We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My partner and I booked a weekend break in Torremolinos, we booked on line and purposefully booked this hotel as it was on the beach...........and it was!! Great place, very clean rooms, and good facilities. Very much a family hotel, lots of families and kids, but also great facilities for adults with Sports Bar (I know what your thinking) and relaxed areas with comfy sofa's in bar area. The sports bar was not what you would expect, done out with a Moroccan theme, stained glass windows, arched doorways etc.....we did dance the night away to a bizarre mix of Tom Jones and some French pop musak!! We went for B&B, with breakfast being buffet style but with great variety of foods on offer...continental style and English cooked breakfast, cereals, juice, pastries, would recommend. There was also a buffet style evening sitting for around 18 euros each....I didn't have cause to complain but my partner was disappointed with the sea food selection on offer, with so many tapas bars and cafes in the town center and beach side restaurants would certainly recommend exploring. Downer was the queues when we arrived, check in very slow process....although the free sangria on offer helped to ease the pain somewhat. Would stay again, also very close from airport so well within reach of taxi, saves on having to wait for lengthy queues waiting for transfers!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello Darren S. My name is José Fermín Gómez, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. First of all I would like to extend our appreciation for your review and thanks for spend your holidays in Sol Principe.

I apologize to keep you waiting during the check in. We will do our best to speed up the check- in process. I take note about your partner buffet suggestions.

Thank you for your review again. I will hope to see you in the Hotel soon.

Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    1,139
    615
    179
    124
See reviews for
1,609
782
41
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

As a person who normally visits Ibiza town for holidays with friends, I was a bit dubious about a holiday to Torremolinos with my 79 year old dad. On recommendation of my dad, we booked into the Sol Principe Hotel for a week. The hotel itself and rooms are impeccable, staff incredibly helpful and pleasant. The accommodation is more suited to the 'older generation' or for families with young children. That said, it suited us incredibly.

We booked half board - the food is very nice but after a few days it can become 'samey'. However, if you alternate between eating lunch and dinner at the hotel you can still enjoy the wide variety of food that Torremolinos has to offer.

Regarding the wider area, the area of Torremolinos within which the Sol Principe sits is beautifully kept and shows the distinct lack of 'tack' that other areas such as Carhuiela beach front and Benalmadena can appear to display.

All in all, I am thoroughly enjoying my stay here and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and was pretty impressed on arrival the hotel was immaculately clean even the rooms and they were of an ok standard but toilet was brown and the shower head was broken but apart from these small details they were fine . Now the food was a let down I do agree that there was a good selection but everything was over cooked and cold and we tried breakfast lunch and dinner and they were all the same so for a 4 star this was a hughe let down. What we both disliked most of all were the rude people , staff and travellers alike , come on your on holiday smile be nice , now don't get me wrong it wasnt just in the hotel it was most of the resort bus drivers, shop assistant, restrauant staff etc the economy it tuff but come on its tuffet still when you've saved for a break and all you get is sour faces and grunts

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello Karenkoi, My name is José Fermín Gómenz, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel.

First of all to thank you very much for giving us your review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays . I regret that your expectations have not been satisfied for the hotel. I imform you, that we are already fixed the liitle issue you had in your bathroom. I take note about your restaurant comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day. Thank you for your review again.

Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Now my third visit to the Sol Principe but this time I was disappointed. I last visited the hotel two years ago, but can report that it is looking a little jaded with the rooms in need of some tlc.
Bedrooms have a lateral view of the sea with private balcony. The rooms are adequately proportioned with fridge and (old) television with 3 English news channels. There is air conditioning although this was not available when we visited this time.

Probably the most disappointing of all was the food. When I wrote my original review of this hotel I gave it 5 stars and wrote this about the food – ‘The food is of a high standard and plentiful. The Spanish fare is particularly good with plenty of differing varieties of fish and meat dishes on offer. There really is something for everyone.’ Unfortunately I cannot be as complimentary this time. My summation – over-cooked and repetitive, repetitive, repetitive.
Don’t get me wrong, you will find something to eat and it will be perfectly edible, it is just not as good as it was two years ago.

The Sol Principe will provide you with a solid base for exploring the area however I would say this hotel really is more a decent standard 3 star hotel rather than a 4 star.

Sol Principe - I know you can do better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello PetPlant, My name is José Fermín Gómenz, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel.



I would like to thank you very much for your opinion and for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays for so long. I apoligize if this time you didn´t like the room, We will do our best to improve this aspect for your next time in Sol Principe. I take note about your restaurant comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve or service. Thank you very much for your review again.

Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

First off, it takes 10 minutes to check each room in (at least), combine this with the understaffed front desk and its a nightmare check in and check out (for us, check in took 40 mins, check out 1 hour). Also, if you need to ask a question, or your room key stops working you will need to wait as above.

That aside, the pluses: pool area is fantastic, rooms are nice (apart from the fact that a double is actualy two singles pushed together that move apart at will), bathrooms are modern.
The negatives: beds as above (beds also very uncomfortable), Services need improving, only english channel is bbc news and no movies, masage centre closed, pooside food/ drink closed. You would expect these to be open in may, wouldnt you?

We stayed in a sea view, which was worth the small extra charge.

All in all, improve checkin, buy some queen beds, put on some in room movies, open the closed facilities and it would move from 2/5 to 4/5

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello Brent M. My name is José Fermín Gómez, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. I would like to thank for giving us your comments about the hotel and thanks for trusting us for your holidays.

I apologize for having to wait in reception, We will do our best to improve this aspect for your next time in Sol Principe. I take note about your comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day.

Thank you for your review again.
Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had stayed in The Sol Principe before and enjoyed the hotel experience. This time we decided on taking an apartment. You reach the apartments by leaving the hotel lobby area and crossing through the elaborate pool complex.
When we arrived at reception, we were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a few words in Irish. Well done.
We were happy with the apartment set-up. You have a bedroom which can be isolated by means of sliding doors/walls. The bathroom has a bath with overhead shower. Water is piping hot. The washbasin is outside the bathroom, but this can be an advantage. The lounge area is more than adequate for two people and it is equipped for four. The two couches convert into beds. I'm not so sure that more than two people would be comfortable: perhaps children with parents would work well. Another sliding door can be used to cut off the lounge from the bedroom/bathroom areas.
The kitchenette is hidden behind folding doors. It consists of a two-ring electric cooker with an adjoining sink and overhead presses. Cutlery etc are for four. The one thing that you really miss is an electric kettle and it does annoy to have to wait on a saucepan of water to boil for the occasional cup of tea. I doubt that you would cook much, if anything, in the small space you have. Handy for a light breakfast or supper. The microwave is a bonus.
TV stations are mostly in Spanish but you do have Sky News and a couple of others in English.
The lounge opens out onto a small balcony which in our case overlooked the pool area.
The only negatives about the apartments: 1. the walls in the complex are certainly not sound-proofed, so you are at the mercy of several neighbours. However, noise was not a major problem. 2. tiny ants are a nuisance. We found that our first apartment had armies of them parading on the tiled floor of the lounge. Reception changed us to another room which at first viewing seemed to be ant free. Not surprisingly the troops did emerge later. By then we had bought a spray in the Hotel Supermarket, so we used it freely when leaving the apartment to go out. This worked alongside the regular disinfecting by the cleaning staff. We were not surprised to see ants in that second apartment after we had noticed that the Hotel Supermarket stocked insect spray. We saw no more ants in the apartment after the second day, so don't let them put you off... just spray!
The apartment was well serviced each day and the linen was changed at mid-week.
These apartments are extremely well priced, especially when you consider that you have the use of the fine hotel with its facilities and entertainment and that you are right on the sea-front.
Great value, especially if you like lounging at the pools. Check out the hotel website.

Room Tip: One block gets the mid-morning to afternoon sun, so it is worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Positives;
The hotel itself looks excellent and is very clean. It is a mere 10 minutes away from Malaga airport. The beach is immediately behind the hotel. The hotel has several swimming pools and lounge space. It also offers a variety of activities and excursions and plenty catered for family and children. Overall we had a pleasent stay without issues.
Negatives;
Hotel is rated 4* but offers no room service and no 24 hour menu for snacks or drinks. To seek information from the hotel reception takes a very long time as they are always understaffed. Their lunch and dinner is served in the form of a buffet and the price of 18 euros per person is overpriced by a considerable margin - you would find far better priced quality meals in the vicinity of the area. The hotel has no a/c in April and the nights can be very hot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Minar-Rinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#23 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sol Principe is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing