We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nothing fancy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Sur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Sur Hotel
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Looked for cheap holiday and this hotel came into that category. Friendly staff was highlight off our stay here. Room badly in need of lick of paint and bathroom needed bit of attention but balcony was great. Ask for corner room if you want large balcony. Rained on last 2 days so we were forced to have breakfast here. Pretty dire food I'm afraid. Good selection of hams, cheeses and bread with cereal and fruit also on offer but if you like a fried breakfast then this is not the place. Hard stodgy scrambled eggs, fatty bacon, potato rings,black pudding? and strange sausages (all cold). Didn't want to chance evening meal so ventured out in rain. We stuck to cereal and toast on our last day here. Even the coffee tasted strange. Also, went to bar one evening where about half a dozen young Spaniards were drinking bottles of San Miguel but whoever served them seemed to have vanished into thin air. Waited for about 5 minutes for service then gave up. Very poor. Ideally situated for beach and games room and pool area were fine.

Room Tip: Corner room for large balcony but also try for one at front of hotel if you want sun for longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1952robert1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    43
    23
    39
See reviews for
42
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a very short break (2 nights) on a half board basis. I wish I had booked room only due to the food which was served which after viewing I decided to eat out anyway.

Room was OK but no more than although it was clean. Reception staff were very pleasant as with all other staff that I came into contact with. The bar man was rarely behind the bar when I visited however, I did find out that the chap was performing two roles, bar man and waiter in the resturant.

I was aware the hotel was set back somewhat from the main resort front but did not realise how far and much of an incline. If you have problems walking up hills then this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If youhave no transfer arranged then I caught the train at the airport to Torremolinos station (1.80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1CEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Hull
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the food was terrible and i feel sure the pool filter system was not working. We stayed half board and only entered the dining room once to eat and we immediately turned around to find a restaurant to buy some food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HonestHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

the reception staff were friendly and made a good effort to speak our first language, the room was good apart from burn marks and a bath with poor repairs to the bath. the balcony view was amazing, you could see the sea. the hotels cleaning staff were good mostly however one day they took our towels and never gave us some fresh ones to replace the ones she took. the food was hideous so i advise to go bnb if anything we went half board which wasnt too bad as we ate out for lunch every day and just put up with the food. where the hotel was situated was perfect because we got alot of sun on the pool area and on the balcony... the best part was that the hotel was only 5 minuets from the beach front and the main street that leads you to the main tourist attractions. the hotel advertises a spa and its untrue.

Room Tip: try to get any room ending in 9 above the 5th floor because its a sea front view then :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meloonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place should be closed down,and i will be writeing to all sites that offer accomadation there, it is a HEALTH HAZARD. after our vist i now no to take bad reviews seriously, the food was beyond bad, and UNSAFE,i think they are makeing the food so bad (it was awful) so that you dont go back to the restaraut so they TAKE YOUR MONEY for food you dont eat, they never had much food out .RESTRAUNT ALWAYS EMPTY, we were half board but only had coffee and toast for breakfast (which we were expected too clear away overselves)and went out for our evening meals,the pool had green slime on the walls, no chemicals in this pool,The room was third world furniture, staff were indiffrent, manager rude, i booked threw easy jet, and i want a refund.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY this place should be closed down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Englishtraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed there only one night, fir a made a mistake with our apartment booking and realized it only when arriving to Torremolinos. Marina Sur was cheap and close to our previous location, so we booked our last night there for 38 euros (2 people, breakfast included!).
The room had a nice viewof the sea, powerful AC and clean bathroom.
People at the reception desk were kind to us, giving us the choice of the floor. When I came down at midnight thirsty, I got a bottle of water from the bar, even if it seemed to be close.
Breakfast was good, except juices (too sweet) and salad fruit (awful, still wondering what fruits it was made from).
I didn't use the swimmingpool, but saw I from our room and seemed to be clean.
I'm not sure we'd stay there for a week, but I think it's not a bad option for a night or two, specially since it's so unexpensive !!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

when we arrived we had to wait because the room wasn't ready when we got into our room the air conditioning didn't work. it was clean and tidy and was cleaned everyday no complaints there! there was no English speaking staff and they made no effort to understand us at all. the food was the worst always cold and taste like rubber after a few times going in the restaurant didn't bother BAD!! eat out. The neighbours across the road from the hotel had barking dogs all night all week not impressed there was never anyone at the bar had to go find someone to get served every time, it said 3 star personally wouldn't give it 1 star STAY AWAY ! iv'e been in better b+b's the beech wasn't to far away about 10 minute walk but take good walking shoe's steep walk over all if you want a b+b somewhere to put your head this might be for you 3 star hotel good food and service look else where bad experience.

Room Tip: complain or dont go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sotonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Arcos de Montemar
Arcos de Montemar
#25 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencia Miami Hotel
Residencia Miami Hotel
#31 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#11 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#46 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euromar
Euromar
#24 of 48 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Sur Hotel

Property: Marina Sur Hotel
Address: Calle Marujita Diaz 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Sur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina Sur
Marina Sur Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing