We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very child friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very child friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here with our 14 month old son the first week of Spetember when it was still the summer holidays both in the UK & Spain. It is a very Spanish resort and the English are certainly a minority here (or at least they were the week we went) so I would advise taking a phrase book and be prepared to use it, which of course we should be doing anyway !
The hotel itself is very big and is split into two halves the modern side and the older style family apartments. When we first arrived at the hotel we had to wait in a very long queue to check in, for a hotel of this size one receptionist is not sufficent. We had requested a family room and were pleased to find this had been allocated to us but after a long walk from reception we were dismayed to find a 70's hi de hi nightmare await us. Everything was dated and orange from floor to ceiling, not very relaxing! Im sure that most people wouldn't have a problem with it as it was clean and had a seperate lounge area but as i said before it was very hi de hi. I knew straight away I couldn't stay there so asked to be moved to another room which they were more than happy to do. It was only a standard double in the newer part so not as spacious but it was perfect and we had a gorgeous sea view.

We stayed half board and the food was lovely, lots of choice and the waiters were very friendly with our son as were they with other children, considering the mess he made im suprised they raised a smile at us most of the time ! As the hotel is so big it gets very busy at meal times. Unless you are there at opening time be prepared to queue. There is a nice open area to eat but be warned that smoking is allowed and even if you sit away from everyone else someone will think nothing of sitting next to you and sparking up regardless of you having children. My only complaints about the food is that they don't cook omlettes to order in the morning which im guessing is due to the size of the hotel and you have to get your own coffee from the machine.

The pools are very clean and well maintained. The kids pool is excellent but the sunbeds around it must go at the crack of dawn ! We only ventured to the beach once as it was so hot and the sand was literally burning our feet also worth bearing in mid the sunbeds are about 3E each.

The main reason I choose this hotel was because it is so child friendly and has a baby club starting from 3 months however we only used it once for about 5 mins as it was very chaotic and our son didn't want to stay. It opens most mornings for a few hours and everyone drops off their kids at the same time so its a complete nightmare, added to that there only seemed to be 2 adults in the baby/toddler section to look after 10+ kids. Unless your child is quite independant or a bit older I wouldn't reccommend it as they just don't have enough staff to look after all the children.

Overall in the main holiday season I think this hotel is all about families and I certainly wouldn't of wanted to go here if we didn't have children as there are literally kids everywhere. I heard the entertainment was good but I don't think it started until 10pm and we were usually in bed by then due to our early starts. Im not sure if I would go again as I wasn't very keen on the resort due to the lack of shops and bars but the hotel itself was very, very good and great for a family holiday

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ineedaholiday2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    1,174
    634
    184
    127
See reviews for
1,645
808
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Lovely large reception on arrival. Our room was clean & spacious. We went B&B which had lots of choice & was good value. We didn’t have an evening meal there but looking, looked again lovely & full of choice. Kids entertainment was available & the pool area was lovely & big, with the (optional) sun on constantly. There was a shop across the road to buy water, crisps etc. Not much to do in the area. Alot of bars & restaraunts seemed to have closed so we found oursleves in Benalmadena on most nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realreview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

It was a few years since we went to this hotel and i thought it would just be a hotel. But i was so surprised it was beautiful everything was bang on the food was lovley the staff were really good the room maids were so helpful we had a safe a fridge in our room and the room was spotless. the indoor pool was really nice. my daughter and I cant wait to go back. also the hotel now has a beautiful outdoor dining area under cover were you can enjoy watching the sea come in and out and the sun come up or go down the little boats out fishing and the best part was you could sit and have a drink and a cigarette without having to leave and be shunned . my daughter is a non smoker but even she said how pleasant it was for folks who do smoke. opp is the beach and you have a key for the gate so you can walk right out on the prom. I would give it 101%

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponfret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed for 14 nights at the Sol Principe a beautiful hotel ideally situated practically right on a wonderfull clean beach, great walks along a beautiful promenade loads of shops. Transport links, if you wished to sightsee, could not have been better bus, taxi, or train. This hotel is very large but unlike some big hotels retained a friendly atmosphere the rooms were very comfortable and clean the dining room was large enough to cater for the number of rooms (over 600). The first night going to dinner there was quite a long line waiting but the hotel were quick to sort that out the rest of the holiday they opened the dining room half an hour early to accomodate. Food was very good and with loads of choices with chefs preparing as guests arrived. Plenty of sunbeds (which are free) a great laguna pool area and Flintstone play area and pool for children with very attentative life guards. Entertainment was excellent a different show each night and although we did not have children there was plenty of entertainment for them. Despite all this the hotel still managed to create a calm and restful atmosphere as there were areas for all ages from the very young to the very old. Great holiday and would not hesitate to return to the Sol Principe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matron6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed at this hotel during a scientific conference which was located at the hotel's conference centre. I must admit that I did not find this hotel to be any good.

The elevators where slow and squeaky, the food was generally poor, and the hotel itself was overcrowded with people, which meant that all the public facilities (like even reception) were overcrowded. Moreover, the hotel didn't acknowledge my booking (their "system" requires a print out) and I had to ask my friend to send them a pdf confirming that I have paid for the visit!

As far as the rooms are concerned, the service is okay, and the rooms are cleaned regularly. However, there's no internet access in the rooms and there are only a few tv channels available. As far as the lack internet access is concerned, this makes this hotel totally unsuitable for any conference and I don't understand why it has been chosen by the organizers. The internet is available only in the lobby.

The food was okay, but every time there were plenty of guests in the restaurant, so sometimes it was even hard to find a free place at the table! The hotel itself is enormous and probably a few thousands guests can stay there at every moment.

The location of the hotel couldn't be worse. The hotel advertises itself as being in Malaga, which is totally untrue as it is located in Torremolinos, a very small city located about 20 km of Malaga. Nevertheless, if you have a car, it's very easy to get to the airport or to Malaga city center. You can also try the buses, but it's quite risky and may take a lot of time. The only advantage is the vicinity of the airport, maybe if you want to leave in a hurry.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone planning on a longer stay in Malaga region. Probably, you are able to find a cheaper hotel closer to Malaga, with a better standard. You shouldn't bother about this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d1gital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

The pools are great here, not too deep and lots of them, I never even saw a leaf floating in the water, spotlessly clean, a little mechanical street cleaner was used every evening on the paving and the pools were scrubbed daily. There were plenty of comfortable beds which were locked up until 9.30 so they couldn't be booked at 6 a.m! The food was great, so much choice it was amazing. Sitting out on the covered balcony eating breakfast and looking over the beach and the sea was wonderful. I would definitely return. My 3 year old grandson enjoyed the kids club, but only because two of the helpers were English, all of the children except one were Spanish. The main evening entertainment was only on for an hour between 10 and 11 p.m. So that I found disappointing and listening to everything being said 3 or 4 times in different languages became boring.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammirocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Fantastic hotel - helpful staff, child friendly. Not really my kind of resort but lovely place. Bit noisy though - lots of drunk guests late at night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing