda Hotel
#39 of 71 in Torremolinos
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#18 of 71 in Torremolinos
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropicana

Property: Hotel Tropicana
Address: Tropico Street, 6, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tropicana 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tropicana Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing