We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY FAMILY HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

this june14 we enjoyed a lovely family (2+4) holiday in the sol principle hotel. we had an apartment beside the pool and we booked including breakfast.(ideal for families as something for all to eat and overall not expensive) The hotel had all amenities necessary, the seafront is just outside the front door and the pools are brilliantly run. The nightly entertainment is worth watching as it keeps both adults and children entertained. only fault found was had to hire a kettle for our ten days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Triona Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Triona Ann K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The team and I are very proud and delighted to see that you enjoyed your family holiday.

We take into account your comments, to study them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great week in the sun

In a great accessible spot, a Clean hotel, lovely friendly staff and tasty food.

Made myself and my husband feel very welcome at all times

The entertainment on an evening was of a good standard and had the choice of pools and beach during the day

We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaRWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear BaRWhite,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us. The team and I are obviously extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a great holiday, our room was a little old, but was spotlessly clean.
You could stay in the newer block, but this does not overlook the pool and entertainment area. We only had one problem and that was our 12year old Son.No, he wasn't the problem! We paid full price for him, however when he wanted to join in the daytime activities, he was at first allowed, and then told by a GUEST that this was "a senior activity." I asked the team leader and he said Adam should play with the small kids really! They were walking round the pool with balloons singing! No, I paid for an adult and this must be changed. If you pay for an adult the child must be counted as an adult. The activities guy said, as Adam had played for 3 days(when numbers were short) he should be allowed to play now. However, it was embarrassing for a shy young man, and I hope this does not happen again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank CasHollandonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear CasHollandonsea,

Thank you very much to share with us your experience in our hotel, and for enjoying your holidays with us.
We take note about all your comments, observations and suggestions; we will take into account to improve our service.

I encourage you to come next year so you can appreciate all the improvements for yourself.

Sincerely

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday here with out 2 year old! So much to do and the staff were so friendly. Room was small but spotless and all we needed was there. No complaints - will be going back again soon xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Hello Theresa1Dublin,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We appreciate your lovely comments about our friendly staff. Your words are so kind and having shared them with my colleagues I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great boost. They all join me in thanking you for sharing your appreciation with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again here at Sol Príncipe

Sincerely

Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The pool area & food were great. Very accessible to the beach, friendly staff and not far from the airport. We will be back. The entertain was also very good and had a different show every night. Great place for families!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Rachel Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Rachel Caroline P,

I was thrilled to read your comments following your recent stay with us at Sol Principe Hotel. I was delighted that you liked the hotel, the service, facilities of our hotel and enjoyed such special event for you with us. It's very encouraging for us to know that you selected and trusted to our hotel such a special occasion, like your Honeymoon.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My kindest regards,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a absolute ball amazing holiday if you have kids . And got a great price for the week . We will return to this hotel again. Can not fault the hotel in any way , so clean went HB and the food was great specially with young children .


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Karen C,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was glad that we met your expectations and found the service and hotel facilities to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one week from 10th June 2014. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Its a very big hotel and I think its run very well for the amount of guests it caters for. We stayed in the new rooms and i'm so glad we did. Nice decent size and a lovely bathroom and balcony. If you look at the rooms around the pool the balconys are very small. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but what food we had was very good. Everything you could think of for breakfast was there. Like I said for the amount of people that were there it was run very well, you didnt have to wait if any for the food to be replenished and the tables were cleared immediately after you had finished. The restaurant was very big it even spilled out onto an outside terrace. It was lovely. The staff were very pleasant and didnt come across anyone rude like some reviews had left.

The pools were fantastic and gorgeous. Life guards constantly walking around the pools making sure everyone was ok. In the mornings you could do water aerobics if you wanted and they also did pool games in the afteroon. At night the pools were all lit up and changed colour, gorgeous! The sunbeds were a problem, there was a lot to go around but as usual people came down early to get a good spot under the parasols. The hotel does try and stop it but I suppose is very hard to control. It does get very busy around the pools at weekends, think its the locals that come down so its a bit hectic but then goes back to normal.

We definitely would stay there again which we are hoping to do again next year and fingers crossed we get one of the new rooms again and the same level of service we had this year,

The hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk to torremolinos which is a fantastic place. Loads of bars, shops and restaurants. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and think it helped with staying in a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview so you will be in the new rooms which are a lot better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanCarlos_SP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Rachel D,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review following your recent stay with us at Sol Principe Hotel, Torremolinos. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation time with us. I was delighted that we met your expectations and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With renewed thanks,
Juan Carlos Lloret. Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $75 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing