We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families not really for couples who want to relax !”
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for families not really for couples who want to relax !”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is lovely, check in was easy but there was a lack of friendliness and helpless.we just got a key and she pointed in the direction of the lift. no information about meal times etc...
As we didn't take children we were looking forward to abit of peace however we were woken by children playing and shouting in the corridors early every morning which was loud and echoed.It might be an idea to put couples and families in separate parts of the hotel. I was looking forward to the adults only pool but that was full of kids most of the time too which i thought was unfair when there are amazing facilities for children in the family areas. Drinks expensive but we were out most of the time so wasn't a problem. location is excellent for the beach and bus stop to travel to the centre,Benalmadena,Marbella and Mijas all worth a visit. all in all had a lovely time but will go to an adults only hotel next time we holiday without ours.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear dnoodle1
First of all, I want to thank you have written an opinion about your vacation.

Indeed our hotel is ideal for family holidays.
Besides our famous lagoon pool for all ages we have very nice children's pool. Besides miniclub for kids, our extensive entertainment program also has a lot of parts for children. So it fits ideal for a family holiday and in summertime, when all the children has vacation, comes many guests with children. It is true.
It is unfortunate that the hotel is not what you wanted and expected.
But for your information in low season not arrives so many guests with children. Maybe if you want to come in another season you will choose our hotel for your holidays on the Costa del Sol.
Thank you for your review again.

We are always happy to see you in our hotel.
Sincerely
José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Principe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    1,251
    680
    196
    132
See reviews for
1,773
872
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

just returned from a week ,excellent location 15 mins transfer from airport, central location and sea front too,with most rooms having seaview, average size room, with fridge, good aircon,tv,bath&shower and 2 keys which I always find an advantage.Excellent pool areas with loads of sunbeds that are continually stacked back up when being vacated ,did think the idea of getting a "don't reserve beds with towel when not being used" note stuck on bed is an EXCELLENT idea that should be adopted by more hotels nothing more annoying than wanting to spend a day pool side and no available beds cos others at the beach have them saved, top marks for that one, an adult only pool on front is a plus for those with no kids ,on the down side pool is out of bounds till 11 am which I found a bit late in the late June temperatures and bar doesn't open till that time either not even for water or soft drinks so if you have breakfast at 8 expect to go to vending machines as I was informed till 11 even for water which as A.Inc and not cheap I thought was not acceptable. Every where is kept lovely and clean and room service every day , no problems checking in although did see queues quite often ,There is a definite lack of staffs at the bars with long queues at times some of the staff lack personality too ,we were told to join the back of the queue for a bag of crisps because we had the " only 2 drinks at a time" rule needless to say my husband stood his ground and we got the bag of crisps but it isn't what you want to be doing on holiday same in restaurant as tables were often left uncleared when others were looking for a seats ,drinks are served at your table when you can catch the waiters attention so actually getting a drink with your meal was sometimes difficult ,breakfast was spot on ,something for everyone and the only meal where you can help yourself to drinks tea/coffee and fruit juices after breakfast they are locked off. Lunch time and evening meal food was the same each meal and everyday, tasted fine but not of the best quality and very very repetitive ,main variation was nice roast beef dinner on Sunday, snack bar offers chips pizza burgers,nuggets crisps everyday too.Entertainment team put their all into it with variations on all nights good choreography team ,and the kids (and adults) loved the life size flintstones didn't have kids with us but the kids there did seem to be well entertained, Hotel management need to loose the strict ,regimental atmosphere ,visitors are on holiday and want to be made to feel welcomed and relaxed.fab hotel building that has the potential for an excellent holiday with just a few adjustments .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trace627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear trace627

First of all I want to thank you for have chosen our hotel for your stay, trusting us your holiday.
We read and studied thoroughly your feedback, which indicates that due to some aspects you were not able to relax and enjoy your stay at the hotel completely.
Actually our hotel is very big and has extensive territory, our famous incredible lagoon pool, the children pool, the down side pool, the extensive animation program for adults and children and of course the room has everything for recreation: a shower and bath, television, air conditioning, terrace, beautiful views… nice hotel location, the proximity to the airport, to the center of Torremolinos and Malaga, and it is located right on the beach front.
We have everything for a relaxing and pleasant time spending.And; of course, all our staff is always trying very hard to make our guests were satisfied.
I am very sorry that you are so disappointed with our meals in the restaurant and service in the coffee place.
Naturally we take into account all your dissatisfaction; we take into consideration all the details you describe in your detailed feedback.
We work hard to get better the quality and dish choices in the restaurant every day and be assured that we will think over the morning timetable of hotel coffee place.
All your comments and suggestion are taken into account and accepted, and we will try to improve all these aspects as best as possible for your next visit.
We hope to justify your confidence and see you at our hotel next time
Sincerely
José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Principe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently back from our third visit in 4 years and the only reason for this review is that I always try to give an honest opinion. I think the food is outstanding at both Breakfast and Dinner and the other guests must agree judging by the amounts they sneak into their bags in the mornings to provide a free lunch. All nationalities are guilty, not just us English by the way. The rooms are clean and spacious with modern bathrooms and roomy balconies. Our room had a fridge (handy for cold drinks ) and a great view overlooking the pretty grounds and pool of the apartments next door and the paseo maritimo towards Belamadena. I have no complaints to make and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor providing great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wickosLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello wickosLeicestershire,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Sol Príncipe, I would like to thank you for having chosen Sol Príncipe for so long.

It has been a great pleasure for us to host guests like you. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it again.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week all inc. Like other reviews have said good points and a few bad.
Food was lovely, breakfast def the best. Maybe two weeks might become repetitive.

A busy hotel and if I didn't have kids would not stop here , but kids love it and they are entertained.
There is peace and quiet at the front pool as kids are allowed in the pool but with adult supervision.
Nice beach and a lovely promanard.

Lots of different nationalities which is nice.
Overall we had a great week in a nice room,, we did get an upgrade thanks to a fantastic manager a lovely man who is great at his job and understands customer services. Yes we had a slow check in yes it's busy but remember the old saying you get what you pay for!!!!!!
And we really didn't pay all that much for a Lovely hotel in a great resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Angela C

I read your review attentively. I am very glad that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and you could enjoy the meal in our restaurant, our amazing pools and beach with a promenade.
And your children had a good time thanks to our well-organized extensive animation program and all that we have for a good time spending for children.
I accepted into account your comments and suggestions about the more varied menu in the restaurant. We will work on this aspect to improve the variety of the menu.
Thank you for your positive and inspirational comments. I and all our hotel staff every day try to have our guests have a memorable stay in the hotel and such comments help us in our work.
We hope that you will choose again our hotel for your following stay next time on the Costa del Sol.
We are always happy to see you again in your hotel Sol Principe

Kind regards
José Fermín Gómez, general manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FALKIRK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just spent 2weeks at this hotel.The hotel is very clean and all staff very friendly.Food is very good there is always something nice to eat.Breakfast very good aswell at evening meal.Water at 2.10 euros at evening meal a bit much.
Only used sunbeds a couple of times on the grassey area as towels had reserved beds by 8am.noticed some only had towels on till late afternoon.
Kids club is really great and this hotel would be ideal for anyone with children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Moira B,

Thank you very much for enjoy your holidays with us and for find Sol Príncipe ideal for families.

We love your good comments about our friendly staff, clening and tasty food.

We take note about the rest of comments; we will study them, because for us guest´s feedbacks are so important to improve our service.

Thank you very much again; we are looking forward to see you in your next visit to Costa del Sol.


Kind regards,
José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Principe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last ten years and would have to say it has always been very good, but on this occasion we stayed between the 16th June-26thjune2013 I have too say things have changed and not for the better, the shambles that is the affliction of the sunbeds has obviously been allowed to creep into this hotel. On our first two days we had breakfast and when to try and get aspot at the pool at 9.30am only to be faced with a sea of towels on beds but no people this continued for three days at which time we complained I was told that they were dealing with the problem, there solution was to bring in more beds the next day which had te opposite effect and only encouraged more people to go down even earlier Please take note hotel management! The food has also went down hill and whilst I am not a fussy eater the repetition was really bad in fact veal was on the menu every night in some shape or form. Also entertainment really poor and when we asked at reception for directions to bus for Malaga we were told to go to the bus station no directions etc. I am sorry to say this will probably be our last vist to the once great sol principe after nearly a decade of visits

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robbiebhoy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Robbiebhoy1961

Thank you very much for having your holidays for so long at Sol Príncipe.

First of all I want to apologize that you are so disappointed with the hotel this time.
I am very sorry that during your stay you experience so many flaws in our hotel and in the work of our staff. All your comments and suggestions are taken into account by me and by all our managing staff in different departments to improve all aspects.

We have a system with our sunbeds, and we think is the fairest way with all our customers. We will keep trying.

Anyway we thank you for your critical review which will help to improve our service at the hotel in different departments.

We take note about your comments about the buffet. As you can see, after the changes we have made, this service is highly valuated for our customers.

We still hope that you will return to our hotel and the next time you will not be disappointed and as we have the opportunity to renew your confidence

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel offers all for young and old, Plenty of room for swimming and relaxing. The hotel very clean and the staff are very friendly. The food is a little disappointing after afirst week same menu for the following week, some times the food undercooked..need to be careful. Stayed on floor 8 which had a good view and away from the traffic. Would I stay again here? The answer is yes.
Overall good value for money. Breakfast the best meal of the day..only down side hated paying for mineral water each night at €2 a bottle. The reception staff were very helpful with hiring wheelchair for my friends..plus the company were as equally helpful during the hire.

Room Tip: Go higher and get lovely views over the beach or swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, Director General at Sol Principe, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello crunchieDublin

First of all thank you for have chosen our hotel for your holidays. We are pleased that the hotel, your room on the 8th floor and our staff equaled your expectations.
Your positive and optimistic comments show that you enjoyed your stay and received positive emotions from your holidays. We take note of your opinion about our restaurant and our meal and of course we will try to do our best to improve this aspect for your next time in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
José Fermín Gómez, general manager of Sol Principe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,742 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing