We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

hello just got back from a week at sol don pedro had a brilliant holiday,the hotel is kept very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the choice of food was fantastic, for English there was .. Bacon eggs sausage beans toast tomato all cooked perfect, an omelette station poach egg scrambled egg boiled egg fried egg the choice endless.. also all continental, pastries cakes fruit yogurt cold meats hams ect, all different juices and as much tea and coffee as you like so plenty of choice, the pools are nice and warm in July and plenty of sun beds..all in all a great holiday..one point tho..It would be good if the hotel had a no smoking policy around the pool area, its not nice when you are lying on a sun bed then some body on the next sun bed lights a cigarette and the smoke and ash blows all over you spoiling the piece and fresh air, it would be good if there was a smoking area where people could leave there sun bed go smoke then return, by the bar area may be, a few tables and chairs set alone, would be good to be able to just breath fresh air and relax with out the smell of other peoples smoke, apart from that we had a great holiday in the huge resort of torremolinos. David Bristol England..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 204DAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    383
    149
    41
    18
See reviews for
256
380
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This year I stayed solo and decided to try the Don Pedro, having previously stayed in the Don Marco last year with family. Check-in was quick and painless, Miguel is frequently on duty and does a great job. Room was nice, given a twin room even though I had booked single, so that was a bonus.

Room cleaning and food were 1st class once again, there are plenty of activities to keep the kids busy through the summer, and even though the hotels seemed full, the food buffets never seemed overwhelmed. There was a pleasant mix of Spanish, German, British, Polish, Dutch and French. Some wonderful Salmon and beef dishes were served in the evening... and once again breakfast was top-notch.

I don't want to repeat too much from my previous review of the Sol Don Marco, so let me say a little bit about Torremolinos, since I was travelling alone a taxi seemed excessive, so I looked for the Bus, unfortunately the service in this direction is less than user-friendly, it's hard to locate the correct ticket office and stop, and time was ticking so I decided on the train. The new trains on the main costa routes are an absolute pleasure, smooth and spacious with video screens inside and out, announcements in Spanish & English - very cheap too, e1.70 single from Malaga Airport to Torremolinos.

The train station is outside the main arrivals terminal, just across the way, there are big signs. Use the ticket machines but remember to keep your ticket during the journey as you need it to get out at your destination. The station in Torremolinos is in the main plaza where the fountains are.

The days of this town being a run-down package-holiday ghetto are thankfully long gone, the beachfront has been redeveloped extensively and many of the hotels renovated. There are some great restaurants, it is a bit touristy though so prices are slightly more than many places in Spain. Whilst I was there they were installing blocks of recycling bins for paper, plastic and even organic wasted on the actual main beach road.

It really is worth a visit to Malaga too, it's cultured, relaxed and there is plenty to see, it doesn't have to be just the place you land & take off. Though I want to try Fuengirola next I will no doubt return to Torremolinos, and when I do it will be to the Sol Don hotels. Thanks to all the staff for looking after me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mark B,
Thanks for choosing the Sol Dons again for your holiday. It is always very rewarding to welcome returning guests into any of the three hotels in the complex.
Your review is very informative and I am sure it will be helpful for potential visitors to Torremolinos. Not everyone is aware of how easy and cheap it is to get up and down the coast on the train. I definitely recommend it for arrivals from the airport as long as you aren't lugging big cases.
We look forward to your next visit. I will be interested to hear how youi feel Torremolinos compares with Fuengirola.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from the Sol Don Pedro Hotel where we stayed for a 3 day break. The hotel is spotlessly clean in every area and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We only booked bed and breakfast and there was a wide variety of choice for the breakfast meal all cooked and prepared to a high standard. We did eat in the restaurant one night and found this to be satisfactory but there was a small choice of food for the main course. Sun beds were always available and you didn't have to rush to put towels on as happens in too many hotels.
We would happily return to this hotel for bed and breakfast but would choose to eat out in the evening in the local vicinity where there is plentiful choice of restaurants.
A lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: High room with pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suechris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Christine E,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that the Sol Don Pedro was a good choice for you and I appreciate all your comments.
Torremolinos is a great place for bed and breakfast holidays as there are literally hundreds of restaurants both along the beach and up in town which serve anything from the delicious local fried fish and paella to italian, argentinian, sushi, chinese...
I hope that we see you again in one of the Sol Don Hotels. Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have stayed in the Sol Principe many times (Excellent Hotel) so decided to book the Sol Don Pedro this time thinking it would be to the same standard.....that was a big mistake! Travelled with my parents and requested a room beside or opposite them. When I arrived at hotel I was told this was not possible even thought it had been booked months in advance (I know they say they cant guarantee but the principe always could). Rooms were dirty especially the bathroom. The bathroom had hair on the floor some kind of food stuck to the sink and was dusty like it had not been cleaned for awhile. The drawers in the bedroom had a white powder in them....i left them open thinking they would be cleaned (didnt happen). My parents and I were very far apart on two separate floors. In my parents room it was also dirty and the toilet seat was broken and was not fixed during our stay. We stayed half board and while breakfast was quiet good with plenty of variety dinner was poor....not enough variety....poor cuts of meat.....hot food was luke warm or cold. Bar area smelled disgusting like sewage the whole time. Pool area was lovely and cleaning staff were nice. Found the person we dealt with at check in to be quiet surly and abrupt.
Children were allowed jump and dive in the pool (one landing on me) and bring lilos in taking up half the pool.
I hate to write a bad review but feel I must.....standards definitely need to be raise here!!!
I would not recommend the Don Pedro. I have booked another melia hotel for next year and this will decide if I use the melia group again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ursula C,
I am so sorry that your experiance with us at the Don Pedro was so utterly disappointing. I take all your comments very seriously and will investigate to see both what went wrong and how to rectify the issues.
As you can see on Trip Advisor posts, we generally have very positive reviews both of the cleanliness and maintenance.
I have to admit to having had a problem regarding a couple of the life guards earlier in the season. They were not taking their responsibilities towards policing behaviour seriously. This has since been rectified and I apologise that you were adversely effected during that period.
I appreciate you taking the time to flag up the problems that you had with us.
I hope that your experiences at other Melia hotels that you might visit in the future won't be a reflection of this last trip. If you should ever visit one of the other Sol Don Hotels I would be very happy to attend you personally.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice hotel if a little dated but I felt it provided reasonable value for money stayed for four nights for a break. Air conditioning did not work in our room upon arrival maintenance arrived within five minutes but could not resolve the problem. Reception were very apologetic and changed our room straight away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Damian Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Damiantyreman,
Many thanks for your review. I appreciate you letting us know that the problem that you had was resolved quickly and I hope that you were then able to carry on enjoying your short break.
Please visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last june, breakfast buffet was amazing, beach on the doorstep, has loads of really good pools, walk up the stairs to the town centre is well wort it, room was spotless, the spa is value for money, the massage was quite good too.

Day trip to gibraltar is highly recommended

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at Don Pedro for a 3 night break last week. It was a cheap deal(cheaper than a break in England). We arrived at the hotel about 9.30 pm to be greeted by a warm, friendly receptionist. She actually had a conversation with us rather than a normal quick check in, as in some hotels. She told us about her stay at Birmingham uni, and we had a lovely chat( as my son goes to same uni in September). We had a lovely ground floor room, small but perfect for the 3 nights we would be there. It was spotless and hotel was undergoing decoration as we were there.
The location is fantastic, the beach straight across the road. You have the use of the 3 hotels in the group. So there are plenty of pools to choose from.
Although we didn't have kids, there seemed to be a lot going on with the animation team, so this would be ideal for families.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a short stroll. Don't miss the turning up the hill with plenty of stalls which take you up to the main town( we almost missed it). There is loads to see up there.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to any one. We were really impressed. All staff were very pleasant, breakfast really good.
Also only 10 mins from airport so can just jump in a taxi, under 20 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neesycoop01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear neesycoop01,
Thank you for taking time to review the Sol Don Pedro. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and I will be sure to tell Maria how much your chat about Birmingham Uni meant to you!
There is lots to do in the area so i am glad that you made it up into the town. There is also a lift that takes you up to the main shopping streets (50 cents each way) for those who don't feel up to walking up the stairs although as you mentioned, all the little stalls on the way up make it quite fun.
I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Don Pedro has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing