We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more plus points than minus points!”
Review of Hotel Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tropicana
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed September 10, 2011

we stayed in side sea view room and you couldn't fault the room cleaning it was cleaned every day, nice big towels and fresh sheets, plenty of toiletries and good wardrobe space. Glad there was a small fridge you needed it and you definately needed the air con and fan!
Nice view which we paid extra for wouldn't have wanted a lower floor in a standard room. Our balcony was too hot to sit on in the afternoon a brolly would have been good.
Pool area was clean and not too busy, they could do with new loungers they were a bit worn. We took towels but you could hire them from the hotel to save on luggage weight.
we had bed and breakfast and there was plenty of choice if a bit slow in replentishing stocks it was on from 8.30 to 10.30.
We didn't eat in the Mango allthough it looked nice. The beach bar was dissapointing as the staff were quite unfriendly and the prices were amongst the highest on the beach so we didn't use this one which was a shame. All in all glad we picked this place on our second stay in this part of Torremolinos

Room Tip: don't take shampoo, toothpaste, bath sponge and shower gell you don't need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FABFIFTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

I recently visited Hotel Tropicana with friends. We opted for self-catering accommodation because it was cheaper and we suspected that we may have sporadic eating times (we went for the night-life). There were positive and negative aspects to the Hotel although we were pleased with our stay on the whole;

1. On arrival, hotel staff were extremely helpful and answered all of of our questions. This was continued throughout the week when we needed questions answered about the local area.
2. Although our room was definitely not 4*, it was clean and spacious enough for four people. It was basic but catered for all of our needs.
3. The location for the beach is fantastic. For the night-life, you have to walk for 20 or so minutes to Benalmadena. There is a Mercadona just around the corner, which is very cheap and provides all the groceries you could need.
4. The pool is lovely and clean and usually quiet.
5. The taxi sent by the Hotel was a Mercedes, a nice surprise after the cramped flight!
6. Cleaning is only every 3 days, so the floor gets a bit dirty, but a thorough job was carried out.
7. The self catering accommodation is in a different building to the main hotel but is still secure as the front door requires a key.
8. You must visit the pizzeria on the corner of the road joining to the hotel's road. They are made in front of you and are delicious. The best pizza I have ever tasted!

A finishing note; we were expecting 4*, but we were naive. You cannot expect a four star hotel for the little amount of money paid. Bare this in mind and check with the hotel BEFORE you book.

Would recommend for those not looking for anything too fancy (although no idea what the rooms in the actual hotel are like)!

Room Tip: Ask for the olive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Loved the location right on the beach,hotel has own beach with comfortable sunbeds.
Didnt have a sea view room,we had a view off next doors restaurant and fire escape and a small view of the water.Would not put me off going back.
Staff were very helpful.Some parts off the hotel are needing some refurbishment.
Our room was spotless,comfy bed and good sized bathroom.
More uk chanels on tv would be good.
We were b/b and there was plenty choices to suit all tastes.
Pool area is nice and is kept clean again sunbeds supplied.
Would no hesitate to go back to this as everything is on your doorstep and some off the best Chiringuitos are on the prom between marina and Torremilonos.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Hotel was good, food was very good. Don't pay for a view more than likely get one anyways. Ok positives out the way now for the negs. We went breakfast & evening meal, breakfast great but evening meal had to pay for water. Beach had sunbeds with mats but cost 9€ a day ( . 50€ discount) not much of a discount.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Big disappointment. Sought a four star in Torremolinos, found this hotel and booked online. I was trusting the positive comments - big mistake. The hotel has two parts the main part which is a solid three star and then there is the other place which is in the alley behind the hotel, a solid 1.5. No tolitries, room is cleaned once every three days, the toilet didn't work and all I got was sorry it will have to wait until tomorrow. The bed was harder that what I had in basic training and not much bigger. The only positive was I had access to the pool which was nice and gave me somewhere to go to get away from the slum. If you book this place then make sure you are in the main building. The service here is not charateristic of the area, I stayed in another two star and found the location, the quality and the service all superior to the Tropicana.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerrypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Had a wonderful stay here with my Girlfriend, room was lovely, gorgeous view and a brilliant location! Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good! Would reccomend it to anyone looking for a relaxing beach break!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisBrown83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I would like to convey my compliance to the Manager in charge for Tropicana chain for my very bad experience at Toropicna see batch for the period 22-04-2011 till 26-04-2011 , as I booked three double rooms for myself and my relativeunder , following are couples of comments :

1. Hygiene: housekeeping reused the towels which throw on the batch floor once again , and when I did a complain at front office no action was taken until the nest day to change the dirty towels .
2. F&B: very bad manner and action from F&B staff , I did a complain for the very bad taste for the soft drink (Cola with no soda) , I challenge you if you can drink the juice and even no hot water available always for hot drinks!!! , and no replacement for any items run out from the buffet even the chider chess and when I complain about this point the staff answered that sorry because our chef is Skimpy and keen!!
3. Child club: what the mass it is , imagine that only one ice cream for a child whole day and if you need one more you have to got many excuses why you need one more!!
4. Swimming pool: vey dirty with no daily clean – just once at morning.
Do you want to know what the well trained and qualified staff response for the above complain , sorry we have a high capacity those days and we couldn't follow up all the matter!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nono6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
334 reviews
1.6 mi away
smartline Los Jazmines
smartline Los Jazmines
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropicana

Address: Tropico Street, 6, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tropicana 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tropicana Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing