We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NICE HOLIDAY RUINED BY STOMACH VIRUS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel and its a typical 4 star hotel that we usually stay in.
No complaints really everything you would expect until all 3 of us contracted sickness and diarrhoea. In all the year we've gone abroad on holiday we've never got this before and last Wednesday night I was struck down with violent vomitting and diarrhoea, the follwoing morning a Doctor had to be called as I felt very ill and she ordered a ambulance to take me to hospital and said I had a slight fever and Iow blood pressure and would have to be given antibiotics.
After they had taken various tests blood,urine they diagnosed the problem as gastroenteritis which would have been caught through eating the food in the hotel.
I was kept in hopital until Friday afternoon then released to enjoy my last day of my holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephenpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Stephenpalmer :
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to express your satisfaction during your stay with us.
We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our establishment and we regret that during your stay you were unwell.
May I have the opportunity to inform you, that the hotel works with an external well known company, thats encharged of examenig and controlling ( sanitary water, swimming pools, staff, etc... ) and sampling food.
At the same time, it also monitorises all the cooked food, supervises all ingredients used in the menus, and checks temperatures directely from our buffet. Up until now we havent had any unapproved test. We also follow the current spanish legal laws in kitchen management ( HACCP ).
We also understand your concern and would like to tell you know that we on a daily basis work on prevention, cleanlyness and higiene concerning all departements of the hotel.
This means that our health and hygiene standards are amongst the highest in the area.
Your sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,280 - 2,286 of 3,206 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel changed names since I was last here. On 6th floor. Air con very poor. Beds are like old military camping beds. Mattresses very thin. I am a lady in her early 40s and a size 12. I ache all over. Anyone heavier build would suffer here. Sons bed has slats falling out in the night. Other sons bed squeals and grinds when he turns over. It startles us and wakes us all up again. Reported last night. Adv come back at 8am. Came back to be told come back later. I just want a room I can sleep in and have some privacy!!! They have allocated one room for my husband and I, and a 12 and 15 year old!!! Am very tired and unhappy and it is only day 2 of our stay. I want to go home........

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emilyismydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear emilyismydog:
I would like to thank you very much indeed for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to send us your comments, because through feedback from our guests, we can effectively improve our services.
Before these comments appear on Tripadvisor your problem it was already resolved and we change you to a superior room with new bed and new mattress, since it was not happy with the previous room.
You told me personally that now you are happy with the change.
I hope that you can enjoy the rest of your stay with us
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Arrived back 22nd July.
Good
Arrived at the reception, check in was quick.
Rooms were fine and a fair size, typical Spanish hotel room.
Food very good, plenty of choice breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Drinks were all inclusive and very good.
Favourite thing about the hotel for me was the service by everyone who worked at the hotel EXCELLANT.
Pool was good and plenty of hard beds to be had, We went over the road to the beach most days and paid 7.50 euro`s for parasol and two beds (with cushions).
Went to Malaga for the day shopping 18 euro`s each way in a taxi a lot cheaper by train up road and bus outside hotel, but we were on holiday bit of luxury.
75% guests Spanish 20% British 5% other
Downside for this hotel and area.
Centre of Torremolinos is a long way to walk in the midday sun.
Sea by the hotel went deep very quick (small children beware).
Hard sun beds.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear phil m :
Thank you very much for your very complete review of the Marconfort Beach Club Hotel.
We love that you value the wide variety of dishes from our buffet and the service that our staff has provided you and thank you for recommending us to friends and family
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

he location is very close to the airport and cost 20 Euros and took 10 minutes. On arrival we were checked in very quickly and were given room 615. All the rooms with 15 on the end of the room number are the biggest as they are on the end corner of the building with the sea and pool views. the balcony and bathroom were both very big. We did request one of these rooms so were very happy to have one :-D
The hotel was lovely and clean and felt very looked after.
Our arrival was slightly ruined by an Irish family telling us to go elsewhere as they had all caught a tummy bug! this did make us a bit wary but we just take extra care to wash our hands, not drink the water etc.
The next day the rest of the hen party checked in and had to pay quite hefty room deposits. All together there were 25 of us and no-one caught a tummy bug (the only illness was of the self inflicted type)!
The food was actually very good for an AI hotel. It seemed to be slightly higher standard than most. It was fresh, it was cooked in front of you. We loved the pizza/italian corner too. Lots of choice with fruit/veg etc and I loved the crackers, meats and cheeses.
The staff in the restaurant and friendly and helpful too.
The bar on an evening was good. Very generous with drinks measures and we were able to get a couple of drinks at a time! George was one of our favourite bar men!
They were quick and you never waited more than a few minutes to get a drink when there was a queue.
The pool was lovely and cool, always managed to get a sun lounger. It did get busy from lunch time onwards but was still fine. The only bad point is that the loungers are the hard plastic ones which aren't that comfortable at all.
Overall, I was very suprised by how nice this hotel was and would definately consider returing.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room with the big balcony! The view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natmoto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Natmoto22:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us.
We love also that you value the wide variety of dishes from our buffet and the service that our staff has provided you.
Thank you once again and hope to see you on a future occasion.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved this hotel, one of the best holidays weve had, food was excellent, staff were friendly and very helpful. Bus stop right outside so it was easy to get about.
Beach was nice :-) went there everyday, plenty of shops near by.
Hotel entertainment was fairly good to be honest.
Only down side i would say is that the pool wasnt big enough for the size of the hotel and getting a sunbed was a problem..
Over all we had a fantastic time and will return this hotel in the future. I will recommend this hotel to freinds and family.

Thank you Torremonlinos beach club !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bristol-susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Susan :
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read reviews like this, and thank again to recommending our hotel to friends and family.
We are very proud that you had been one of the best holidays.
I hope to see you very sonn.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Firstly I have to say this hotel states it is a 4*, I would say 3*. It's very nice but certainly not at the same standard of any 4* hotels I've been to.

We arrived at the hotel about 11am and were checked in and given wrist bands and keys straight away.We didnt need to wait around for the rooms to be ready or anything.

The reception area of the hotel is lovely, I pressume it has recently been refurbished. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful and do their job well. The only hiccup we had was that they asked us to pay 50euros EACH because we were a same sex group of 4. We refused point blank and after a chat with someone in the back the receptionist said we didnt have to pay. We were there for a holiday not a fight! Anyway...

As stated reception is lovely an there was always a cleaner arounwith a steam cleaning machine spraying everything in sight. Move further along and you come to the Piano Bar, restaurant and stairs to pool. In my opinion the drinks are better from the piano bar, dont ask me why, they just tasted nicer than at the pool. The restaurant is clean and there is lots of fresh food available. There is a hand sanitiser outside which you have to use before you go in. The food is nice enough and you get what you pay for. We only stayed 5 days but it did get a bit repetitive.

The pool area was very busy but we always managed to get a sunbed each. The pool is quite big and there is a kids pool too. The pool bar was nice, there was never too much of a queue, even at night. We tended to go over the road to the beach, paid 3.50euros for a comfy sunbed all day and just went back to the hotel every now and again to get drinks. It really is right across the road. We found it less noisy because we were an adult only party.

One really BAD thing about the hotel is the lifts. There are about 4/5 of them and they take FOREVER! They're OK once you're in them but you really do have to wait an age for them to arrive.

The downstairs of the hotel does not match the upstairs. Downstairs looked refurbed, upstairs does not. Dont get me wrong, they are clean and comfortable but the decor is dated and tired. It's all a bit mismatched compared to downstairs but there is certainly nothing bad about them. They do the job. We had maid service everyday which included clean towels etc. They didnt like emptying our bin for some reason though and it was oveflowing by the end of the week.

Regarding the bug everyone is going on about, we didnt see anyone with it and none of our party got it. The staff do work hard to keep on top of the cleanliness of the place, you cant fault them for that.

What else can I say about the hotel really? It's basically your average spanish hotel. Nice. Would I go back? Probably not.

Room Tip: Get a low room (1st floor) cause the lifts take forever! Sea view is beautiful. Corner rooms have bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaronVonShush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Baron :
Thank you very much for your very complete review of the Marconfort Beach Club Hotel. I gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back .
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at the beach club 8/5/2012 for one week and had a great time, funnily enough i realised when we got there that we stayed here in 1980 when it was The Pontinental. The food was ok always something to eat and chef was really proud of his desserts.We had a room on the second floor opposite the lift and i thought oh no! but we never heard a sound, rooms were cleaned everyday and we always had clean towels.Entertainment was ok but it was very busy, best night was in the piano bar when the spanish guests were dancing a flamenco (very sexy).The guy by the pool bar should get a mention think his name was mila, always smiley and singing and also the lady in reception with the curly hair, very helpful. We would definitely recommend and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carriclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUISLUQUE, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Carrie Claire :
Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday with us at the Marconfort Beach Hotel.
We are so glad to know that you has back after 32 years, and apart from this, you cvan come back many more
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marconfort Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Address: Calle Hotel Pontinental s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $90 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel is located on the promenade in Torremolinos and is known for its excellent all-inclusive. It has three outdoor pools and direct access to Playamar beach. The guestrooms are bright and spacious, with panoramic views and a furnished balcony, as well as bathroom with hairdryer. It also offers a satellite TV with international channels, a safe for rent and free WiFi access. The resort features a wide range of daytime and nighttime entertainment. It has a poolside terrace with loungers, a gym, a heated pool, and a sauna (open seasonally). It also has a playground, a game room with billiards and darts, mini golf and free bike rental. The buffet restaurant offers a great variety of specialties like an Italian corner, a kebab corner, international cuisine and live-cooking show, as well as an adult only area. The hotel also has two more bars, one of them besides the pool. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel has a tourist information desk with tour bookings and car rental. The hotel is one mile from city centre and only three miles from Malaga airport. It also offers car and bike rental, plus free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marconfort Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Torremolinos
Beach Club Torremolinos
Torremolinos Beach Hotel
Torremolinos Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing