We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel was great until we spent our first night at the bar, drink prices did not encourage us to stay out of an evening they were expensive , I know profit is needed but please this was ridiculous 8.90 for a vodka and tonic, so off to bed we went, then to waken up by music that started at 10.45 at the outside pool venue, at least we Could have been given rooms away from the pool area knowing there was going o be a function on late at night , we have I'd the same money . Annoyed is not the word, I have rung the evening reception who was very rude . I wait to speak to management ?

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank helenbevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear helenbevan,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and for having your holidays in our hotel. I apologize if your experience in Sol Príncipe wasn’t satisfactory.

As we said when we had the opportunity to talk with you, we are so sorry, We take note about your comments, for us, it is so important to improve our service.

I would like to apologize again and I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. Room only basis. We had intended staying in an apartment but there had been a problem with it on our arrival so we had to get accommodation last minute. The rooms were basic but clean snd comfortable. The lobby and bar area were attractive and well maintained. The clientele were older as it was out of season but some entertainment was provided and the il divo tribute band were very enjoyable. We had dinner in the hotel one night It was a buffet and very mediocre. The barman in the evening was efficient and pleasant and the male receptionist who checked us in on the evening of 31st march was very helpful and friendly. All in all we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audreyf261063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hello Audreyf261063,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and for having your holidays in our hotel. I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and you liked our staff, cleaning, and facilities.

We have, of course, noted your opinion about our dinner service , as it assists me in improving the service we provide.
Looking forward to see you again at Sol Príncipe.
Kind regards.
José Fermín Gómez, General Manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

went to this hotel end of march the staff were friendly and helpful , the rooms were lovely and clean and bedding changed daily , indoor swimming pool which was warm , food was good and fresh , overall we really enjoyed this hotel . if you go to benelmadina on the prom go to the wigan bar were they serve really good english food .

Room Tip: pick a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear tony c,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review and to let other people to know how lovely and friendly is our hotel!
We expect to see you again very soon.
With my best regards,

Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Principe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fully wheelchair accessible with easy access to the promenade and beach.
It was very quite in respect of holiday makers (it is off season) but got really busy and noisy at the weekend due to hotel events. The 3 lifts are very small but could accommodate manual wheelchair and 1 other adult - problem was the wait for an empty lift when busy though some people were helpful and got out to walk down 1 floor to allow wheeled one in!!!
Food was OK but often not hot enough - something really needs to be done about keeping prepped food hot. The microwave was very handy in this regard. The food grilled by chef at mealtimes was hot enough but soaked in oil and when busier, pressure meant it was just cooked quite sufficiently.
Drinks were often premium brands and bar service was good.
Staff were efficient rather than friendly. The entertainment team did a good job even through the quiet spells. Outdoor pools and bar areas etc were "closed" but the grounds are extensive.
WiFi comes at a price and thses days a few zone should've provided in the lobby at least.

Room Tip: Something away from the main entrance but if you need wheelchair access you will be limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mary M,

Firstly, I thank you for your opinion about your stay in our hotel and thank you for enjoy your holidays at Sol Príncipe.

I read carefully your comments and I took notes about your review. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest’s experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest’s satisfactory.

We are always delighted to help you feel great on your vacation in our hotel and I hope to see you again soon.

You are always welcomed in our hotel Sol Principe.

Kind regards.

Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Principe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellent hotel with friendly staff. Very close to beach and facilities. Clean room and bathroom with all amenities you need. Nice atmosphere! Also close to trainstation La Colina with easy access to Malaga Airport. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Maarten Holland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hello Maarten Holland V,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Sol Príncipe, I would like to thank you for having chosen Sol Príncipe for you stay at Costa del Sol.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

José Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just returned from 9 nights at the hotel and will definately be returning. Unlike a few of the previous reviewers my husband and I have only good reports about the staff, the rooms, the food and the overall service. Our check in was effecient and without any problems. We requested a sea view room and this is what we got...on the 10th floor but we didnt care as there were 3 very accessable lifts. The room was typical hotel accommodation but was immaculately clean... towels replaced everyday and bed linen changed every few days.

The dining room was vast and we never experienced any queues or delays in getting staff attention. They were always very courteous and helpful...I honestly think people respond to the
way you treat them! The food was varied and abundant and you must be very hard to please if you
can't find something to your taste. We were on an all inclusive basis and if we had wanted, food and drink were on tap. Also if you did not want the AI drinks, there was a 50% discount on premium
brands.

The shows were entertaining, especially the Flamenco and Magic shows. During our stay there were 25 golfers from Ireland who kept us entertained after the shows with a sing song! All good craic! However most residents seemed to retire to bed before 11.00pm and I can understand if some reviewers found the hotel a bit quiet. I can honestly say the larger groups of young people never caused us any problems. I imagine though that during the high season, things could be different but that is why we choose to go in March and September.

We have stayed in the Grego Mar (a nightmare) , the Don Pablo, Don Marco, Don Paquito but the Principe Sol is by far the best hotel to date and we look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YvonneNorthenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear YvonneNorthenIreland,

We appreciate your comments, and we will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. It is our greatest satisfaction to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and this is our motivation for working every day.

We would be delighted to welcome you again to our hotel.

With best wishes.

José Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I have just enjoyed a really lovely week in Principe Sol.. OK The weather was very kind to us , and this helped. I recommend the hotel because it is ideal for older couples
It has a lovely garden area round a pool with a gate to the long flat walkway by the sea, it also has a separate area very suitable for families.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times and two charming young men, Michael and Abel provided a good range of entertainment during the day and in the evening. I now know how to make Paella, Sangria and Mohitia cocktail. I noticed they also mixed with older people and chatted.
I have had more exotic food but the range of food in this hotel was very well cooked and very enjoyable' The dining room staff were very efficient and helpful as were the bar staff and Reception staff. Thanks to Reception for facilitating me in getting an email from Ireland
Only problem was no free wifi anywhere in hotel. I decided to use the pay as you go computers a couple of times and they were most frustrating as each time I tried to send an email I had to reload chrome app.
Thank you to all staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view. It costs more but is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dublinwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear dublinwinnie,

Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. We were absolutely delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team and specillay with Abel and Michel, they are happy that they contributed to this great experience.
We take note about your comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service and make your stay even more comfortable!

Warm regards,

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $75 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing