We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

First impression, nice hotel. Reception checkin slow and very unwelcoming, the tall gentleman never made eye contact once .the dining room is like a work canteen it is so noisy, people are wandering all over the place could do with more than one hot counter. But the food is good. The all inclusive is a waste of money as its not all inclusive at all, very limited choice of drinks you can order others but at a price. A very large mix of nationalities in this hotel, so as nice as the hotel was I would not go back there. The entertainment is not that great either is only on about an hour. You are also don't get the full amount back from the money it costs for a safe key.

Room Tip: Ask for large pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hello Denise H,

My name is José Fermín Gómez. I am the general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel. Thank you to write such a review about your experience in Sol Príncipe.

We take note about the items regarding our facilities and service and will study every one of your comments in order to check them. We will learn over them.

The comments concerning a poor staff attitude from some of our recepction team are certainly not the standards we normally achieve (as you will see from many other reviews). It is particularly dissapointing that we have not provided our normal standard of service to you.
I do not want to lose hope to have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again, and we will keep working hard in all aspects for our guest’s satisfactory and really enjoying Sol Principe hotel and vacation. Because our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests, and reach your expectations about an enjoyable and unforgettable holiday.

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 3,532 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Read a couple of mixed revues so here is mine. The hotel is very clean everywhere you look including the toilets in the pool areas, rooms are cleaned with new towels every day, we had no problems with sunbeds. Proper large glass of beer at the bar, all inclusive guests can serve themselves with drinks during the day at the pool snack bar. You will be lucky to get your room key before 2 in the afternoon but this is clearly posted in reception,you don't have to vacate it until 12 so this is understandable, the tour operators should let people know this, we had no issue with this but some people did. Food was OK could have been a bit hotter but always plenty to choose from we had breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant and lunch from the snack bar at the pool which was pretty decent, burgers, salad, pizza etc all. freshly cooked. Entertainment not to my taste but that's just me, a lot of people thought it was great, some obviously coming in from other hotels just for this. Animation team looked to be very good with kids there is also a Flintstones themed play area You would have to pay a lot more to get a better hotel than this one and we would definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonjo0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello jonjo0789,

Thank you very much for giving us your opinion and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays.

It is a pleasure for us to read such a good review about your experience at the hotel! Opinions such as yours help us to carry on working every day with enthusiasm and illusion.

We hope to see you again in the hotel next year

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently had a holiday in this hotel, having been there ten years ago. We were delighted to find it well kept and refurbished. But the check in was horrendous. "Mañana " . We got to the hotel at noon and had to join a huge queue to check in, as two plane loads had arrived at the hotel simultaneously. Tired and hot we queued for two long hours to check in, and got to the receptionist at 2pm. Although that was the time the notice said rooms were available from, our room like many others wasn't ready. We went for lunch, then went back to reception, still not ready. At three pm, we finally got our room, three hours after reaching the hotel. However, everything was excellent after that. Good food, plenty choice, and reasonable nightly entertainment. Excellent wheelchair access, and very pleasant staff. Particularly liked the fact there was a quiet "adult"pool and loungers at the front of the hotel, and several children's pools and facilities at the rear.

Room Tip: Not necessary, as the hotel was quiet after about midnight .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Margaret L,

Thank you very much for your words, regarding your stay at Sol Príncipe. It is nice to know that you found the changes at the hotel, and you liked them. We are so glad that you enjoyed your “all inclusive holidays” at the hotel.

Sorry if your room wasn´t ready at check in time, we are working to improve our service in this aspect.

We look forward to see you again in the hotel soon.

Best regards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well done sol principe for an excellent holiday. I agree with some reviews it is a huge hotel but use cope well. Hotel spotless even tho there is thousands of people. Food excellent 1off the best I've been to great selection always hot. Entertainment great for kids all day. Swimming pool great size. Beach with trampolines rite on the doorstep. Kids amusements with plenty in it 10mins walk. Hotel is a bit expensive 4.10 a pint would defiantly return but all inclusive worth Pay in the extra. As not a lot of pubs round about quite quiet and not cheap. Thanks grandson loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear denise f,

Thank you very much for your words and for sharing them on Trip Advisor. Is very motivating to know that our guests enjoy their holidays between us!
We look forward to see you back soon.

Kind rewards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

First thing you notice is the size of the hotel when u drive up to it - huge! On entering the reception, you are met with a modern very cool area cos of the air conditioning, which was a relief as it was very hot outside. One negative- took 30 mins to check in as queue very long. Room was really nice, spacious and glad we were in the newer building. We were overlooking the Flintstones play area, pool view and sea view. Avoid the big pool if you want peace and quiet, there is a lovely pool at the beach side. The beach itself is lovely with lots of restaurants located on the front. Hotel food was really good, plenty of choice and the fresh fruit every day was gorgeous. Take a walk into Benalmadena along the sea front and go to Chinese buffet at the marina-Wok Directo- fab food. Supermarkets close at hand for juice, snacks etc if self catering as found drinks in hotel expensive if not AI. Would def go back to this hotel, although maybe when it was less busy.

Room Tip: Definitely in new blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Ib777,

I am José Fermín Gómez; I am the general manager of Sol Príncipe. Thank you very much to share with us your experience in our hotel, and for enjoying your holidays with us.
We take note about all your comments, observations and suggestions; we will take into account to improve our service.

I encourage you to come next year so you can appreciate all the improvements for yourself.

Kind rewards

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have just returned from a one week holiday with my husband and son. this is an extremely busy place . we went half board food was reasonably good but was ruined as the downside being, it was a HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE going down for a meal as the place was packed all the time. It got to the stage were I was begging my husband to go out and pay for a meal else were so we wouldn't have to endure this stress. Check in was very slow up to an hour and a half wait. I felt this was totally unacceptable after a very early morning flight with a young child. There was only two girls on in reception and the queue was very long with weary passengers. The entertainment in the evening was good for adults but not geared towards children. I know we were on hols but this is a very spanish orientated complex and not much effort was made by the entertainment team to speak in English at all. They certainly look after their own here. I wont be returning here and delighted to be home , it was like spending a week in grand central station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello Jessica W,

First of all, I want to thank you for your comments regarding your latest stay at Sol Príncipe Hotel.

I regret if you didn´t enjoy your holidays with us. We take note of your comments; we will take into account to improve our service.

Regarding your opinion I would like to tell you, that from this year you can choose between two differents buffet restaurants, one of them Restaurant Caribe ,beside the lagoon style pool , have the same variety and choice but in a relaxing ambient.

As well we have 5 differents pools and two areas to enjoy, one with entertainment and the other one more relaxed.

Thank you very much, for your comments.

Yours sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Sol Principle for 6 nights at the beginning of August and would recommend it to anyone provided you get a room in the main blocks of the hotel. We asked to be moved from the room we booked.
The food was excellent and there was something different everynight. Spent most of our day in the pool as my 4 year old daughter loved the kids pool. Would definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Alan F,

Thank you very much for giving us your lovely review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your family holidays. I am very glad that you enjoyed all our services and facilities in different departments and even recommend our hotel to other future guests.
I and all our hotel staff hope to see you again having another fantastic holiday with us very soon.

Sincerely
José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,047 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $76 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing