We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isabel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Isabel. What an absolute gem of a hotel! Spotlessly clean, suberb breakfast, efficient and friendly staff. This was my first stay at this hotel, however I will be returning! The hotel is in a great location with suberb views from the "sea view" rooms. It's charm also lies in the fact that it is small enough to offer that personal touch often missing from the larger hotels in this area. The staff should be really proud of what they have all achieved here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
All employees of the Hotel we try to make our customers enjoy a comfortable a family atmosphere. This is why we maintain a more personal treatment, which perhaps is helped by the small size of the hotel. Thanks for visiting us for the first time and I hope you choose us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    249
    70
    18
    7
See reviews for
113
432
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I have just arrived home after a 10 day stay in the Hotel Isabel, our fourth visit in as many years during October. I agree with everything the previous reviewer (cardking) says about the hotel, in fact we discussed the exact points in the hotel garden whilst sun bathing. The hotel staff go the extra mile to please, from the reception and cleaning maids to the dining staff, especially Carmen who mixes a mean Sangria. It was even good to see the hotel director smiling with his new baby and family while socialising in the garden area, although he his serious during breakfast. A bonus is free WiFi in the rooms but although there are fridges and safes in room they are charged, would be an added bonus if included in the room price. Will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more sun and during October the sea view rooms lose the sun mid afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thanks for visiting again. Both I myself and all staff are delighted with your comments and as you have seen for yourself how happy I am with the birth of my son. My personal email is direccion@hotelisabel.net if you should need anything or require information on availability for specific dates. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Just returned with my wife from a 4 day break at Hotel Isabel and there was absolutely nothing to fault it.

We had a sea view corner room and and the balcony was bathed in sunshine all day. Ours was on the left front corner of the hotel if you are looking at it from the sea. A sea view room on the front without the corner balcony will lose the sun mid afternoon. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel.

The management, receptionist and bar staff couldn't do enough for us. We requested a late check out but was told that our room was not available but they would allow us to use another room for half an hour before leaving to shower and change. This was ideal as there was no extra cost and it allowed us to relax on the last day even with a 10pm flight back.

The bar drinks were reasonably priced in the hotel but if you bought your own wine from the supermarkets they would happily open the bottles and provide glasses for use in the room.

The breakfast was superb with plenty to choose from, Hot food was bacon, fried/scrambled egg, each day and this was supplemneted by a couple of other hot dishes which changed daily. Cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt and do-nuts were also available and the buffet style worked well.

I was amazed at how full the hotel was considering it is "out of season" but we never had any problem getting sun beds.

I was advised that room prices were going up for next season (2012) which is understandable due to the quality of the hotel. I just hope they don't price themselves out of the market.

Location wise it was excellent and we enjoyed our morning/early afternoon walks along the front and even in 30 degree temoperatures amanged to reach the Marina area at Benalmedena stopping several times though for a "Cerveza" and small paella or sardines. I would guess that this walk was roughly 2.5 miles each way but it definitely seemed longer.

I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardKingPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
We try our best to offer our complimentary room for customers who leave the hotel late. Thanks for noting this service. With regard to prices of 2012 there will be a slight rise. Also I’d like to inform you that this winter we will make some improvements to the pool area and therefore will be closed until March next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 15-day stay at Hotel Isabel. That hotel fully deserves its #2 ranking on TripAdvisor.

This is a relatively small (70 rooms) hotel which is relatively new or has recently been renovated. It looks new and modern both inside and outside.

The hotel was very clean, both the public areas and our room. We had a standard room with side balcony with a good view of the sea. The room was quite spacious with a Queen size bed and a large bathroom with walk-in shower. The AC was efficient and above all quiet. It had a flat screen TV which we did not use once.

The room includes a safe for which the hotel charges 2.50 Euro per day. There is also a mini-fridge in the room for which again one has to pay a daily charge for its use. Since we were staying for 15 days, we had the option to buy upfront 20 Euro worth of mini bar supplies (water, beer, etc.) and you get access to the mini-fridge for the duration.

We did not find these charges exorbitant for a European hotel. We booked through Expedia and our daily hotel rate for our stay (including the safe and mini-fridge) came out at Canadian $121.00, including breakfast (buffet type with a wide choice of eggs, beacon, fruits, cereals, pastries, etc.) and WiFi.

The hotel is located right across the beach and walking distance (though uphill/but a good exercise) from the train and bus stations which we used extensively during our stay. It is also near a wide array of restaurants serving Spanish, Italian and North American food. There are also several Pubs in walking distance from the hotel. A grocery store is located behind the hotel, 2 minutes walk.

We found the hotel staff very helpful and always smiling.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our first stay on the Costa del Sol thanks in large part to the hotel and its staff.

To put things in perspective, my wife and I are experienced travelers (both business and leisure). We would not hesitate to recommend that hotel to anyone visiting the Costa del Sol.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
For your information the hotel was completely refurbished in 2005 however you have seen how important the cleaning is for us through the establishment. Thank you for comments about the options we have with the mini bar and regarding to our employees. I hope to have you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We booked this hotel for a short break based on the great reviews - yes it is clean & yes it's right opposite the beach.

We only booked a standard room & this was average, not overly spacious but did have a nice walk-in shower & we had sea views from our side balcony.

A couple of minor points - the tv boasts many channels including 5 English channels but these stopped working after the first day, they fixed it for us but by the following day they weren't working again so we gave up - not a big deal as you obviously don't go on holiday to watch telly, but bit annoying if you wanted to just catch 5mins of BBC news or something. Also the rooms are fitted with a great stereo system with an English radio station, but there was no info on this in our room or when we booked so we didn't actually discover it until the last night, so that was a bit of a shame because we definitely would've made use of that facility.

However, our major gripe (& the reason we wouldn't return to this hotel) was poor customer service. When we checked in we asked if we could pay extra to keep our room longer on departure day as we had a night flight home, we were told no as the hotel was fully booked but we could have use of a room for a shower - not ideal but fair enough. We asked again before we checked out as we had noticed how quiet the hotel seemed during our 4 days there, we spoke to a different man on reception who also claimed the hotel was fully booked & then told us that we wouldn't even be able to use a room for a shower! I have NEVER stayed in a hotel that doesn't keep a complimentary room aside for late check out guests to use - no one wants to spend all day on the beach covered in sand & sun cream & then head straight to the airport looking like a vagrant! This staff member was neither sympathetic or apologetic about this although we were clearly unhappy, he just shrugged his shoulders & returned to his computer screen. When this staff member finally ended his shift about 5pm a girl took over on reception so we asked her if we could use a room for a shower - her response was 'Yes of course, no problem' and handed us over a key! So yes, we got to freshen up in the end but I've no idea what the man's problem was - rude & unhelpful for no reason which really let this hotel down!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Getty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
We at Hotel Isabel welcome your comments and we apologize for any misunderstanding that may have happened during your stay. We have a courtesy room for situations like yours which is always fully prepared for our guests. Once again we are sorry for any misunderstanding and we are pleased that the problem was finally solved to your satisfaction, which we work hard to achieve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
548 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here in September with friends...sea view rooms are worth it..spectacular views to wake up to..a quiet beach during most times though there is a road in front...beach in front is excellent to relax all day and swim..if on longer stays get some beach stuff and you don't have to pay to use facilities..hotel allows towel hires anyway...Staff are very courteous and helpful and all know English...Breakfast is great for a good fill to keep you going all day..there are enough small shops around for all needs and bigger supermarket just behind the hotel...the town and it's shops are a 15 min walk mostly along the seaside..there are many restaurants close to the hotel serving good food..the railway station is about 20min walk for trains to the airport...or a taxi ride is about 20 euros...Wifi is free but can be weak at times - ask for new passwords as they can stop working at times..hotel provides basic toiletries ...fridge and lockers cost a small amount to hire..overall the area felt very safe even late at night...when it's a good time to sit watching the stars and listening to the waves on the sea side !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
I'm sorry you had problems with the wifi during your stay. Thanks to your comment we have improved the service. Thank you for your stay and look forward to having you stay at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

have just returned from hotel isabel in torremolinos,we actually booked this hotel due to the reviews of other tripadvisor reviewers.And i have to say they were very accurate. a really wonderful little hotel in a great location.The staff throughout were excellent,very professional,very helpful,and also very friendly.The room was spacious with tea and coffee facilities( replenished every day) and a wonderful seaview.Cleaning off the room was of the highest standard, amongst the best of anywhere we have stayed,breakfast also excellent varied choices of hot and cold dishes, and never had to queue at anytime.ALL in all would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel .A very professionally run hotel with a family atmosphere Hard to beat.

Room Tip: try for a seaview room on third or forth excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mc_connolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
As you said what we try is to create a family atmosphere for our clients. Thank you for highlighting the work of all the employees at Hotel Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Property: Hotel Isabel
Address: Paseo Maritimo 47, Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isabel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isabel is located in front of the beach on the main promenade of Torremolinos. The Hotel stands out for being friendly and with the main objective of improving quality. Totally reformed it offers 70 bright, carefully decorated rooms. If you wish to spend some time relaxing we recommended sunbathing on the loungers around our swimming pool. At the Hotel Isabel we like to take care of the smallest details, and therefore we have available free WI-FI for clients who need an internet connection HOTEL ISABEL would like to inform you that we have obtained the Q of quality certificate from the institute of Spanish tourism quality (ICTE). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Isabel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing