We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Timor Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Timor Apartments
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location, Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I’ve stayed in these apartments many times, most recent was August 2012. I mean let’s be honest here, you get what you pay for.
Good Points:
All rooms are getting done with air-con, rooms are clean & towels changed every 2 days. Rooms are a decent enough size. Great shows at night for kids & adults to enjoy. These apartments are a stone’s throw away from everything i.e. shops, bars, restaurants & the beach. The Marina is a 10 min walk away with even more shops, bars & restaurants (eating or drinking up by the Marina is a little bit more pricey than around by the hotel). I highly recommend The Carvery Restaurant mmmmmmm delish, nothing bets a proper Sunday dinner when all you normally get is chips with everything. The chef will come down & keep topping your plate up with meat or whatever you want, well worth €10.00. Fr. O’Malleys little restaurant is another little gold mine, just across the road from the hotel & the food is gorgeous & very cheep. Lidl is 10 min walk away, cheep as chips. Paddywacks Pub across from Hotel, Albert & Shirley are the owners..... great crack. 24 hour square about 15-20 min walk away if you want a wild night.
Bad Points:
The food in the hotel is crap. €2.50 per person for the sun beds is a joke. Beds are a wee bit hard. Chinese restaurant across the road from the hotel, AVOID like the plague unless you want to be vomiting all night. McGuinness’s Irish bar across from the hotel, AVOID this pub if possible unless you want a 2 day hangover from only drinking a few so called Smirnoff Vodka’s. No kettle in room so try bring your own travel kettle or you can rent one for the week.
There are more good points to staying in these apartments than bad, I will definitely be returning......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    455
    273
    111
    97
See reviews for
482
399
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sol Timor from 6 Feb till 10 Feb. We booked it basically because it was cheap and near the beach. There were 2 of us going out to celebrate a birthday and decided on here as it is a bit further south and therefore should be a bit warmer. Both having never been before we didn't really know what to expect. The hotel itself has a lovely reception area. We had to wait quite a while to check in as there was a large party in front of us. Guy at reception was efficient enough but not exactly friendly or chatty. We were in Block 3 and on the 10th floor (studio room). It was clean & basic with a lovely view of the beach. If your going for 4 days or less i'm not that bothered about palatial rooms. It suited us fine. There wasn't much open by our hotel for us at night time. I can recommed Father O'Malley's across the road for brilliant food. The marina is nice to sit during the day in the afternoon and watch the world go by (as long as you won't complain about paying an extra euro on your drinks). At night we got a taxi to the 24 hour square (5 euros) and mostly spent our time in Times Square bar. Only a few bars were open but I suspect in the summer it would be really busy. Would I stay in the Sol Timor again - yes but if I was going back for a short break I would stay nearer the 24 hour square. Sol Timor is not a bad hotel for the price at all.

Room Tip: When you book as for a high floor the views are pretty amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel_Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend stopping at the Sol Timor apartments and were very disappointed by the standard of the accommodation.

Walking into what appears to be a newly refurbished reception area the hotel on face value looked lovely. We arrived in the room which was small and basic but expected that for the price we paid.
The room was musty smelling and dust everywhere like it hadn't been used for months. The toilet was dirty and the towels were stained and generally didn't feel very clean. We were only given two hand towels and after complaining at reception their response was "new towels every two days" after telling them the towels were dirty from the beginning they changed them.

The area surrounding the pool was ok- although the pool itself was filthy- not that you would go in it this time of year anyway.

Location is excellent close to marina, bars and restaurants-one to recommend is the carvery close to the hotel.

Weather was fabulous reaching 24 degrees making a lovely weekend.

As far as the hotel goes it appears to operate on skeleton staff this time of year and struggle to keep on top of things- I'm sure it's a totally different picture in the height of summer when they are much busier- I wouldn't however stay here again to find out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmr82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

essex, uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Sol Timor Apartments provided adequate accommodation for a short break. Kitchen not very well equipped although we only ever make a cup of tea and pour a glass of wine but if you wanted to truly self cater you'd struggle. No hair dryer in the room but you could rent one if required. Another downside was that the beds were hard with hard pillows. Having said all that, the apartment was spacious enough and had plenty of wardrobe space and it was clean. For us it was more about the location and that was great. We had a beautiful sea view which was lovely for sitting with a cuppa and watching the sun rise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in Sol Timor in May/June 2012. Very basic accomodation but great location for beach and restaurants, Charge of €2.50 for sun loungers round pool. Went self catering so cannot comment on hotel food, Great restaurant called The Carvery (out front of hotel and go left about 200yards),marvellous food and very accomodating. Marina is out back of hotel along boardwalk and is beautiful. I would also recommend the old quarter of Carhuela which is along the boardwalk(turn left out back of hotel and walk approximately 1 mile, fantastic restaurants and shops in great setting. I would go again but stay in a different hotel in same region.

Room Tip: Request room with Pool view 4th floor or above. There is air conditioning in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed in Sol Timor Apartments in July with my family.

Apartments were in a great location right beside the beach. Lots of bars & restruants right on the door step.

The apartment was very clean but a little dated, but we didnt mind that. Staff were very helpful.

I would reccomend Sol Timor & would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emz1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband was brought to timor as a young child, he now brings his son, we have been going to timor for over 13 yrs twice a year now, as a young couple we could have the quite night around the area or head down to the 24hr sq for the madness, not far walk, 10 min or so,
We are due to go back in may with our 3 yr old son this is his 5th time, I could not imagine going aywhere else with him it caters for everything, as you have read above kids pool entertainment at poolside & kids entertainment at night also, my day consists of family time at the pool keeping him entertained until the night entertainment is over, we then have our time,
the promanade is amazing wallk with street entertainers shops etc, one thing i have to say is we feel safe in timor,
the staff are very friendly, clean towels, nice rooms and they are been updated from when i was last over in sep,
all im saying is if your wanting a family hol, couple young or elderly hol i cannot knock it, O & for anyone who passes the hill 16 pub drop in you will get a warm friendly staff who will make you feel at home, hope this helps

Room Tip: location is brill, restaurants in area are great, I cannot fault timor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine170282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
1.7 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris
0.1 mi away
La Barracuda Hotel
La Barracuda Hotel
#41 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Timor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartments

Property: Sol Timor Apartments
Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Timor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing