We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Principe by Melia
Nearby Hotels
Sol Don Pablo by Melia(Torremolinos)
$145
$136
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$108
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
$194
$165
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos(Torremolinos)
$103
$98
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Don Pedro by Melia(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
$130
$109
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia(Torremolinos)
$196
$185
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
$133
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Natursun(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
$73
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zen Airport(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
$55
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bajondillo Apartments(Torremolinos)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,748)
Filter reviews
3,748 results
Traveler rating
1,180
1,418
761
230
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,180
1,418
761
230
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolkids clubthe lion kingfamily roomhalf boardmamma miagreat family hotelfamily holidayacross the roadsea viewlarge hotelsmaller poolsomething for everyoneevening entertainmentreception staffdining roommain pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,105 - 1,110 of 3,748 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014

loved are holiday. Kids club was great. the evening entertainment was great for all the family. the people doing the kids club and entertainment were brill, really funny and went the extra mile to keep kids entertained. food was good. very clean. only down fall hard to get a bed round pool. but would deff go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Matthew James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Pros: great staff, great entertainment and facilities, good choice of food. Brilliant pools, great for kids.

Cons: €3 for bungee trampoline jump and €6 for crazy golf. No wifi. Staff inflated a bouncy castle and charged kids €3 each a go. All this should be free as you are paying enough to stay there. Puts parents under pressure. Ridiculous asking people to buy a balloon for the 'less fortunate kids'

Would have been 4 star but the money grabbing let it down. I'd suggest you offer free wifi and free facilities to kids.

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank lukesmom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear lukesmom79,
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed so many facilities and services we have for our guests, for big ones and for small ones.
Surely, we have taken notes of your suggestions, we will take into consideration all yours observations and remarks. Thank you very much for your review one more time, because reviews, like yours, helps us to improve our work, it is really one of our most important goals.
Best regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here at the begining of June 2014 and the hotel was lovely! We had a sea front view from our balcony which also overlooked the stunning pool. The room had lots of wardrobe space, a telly and a fridge. We didn't eat at the hotel, but there were some really nice places around that were very cheap, 2.50Eu at some places for our lunch. Took 2 minutes to get to the beach through the front gate, location was great.

Cost about 15Euro from the airport in a taxi.
Tip: Take your own hairdryer if you have long hair, the one in the room isn't great.
A trip to the marina is a must!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Lyndsay F,

Thank you so much for posting a review on the site for us and for the future guests and I am so delighted that you found our hotel and especially lovely and comfortable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sol Principe Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The only thing was no inflatables allowed in the pool. Arm bands were the only thing allowed. There is a smaller deeper pool round the back of the hotel and there was a sign that said no inflatables there. This was a silly idea because we thought it meant no inflatables in that pool. My daughter was disappointed after purchasing an inflatable dolphin and donut. Whenever someone brought a ball into the pool the lifeguard was over in seconds to tell them they were not allowed. After arriving in our family room with pool view we saw ants crawling from under one of the sofa beds. After moving the sofa bed we found an old mouldy banana covered in ants. I phoned reception and the house keeper and maid were there in minutes. When my daughter went down the inflatable water slide the water was quite deep and when she was trying to get out of the water the lifeguard was watching her yet didn't help her. Apart from this the hotel is good with great children's facilities. We would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Family rooms with pool view are in the old block so if booking again we would go for a room in the main hotel building.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Cathy2764,

Hello, I am Guest Experience Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. On behalf of staff and myself, we appreciate the time you took to share with us your review.

I am glad to read that all in all you had a nice stay and want to come back in the future.

About no inflatables allowed is just for safety reasons. Customers safety is one of our more important commitments. I am so sorry for the issue you had it in your room, We have take all necessary measures to prevent it on the future.

We look forward to hosting you again and from our part we will do everything possible you hve a pleasant stay!

Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place is brilliant, €20 from Malaga airport in a taxi we were there in little over 15 minutes. I would advise this because if you arrive by a bus you may be in for a long wait at the check in desk. Rooms are small though, if you are a family of 3 the last bed leaves little room for manoeuvre so the next time we would look for a studio. We were all inclusive and weren't disappointed in the least. Breakfast window times are ample from 8am to 11am, a huge variety of food from freshly made omelettes to English sausages and Spanish bacon to cereal, yoghurts and fruit, absolutely spot on, but got very busy the later it got as people were trying to make it more of a lunch. The lunch was then from 1pm to 3 pm and again fabulous, no expense spared, waiter service for wine and drinks and a huge selection of fish, chicken and salad stuff. Evening meal was again excellent served from 8 to 10, the quality excellent some delicious salmon and steak cooked to perfection. All meals slightly changed each day to avoid more of the same. My only suggestion to the management is the waiters seem very hassled and rushed so it can sometime appear that they are un interested but this is minor. The snacks in between all this food are again very good, soups, hot dogs and burgers and all the drinks you would want. The pool bar is another well stocked bar and great to pop to to keep the kids hydrated or get some shade in the hot sun. The 2 kids pools are great for toddlers and non swimmers and 2 other pools nearby have games on during the day, everything from water spinning to dancing to Zumba to water polo. The pool nearer the beach is deeper and the mood is much more relaxed, more for the older family, this also has a bar and served with snacks. The hotel backs out onto the beach so if you want a day down there it's no problem to back to the hotel for drinks as long as you keep them in the hotel. The entertainment is 2 fold, there's entertainment for the kids at one side of the hotel and for the older families there is also a singer or older acts in another side of the hotel. In the whole this is a very well organised hotel and very good for families, we will definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Andrew S,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your visit with us last month and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and thought that our hotel is very good, especially for families.
I am also delighted to read that you found our facilities and services good and varied and enjoyed it much. The comments concerning a poor staff attitude from some of our restaurant team are certainly not the standards we normally achieve (as you will see from many other reviews). It is particularly dissapointing that we have not provided our normal standard of service to you.
.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we may assist with your correct and adequate room choice for your family or answer your questions.
Warm regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews