We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from the Sol Don Pedro Hotel where we stayed for a 3 day break. The hotel is spotlessly clean in every area and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We only booked bed and breakfast and there was a wide variety of choice for the breakfast meal all cooked and prepared to a high standard. We did eat in the restaurant one night and found this to be satisfactory but there was a small choice of food for the main course. Sun beds were always available and you didn't have to rush to put towels on as happens in too many hotels.
We would happily return to this hotel for bed and breakfast but would choose to eat out in the evening in the local vicinity where there is plentiful choice of restaurants.
A lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: High room with pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suechris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Christine E,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that the Sol Don Pedro was a good choice for you and I appreciate all your comments.
Torremolinos is a great place for bed and breakfast holidays as there are literally hundreds of restaurants both along the beach and up in town which serve anything from the delicious local fried fish and paella to italian, argentinian, sushi, chinese...
I hope that we see you again in one of the Sol Don Hotels. Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    383
    149
    41
    18
See reviews for
256
380
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have stayed in the Sol Principe many times (Excellent Hotel) so decided to book the Sol Don Pedro this time thinking it would be to the same standard.....that was a big mistake! Travelled with my parents and requested a room beside or opposite them. When I arrived at hotel I was told this was not possible even thought it had been booked months in advance (I know they say they cant guarantee but the principe always could). Rooms were dirty especially the bathroom. The bathroom had hair on the floor some kind of food stuck to the sink and was dusty like it had not been cleaned for awhile. The drawers in the bedroom had a white powder in them....i left them open thinking they would be cleaned (didnt happen). My parents and I were very far apart on two separate floors. In my parents room it was also dirty and the toilet seat was broken and was not fixed during our stay. We stayed half board and while breakfast was quiet good with plenty of variety dinner was poor....not enough variety....poor cuts of meat.....hot food was luke warm or cold. Bar area smelled disgusting like sewage the whole time. Pool area was lovely and cleaning staff were nice. Found the person we dealt with at check in to be quiet surly and abrupt.
Children were allowed jump and dive in the pool (one landing on me) and bring lilos in taking up half the pool.
I hate to write a bad review but feel I must.....standards definitely need to be raise here!!!
I would not recommend the Don Pedro. I have booked another melia hotel for next year and this will decide if I use the melia group again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ursula C,
I am so sorry that your experiance with us at the Don Pedro was so utterly disappointing. I take all your comments very seriously and will investigate to see both what went wrong and how to rectify the issues.
As you can see on Trip Advisor posts, we generally have very positive reviews both of the cleanliness and maintenance.
I have to admit to having had a problem regarding a couple of the life guards earlier in the season. They were not taking their responsibilities towards policing behaviour seriously. This has since been rectified and I apologise that you were adversely effected during that period.
I appreciate you taking the time to flag up the problems that you had with us.
I hope that your experiences at other Melia hotels that you might visit in the future won't be a reflection of this last trip. If you should ever visit one of the other Sol Don Hotels I would be very happy to attend you personally.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice hotel if a little dated but I felt it provided reasonable value for money stayed for four nights for a break. Air conditioning did not work in our room upon arrival maintenance arrived within five minutes but could not resolve the problem. Reception were very apologetic and changed our room straight away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Damian Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Damiantyreman,
Many thanks for your review. I appreciate you letting us know that the problem that you had was resolved quickly and I hope that you were then able to carry on enjoying your short break.
Please visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last june, breakfast buffet was amazing, beach on the doorstep, has loads of really good pools, walk up the stairs to the town centre is well wort it, room was spotless, the spa is value for money, the massage was quite good too.

Day trip to gibraltar is highly recommended

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at Don Pedro for a 3 night break last week. It was a cheap deal(cheaper than a break in England). We arrived at the hotel about 9.30 pm to be greeted by a warm, friendly receptionist. She actually had a conversation with us rather than a normal quick check in, as in some hotels. She told us about her stay at Birmingham uni, and we had a lovely chat( as my son goes to same uni in September). We had a lovely ground floor room, small but perfect for the 3 nights we would be there. It was spotless and hotel was undergoing decoration as we were there.
The location is fantastic, the beach straight across the road. You have the use of the 3 hotels in the group. So there are plenty of pools to choose from.
Although we didn't have kids, there seemed to be a lot going on with the animation team, so this would be ideal for families.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a short stroll. Don't miss the turning up the hill with plenty of stalls which take you up to the main town( we almost missed it). There is loads to see up there.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to any one. We were really impressed. All staff were very pleasant, breakfast really good.
Also only 10 mins from airport so can just jump in a taxi, under 20 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neesycoop01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear neesycoop01,
Thank you for taking time to review the Sol Don Pedro. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and I will be sure to tell Maria how much your chat about Birmingham Uni meant to you!
There is lots to do in the area so i am glad that you made it up into the town. There is also a lift that takes you up to the main shopping streets (50 cents each way) for those who don't feel up to walking up the stairs although as you mentioned, all the little stalls on the way up make it quite fun.
I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had one week early may on half board food excellent plenty of choice very clean and helpful staff and superb location can't wait to go back stayed back in 2011 and hotel is just as good would recommend for families pools are never really full and so much choice

Room Tip: Pool view ask for one catches the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulpwxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments paulpwxm.
I hope that we see you soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just home from a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff work amazing hard and the mini-club members manage to keep smiling all day long. Our kids didn't go to the mini club during the day but loved the mini disco and some of the shows in the evening but they do run very late (midnight).
There are multiple pools to choose from and there was no issue with sun beds.
The food was great and they had no issue cooking gluten free products (we had with us) for our son. There was plenty of choice as well.
It's straight across the road from the beach and a short walk (be it uphill) to town.
€20 taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: we joined the melia rewards groups and got a discount on the stay. Look at the better rooms if trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Rob O,
Many thanks for choosing the Sol Don Pedro and for taking the time to write your review.
It looks like you all had a good time which is very gratifying to us.
As you mention, we have a quite comprehensive line of gluten-free products (cereals, pastas, breads etc...) but will always do what we can to cater for any personal dietary requirements.
I hope that next time you visit your children might join in the Mini Club. The kids all have a great time mixing with other children of different nationalities playing games, doing art projects and putting on shows. At the moment they are participating in The Lion King.
Many thanks again for your review and I hope that we can welcome you all again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Don Pedro has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing