We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Sparkle Has Gone from the El Tiburon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tiburon Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“The Sparkle Has Gone from the El Tiburon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is our second visit to the El Tiburon and I agree with the other recent posts that it is definitely going down hill. Don’t get me wrong it was still cheap and cheerful but I found it not to be as clean as my last visit. The banister up the stairs was sticky with dirt, our loo smelled like it had never been cleaned and the stairs and floors did not seem as clean as usual.

The receptionist has reached new heights of misery and spent the whole time outside smoking.

The lovely lovely barman was not his usual self and looked sad and withdrawn. In contrast the breakfast fella always had a big smile on his face.

The lack of free breakfast was OK but it certainly put another 10 euro’s a day on our trip. We did eat in the hotel a few times, it was fine but nothing to write home about. We ate brekkie at La Tahoma patisserie, that place is fantastic, they do everything from pasties and the most amazing cakes to snacks and tapas, we ate there a few times and were always very pleased.

Happy Hour still a total bargain, 2 huge vodka’s with diet coke for 4 euro’s.

Its hard to explain but it did not have the same vibe as it had the previous year, however I would not rule out another visit to the El Tiburon but next time I will be looking else where first.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BamMargera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    96
    51
    17
    15
See reviews for
24
168
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
email
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

stayed at the tib as usual its up for sale and the owners cant sale it quick enough this reflects on the poor barman who has been there 20 years and is not his usual happy self and the staff has lost intrest cant blame them the hotel was spotlless clean and the breakfast was good for the money we had a great time as usual and we hope new owners will get this fab little hotel back on track we live the location carrihule is a fantastic place to stay the walks to torri is fab will be going back soon but looking for somewhere else to stay untill tib gets sorted

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

I stayed with my sister a week in this hotel. It was very clean and the location was excellent. Near to the beach and on a quiet place. Most of the staff was very friendly, only one female was not interested in the guests at all, but we decided to not bother about her. Probably she has big personal problems.

Our room was pretty small, but had a balcony and a bathroom. It seemed to have been and to be cared for with love.

There's internet access near the reception, that costs 2 € for about 50 minutes.

For all this we paid only 189 €! Booked with Hotels4you.com

  • Liked — The good price
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

Recently returned from an enjoyable break at El Tiburon in Carihuela. This hotel no longer does a buffet breakfast, but you can buy a variety of breakfast items in the bar 9.00-12.30, that we found tasty, reasonabley priced, freshley cooked and served with a smile. We also sampled meals later in the day and found them the same, there are only three tables suitable for meals so this could be a problem at busy times. We found the rooms quite basic, no fridge/minibar or kettle, but very clean, with a safe, a TV with 2 BBC channels, a bathroom with a shower over a half bath and a balcony overlooking the Pool. The biggest niggle was creaking taps and noisy plumbing, the biggest plus was the value for money and the quiet location yet very close to the beach and the delightful pedestrian streets full of restaurants that cater to most tastes and budgets. In conclusion a well located budget hotel, with tasty food available and generally friendly staff (with one exeption described perfectly in a previous review)!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n1ckyn00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

now there's nothing major wrong with tiburon the maid service daily is excellant and the room i had was spacious and stacks of hot water,it's also well situated for access to nearby restraunts,beach and the fantastic walkway along the coast,the niggles a staff member who looks like being miserable is her day job not much in way of friendly holas here,i don't watch much tv on holiday but only english channel in the room is bbc2 wales for some reason even news 24 would be a welcome relief from that,and the biggie no KETTLE in the room,so generally okay for the price i paid but would upgrade or get a proper self catering apartment if i was to revisit the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clandite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

I have stayed in El Tiburon many times in the past. The rooms are still very clean and maid service every day but now breakfast in not included and I believe there has been a management change - staff no longer interested in anything apart from smoking outside reception. It no longer represents good value for money. Not sure why the pool area was out of bounds it was warm enough...Many better options nearby.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

I stayed for 7 days in December. I found the room dated and fairly small but adequate. I thought I was self-catering but there was no cooking facilities in the room and I was actually half-board with a good breakfast cooked by a friendly chef each morning. The sound-proofing in rooms is poor and I was able to hear my neighbours, especially a foul-mouthed brummie. I wouldn't stay here again for this reason. However, the staff were helpful, polite and accomodating. The hotel is in a good location in Cariheula, near to the beach, shops and promenade. I found the area and Torremolinos in general to be dated also. There is a lot of grafitti and dog mess around and a plethora of seventies and eighties built hotels. I found this not to my taste, but if you like simple bars and restaurants, you won't be disappointed. The beach area is spotless, well-kept and with many loungers and play areas for children. The local trains and buses are frequent and cheap. I would recommend hiring a bike and cycling along the promende. You can cycle to Fuengirola and Malaga easily and it's cheap and fun (€10 per day).

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterDaveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Residencia Miami Hotel
Residencia Miami Hotel
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#38 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#22 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Don Paquito
Hotel Don Paquito
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arcos de Montemar
Arcos de Montemar
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tiburon Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Hotel Boutique

Property: El Tiburon Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Nidos 7 | La carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Tiburon Hotel Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100m away from one of the most charming beaches of the Costa del Sol, La Carihuela, 3-star Boutique Hotel El Tiburon is recommended for adults who wish to enjoy the most comfortable, pleasant and luxurious stay in Torremolinos. Opened in 1963 is one of the first hotels built in the Costa del Sol, staying since both renowned artists and personalities of high prestige at national and international level. In 2012 the hotel has undergone a complete reform with the greatest care to give it a stylish and cosmopolitan air that makes it the most exclusive hotel in Torremolinos. Be seduced by El Tiburon: the hotel that changes Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Tiburon Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tiburon Torremolinos
Hotel El Tiburon
El Tiburon Hotel Boutique Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing