We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an all round good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

was out in malaga last wk for 5 days , great hotel , good food , clean , what more can you ask for ? there was lots going on at night and the hotel was quite full , and good weather , sun every day , it did get a bit cold around 7 at night but not to bad

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tws137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear tws137,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the hotel, and I am so glad that you like our location.

We look forward to see you again at Sol Príncipe.

Best regards.

José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived on the 5th of January 2014 we had a great sea view room and we were all inclusive the food was great and plenty of choice of drinks and snacks. The only down side was having to pay for the safe and Wifi as you had to pay per device.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
4  Thank TeresaTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello Teresa Tommy,

My name is José Fermín Gómez, I am the General manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel. First of all I would like to thank you very much for you review, and for enjoy your holidays in our hotel complex Sol Principe.

We take note about your tips.

Thank you for your review again. I would like to see you soon in Sol Principe

Sincerely José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our fifth visit which we thoroughly enjoyed. Food and accommodation very good, beds particularly comfortable. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant, especially Francis and Sebastian. Our only gripe is that we found the price of alcohol very expensive and because of this we only used the bar during the 'happy hour'. We are already planning to revisit next March when the weather may be slightly warmer.

Room Tip: In future we would request a room on the west side of the hotel to maximize the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear vpg75,

Thank you for your review and for having your holidays at Sol Príncipe for so long , we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love your comments about our food, accommodation and staff.

We take note about your comments, to study them.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon at our hotel.

With best wishes,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got home from this hotel today, we were due to stay until Friday which is another 5 days but we paid £250 for new flight tickets to get home so we didn't have to stay any longer even though we have paid for half board and return tickets with another airline which didn't have any flights till Friday.
Firstly, check in took 2 hours because the room wasn't ready which was fine because we arrived early and needed a double room due to our 18 month old sleeping with us in bed - eventually we got the double room but the bed was more like a small double bed and wasn't going to be big enough to have me and my husband and our baby in so we opted for the twin room and put the beds together which always move apart so was a nightmare for baby trying to sleep in the middle.
Secondly, the rooms are very humid so we called reception to put the air condition on but they said it doesn't get turned on in winter even though it's very very warm in the rooms so we had to keep the balcony doors open most of the time to avoid our little one from getting too hot but this caused some horrific bites all over us and they are huge! My skin is rock hard around the bites and the holes from the bites are big so I don't know what it was that bit us.
Thirdly, the majority of guests at this hotel are over 60 and therefore don't entertain anybody of a younger age which was rather boring due to not a lot been open in the surrounding areas but I can't blame that on the hotel if that's their target market although it is like you're an alien when going for dinner as a young family.
Fourthly, we asked for a kettle to heat up baby bottles but was told you need to hire them for 10€ for 3 days, we got a safe for 23€ to put our belongings in which is a lot of money to spend just to use a safe! We also paid 20€ for the wifi as we wanted to access our emails etc from our phones and iPad but there was restrictions on using the wifi - only 1 device at a time and a maximum of 2 devices all together so was never able to access with the iPad. If we had of known about the restrictions we wouldn't of bought it. It seems you have to pay for everything which are normally provided in 4 star hotels we have visited before.
Fifthly, we were surprised they don't provide any sort of room service at all as a 4 star hotel and although other guests said it was very clean the floor is extremely dusty - you cannot really walk without shoes as you will find your feet to be very dirty as it's all tiled which is another issue if you are thinking of taking a little one; they will slip and fall on very hard tiled floors!

The food wasn't to our taste but everybody is different and like foods that others may not so cannot say whether anybody else will enjoy the food selections. Because of this we were travelling into the central of Terromolinos to eat which became very expensive and this contributed to our decision to go home early.
As previously stated the only English channels are the news channels were a bit depressing to watch all the time.
There is a small supermarket opposite the hotel which was handy to buy milk for little one and some snacks.
I'm so glad to be home again, I never thought I would have to leave a holiday 3 days after arriving and buying another set of flight tickets to get home!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haz3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello Haz3000

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us.

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing stay with us. I read carefully your comments; I take note of them, to prevent it in the near future.

I would like to tell you that in high season our hotel is specially cater for families with fantastic pools, entertainment from nine months old and amazings shows for kids and families.

I would like to apologize again and I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely
José Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Hotel Sol Principe is an old but glorious hotel. with over 700 rooms, amazing swimming pools, excellent food and fantastic Location. It was my wife's birthday that we went to celebrate that weekend. The morning buffet breakfast is awesome with a massive number of choices including a bubly (or was it champange). The swimming pools are really inviting and the over all ambience of the reception and the area around the hotel makes you feel it can be more than a 4star. The evening entertainments was good and the people are generally friendly.We feel it was truly value for money because we did the all inclusive booking on icelolly.com. The surrounding area is busy and a few basic shops (super market) help you provide for the things you could not bring along in your suitcase.
A few greviances, I was shocked to be told there was no room service, when I wanted to order some team for my wife. The Lunch Buffet is a bit over priced at 18 Euros. The dining waiters could smile a little more ( they all looked like bouncers, rather than waiters). The lifts seemed to be extremely slow to arrive.
But having said the above I wont take away the fact that it is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. The rooms are really very clean and spacious. Edurado at the reception was a wonderful man to help us with our million questions. If you want to have the Sand, Sun and Fun then Sol Principe is the right place to be.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view so do not pay extra on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunillobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello sunillobo79,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day. We take note about your tips.

We hope to see you again soon at Sol Príncipe.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for a one night break in January.
Check in was smooth at about 13.00 hours.
Room with a sea view in the main building.
Room smallish but solo traveller so not an issue.
Comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.
Evening meal food was hot and plentiful.
Breakfast okay
10 minute stroll from La Colina train station which is approx 10 minutes from Airport

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KratieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello KratieUk,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon at Sol Príncipe

Kindest regards.

Sincerely José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just back from a weekend Bed and Breakfast in the Sol Principe in Torremolinos. On paper a well equipped and well positioned hotel. Nothing is thrown in though and in the off season nothing works. Wifi is €5 per day or €20 for a week. Safe in the room you have to pay for. The hotel is full of retired multinational all inclusive guests who get up early and then sit around playing whist between meals totally taking over the one open bar area. The food is awful. A brilliant selection for breakfast: fruit, cold cuts, sweet breads all good, but cold scrambled eggs, cold bland sausages, fatty bacon, sweaty mushrooms, baked tomatoes swimming in oil, black pudding cooked with the plastic wrapper still on, and steamed broccoli (?) On one evening we couldn't be bothered trying to find somewhere local to eat - as most of Torremolinos is shut in the winter - so we paid €18.50 per head for dinner plus €6.50 for a half bottle of wine. For what? The food was bland, tepid, boring and generally unappetising. I've had better food in a 2* all inclusive. If your tastebuds have given up on you this might be okay. Mine have not. I dread to think what this place is like full of families - the dining room has a tiled floor and seating for thousands: it must be a cacophany. Anyway, more about the hotel. There's a games room in the hotel with a dartboad at the wrong height, no ockey mat, and two darts. There's a pool table too. There's one bar, which is constantly full of old folks. They have a happy hour with 2 for 1 between 1730 and 1830, probably to get folk sloshed before the rubbish evening meal. There are a number of pools. Swimming was forbidden so they must be there for the look of them. There are video games, all out of order. The bedroom is okay. The bed (beds! we asked for a double, we got a twin) wasn't too uncomfortable, but I knocked my head/hands on the bedside lamps more times than I like. There is one power point available next to the bed with a drawing of something with a red line through it. Couldn't work out what exactly was forbidden. Plenty of hanging space and about 20 hangers. There's a small fridge which is good, and there's several English language channels on the small TV. Decor very dated. Door on to balcony draughty and noise of wind and rain magnified by the balcony railing. The bathroom is large and everything worked, cleanliness good, the shower was good. A design feature of the building is that the toilet bowl is set against a kink in the wall so that when sitting on the toilet you knock your knee into the angle of the wall. This occurs in every room according to the fire escape plan. Couldn't work out how to get the extractor fan to work. There are other hotels nearby where facilities work in winter and services are thrown in. Also scale of catering makes the food retain the personal touch. I would not recommend this hotel, it does nothing well.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twogandts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello twogandst,

Thank you for sending us your opinions, feedback and complaints regarding your stay with us. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and we would like you to know that we will bear very closely in mind your opinions in order to improve our service.

I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely
José Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $75 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing