We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shh! Keep it a secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Isabel
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Shh! Keep it a secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday in Spain. We are already missing the hotel and the area. The entrance and reception area are stunning. The reception staff were a little bit unhelpful, we were not informed about the safe and fridge deal[ 21 Euros for a week or a stocked fridge of water, cola etc to the value of 21 Euros] Luckily we had read the Tripadvisor reviews. We had a seaview corner balcony room.The view was superb. The room was cleaned daily, sheets changed etc Spotless! The cleaners work very hard and should be commended. Breakfast is served from 7.30 until 10.30. The choice was simply outstanding. Everything you could wish for was on offer. We went in high season and the restaurant was never crowded or full. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast rather than the usual "run around the table" guests gorging themselves on lots of food then leaving it! I only have two minor complaints - the orange juice from the machine is disgusting [tastes cheap and nasty] Fresh orange can be purchased for 2.50e and the two waiting staff need to clear the plates. Plates, bowls, pile up at the side of the table.
The pool and garden are lovely. Pool opens at 10am [great idea] and there is a policy of not reserving sun loungers.Pool is pristine. I normally don't swim in hotel pools but I thought it looked clean enough for a daily dip! Fresh fruit is served poolside [on a daily basis] Lovely gesture. Cocktails and beer are a bit expensive 3.50 or 6.50 for a cocktail.Slightly cheaper would be better but then everything in Spain is expensive at this time.
We went to the Sealife centre at Benalmadena. I had read that you could get a 15% discount if you bought tickets from the hotel. The receptionist did not have a clue! We didn't bother to ask about buses etc We ended up paying full price for the Sealife centre and found our own way on the bus . There were a mixture of different nationalities and family groups staying at this hotel, which was great.
There was no entertainment at night which was fine for us but not if you are looking for a lively hotel. There are plenty of bars in the area to provide that if you wish!
I did make a comment on the survey re: providing evening meals etc I know the restaurant is small but I am sure with more staff and perhaps staggered meal sittings this could be achieved.
I didn't really enjoy having to go out and trawl restaurants for my evening meal. If the hotel had catered for this I would have been so happy. I am aware there was room service but the choice was very limited.
Overall the hotel was excellent. We have even thought about booking for next year!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a seaview. Worth every euro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ANYA2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
First I'm glad you enjoyed your stay despite the fact that the attention you received from reception was not entirely to your liking. I appreciate that you highlight the importance of the good hard work carried out by the cleaning staff, to which I also give great importance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    228
    64
    14
    7
See reviews for
101
405
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely hotel right across from the beach. Stayed here for 8 nights. Great location near restaurants, shops and town centre. Hotel had a lovely swimming pool with plenty of sun beds. All staff are very helpful and the hotel is kept very clean. Lunch menu is very well priced and plenty of choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aoifeosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for highlighting the work of the staff and especially the cleaning during your stay. Two very important aspects for us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a short stay along with my sister and daughter.
This hotel is managed to an excellent standard,all of the staff were very polite and efficient.
We were offered fresh fruit whilst sitting around the small but pristine swimming pool and gardens
during the day which was a lovely gesture.
Room was beautifully clean.We asked about the possibility of a kettle & cups to be provided in our room, this was done straight away. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. I have stayed at this hotel several times before with my husband and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzieB486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I know we have a pool and small garden but we try to ensure that our customers are comfortable. We are pleased to offer these small details while you are enjoying the sun in our garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good clean hotel staff very approachable enjoyable breakfast and so on.Only grumble some noisy guests cannot imagine what the attraction is for families in this particular hotel but there you go.A group of a dozen Frenchmen put paid to the peace for a few days but these negatives are not a fault of the management.Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for highlighting the Hotel cleaning staff. I am the first to recognize the important work they perform although I’m sorry that you had problems with the group during their stay. I do not accept large groups but when reservations are made individually can not be controlled. For me it is important that customers feel at home although often it is a difficult to task.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed July 2013, lovely modern hotel. Very clean, lovely staff group. The tea, coffee making service great, topped up every day, with Nescafé coffee, tea bags not so good, sweeteners and sugar. Plenty of shampoo shower gel replenished every day, so no need to take your own, if struggling to keep to restricted weight. Beds very comfortable, all modern furniture, air con great. Pool lovely, plenty of sun beds, but sun did not come around until 12.00 each day, there is a grassed area where the sun shines all day, but this needs some work, lots of broken stones in the grass, so need to use footwear, and beds were a little battered, but still comfortable, this may be their next project. Plenty of happy hours in various parts of the hotel. Food outstanding and always hot. Fresh fruit available every day including strawberries and cherries as well as all the usual. Very impressed and will definitely will go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I appreciate very much your comments. Because of this I have tried the tea bags in the rooms and you are absolutely right. I will change them immediately. As for your comments on the stones in the garden I will check out the problem and find a solution. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 1 week, we had a wonderful time and the hotel was lovely. The room was very nice and clean, even though our room wasn't facing the sea we still had a lovely sea view from our balcony. Everywhere was very clean and the staff were very helpful if we had any queries. The pool is small but nice, however was very cold! But that was to be expected at the time of year. The outdoor area for lounging next to the pool was lovely and we always managed to get a sunbed. The beach is literally on the doorstep of the hotel and the town of Torrelmolinos is a short walk away, we didn't have any problems with getting around anywhere and even walked along to Benalmadena one day. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious, there's a wide range of hot and cold foods to choose from. Plenty of places to eat and lots of friendly people around. We had a great stay and would definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
When you want to return and need any information about availability and prices I am available in direccion@hotelisabel.net
I'm glad you have been comfortable during your stay and where especially pleased with his treatment you received from the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is splendid. Rooms are clean and very nice.
Brekfast is perfect and fresh.
Pool is small but nice.
Beach is public but that is not a problem. (Plenty of space).
BUT...
The safe in the room is 2,5€ per day extra.
This should be included in room price at this level.
And the fridge in the room is an extra 4€ per day.
Come on....
Shuld also be included...

Otherwise I have nothing to complaint about.
Will deffinatly book this hotel next time I go to Torremolinos :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for visiting. In the room we inform our customers that the fridge is for rent as you well said but if you buy drinks from the Hotel the rent is free. The charge is only when you want to use as use it for items bought outside the Hotel. We think this is reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.2 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#18 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Property: Hotel Isabel
Address: Paseo Maritimo 47, Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isabel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isabel is located in front of the beach on the main promenade of Torremolinos. The Hotel stands out for being friendly and with the main objective of improving quality. Totally reformed it offers 70 bright, carefully decorated rooms. If you wish to spend some time relaxing we recommended sunbathing on the loungers around our swimming pool. At the Hotel Isabel we like to take care of the smallest details, and therefore we have available free WI-FI for clients who need an internet connection HOTEL ISABEL would like to inform you that we have obtained the Q of quality certificate from the institute of Spanish tourism quality (ICTE). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Isabel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing