We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit - still a very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I checked out yesterday morning, from a 13-night stay as a single guest. I paid for an upgraded room and was rewarded with a nicely-sized room with twin beds and a balcony overlooking the Don Pedro pool area. The room was well equipped, with a safe, air-conditioning, telephone and TV (with some English channels - Sky, BBC, etc.).

The room was cleaned every day and the whole complex is spotless, indoors and out. Guests share facilities at all three hotels in the complex, which include eight outdoor and one indoor swimming pools, at least two Jacuzzis, a small (but well-equipped) gym, plus numerous bars, two pool bar/cafes and there are a doctor and hairdresser available somewhere on the complex too.

I had breakfast most days and there was the usual huge choice (I even saw some guests having 3 or 4 course breakfasts!).

A typical night's entertainment could include Happy-hour at three bars (in each of the three hotels) for a couple of hours, followed by a meal at one of the countless eating-places along the beach or in the town-centre, then live entertainment outdoors at the Don Pablo hotel (not always my cup of tea, but was very popular every night), ending with live football in the Sports Bar or Dancing to a live duo in the Don Pedro - phew!

The staff were always pleasant, helpful and courteous, although often very busy.

A tip : to get to the town centre, from the main Don Pedro entrance (next to reception) head away from the beach, then you can stroll up a hill (at the top of the Avenida del Lido, where the Picasso statue is), which takes you to the top of the Calle San Miguel, without the steep climb and with NO steps to climb.

I had two minor niggles; one, that the air-conditioning in the rooms is now automatic, and was a bit too warm for me sometimes and, two, that the coffee in the restaurant for breakfast was tasteless.

Chatting to other guests, mostly Spanish and British/Irish, nearly all of them had stayed at the same place many times!

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms, to ensure you get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig_Le_Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Craig_Le_Page,
Thank you so much for your detailed review. I hope that it will be useful for others who read these reviews. You give a very complete picture of the hotel and the Sol Don Hotels complex.
I appreciate your two niggles also. It is these types of comments which help to guide us towards continual improvement.
I hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. The facilities were good, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is right on the beach and there are plenty of good restaurants near by that serve great food at value for money prices (the fish and shellfish are very good here). You can get a bus into Malga ( worth a visit as the historic part is lovely). We will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your review Sharon S. I am so glad that you enjoyed your break so much. We really look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was approximately our ninth visit to the Sol Don Hoteles complex, (we've actually lost count,) and we will be sure to return again next year. This hotel has everything you could ever want from a holiday; seven pools, a choice of bars that have happy hours covering different times, great entertainment, great food, amazing friendly staff, a location that's just across the road from the beach, and only a 20 minute walk into town where there are some great shops, and the list goes on. I really can't complement the staff enough; as we have visited before, the waiters and bar staff remembered us and took the time to ask how we are etc... I find it amazing that each year they have hundreds of guests staying at the hotel, and yet they can still remember us! What great service and they are so friendly, always smiling. The entertainment was also the best ever this year; I loved the new Lion King production, the costumes were fantastic and the Jersey Boys was another highlight, and there are always plenty of activities to do in the day.
The food is also very good with plenty of choice, and you can choose to eat in which ever restaurant you like regardless of which hotel you are staying in.
What is also great about these hotels is that they are full of character, not just generic concrete blocks. They have beautiful Andalucian décor, providing a great atmosphere throughout the building, and the gardens are maintained to the highest standard.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better. Just across the road is the Bajondillo beach on which the sea always seems to be warm so is great for swimming. It's a 20 minute walk to town and you can also walk along the coast to Benalmedina marina, past lots of cliffs with lots of cats! If you are a cat lover you're never short of cats in Torremolinos!
In general, this hotel is perfect for families alike. There's something that is just addictive about this place... we talked to a few other guests and it's quite apparent that we aren't the only ones who keep returning. Role on next year!

Room Tip: No matter which hotel you stay in you can use all the facilities within the complex so really the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Charlotte P,
How wonderful that you keep enjoying your stays with us so much and how wonderful that Torremolinos continues to delight. I really appreciate your comments as it is always nice to know what we are doing right just as much as what we are doing wrong; it all helps us to keep improving.
I hope that next time you continue to be as satisfied.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

short and quick review this time:-
nice, quick transfer from the airport 10 mins be careful tho stung on the way to the resort by taxi driver 22euros(was pre warned that taxi should cost between 15-20euros) there so did not tip, on the way back 17 euros (work that one out) gave 20 euros told driver to keep change :) ask the driver first and choose a meter taxi.
Don t know why but this is not a 4* sorry cant quite work out Y
A very warm welcome on arrival which is a good start to your holiday.
A very clean and tidy hotel, including pool and surrounding area s,inc jacuuzi very nice.
Room ok in need of TLC you only sleep there so i don t see why people complain,. cleaned everyday, towels changed as and when you want AC, fridge maids very friendly spoke whenever they saw you,,and you could hire a safe at reasonable price 17 euors for a week and you get 5 back cheap considering other places.
Stayed 1/2 board Food okeyish but as im fussy i like my food hot this was sometimes only warm plenty of choice tho, Waiter/waitresses in restaurant VERY MISERABLE even tho tried my hardest to speak some spanish could not crack a smile so could not work out what their problem was :( Sorry therefore did not tip (and i always tip)
Drinks at the bar Very expensive 10.50 Euros for a Pt (not very good stick with bottle/shorts) and a bacardi/coke. best wait for the happy hr 5-6pm everyday :) on the subject of drink i found this resort quite expensive to drink out even the bars were quite pricey,walked miles but still did not find a cheapy the best one was the prince of wales lol 18euros for four drinks nice pub tho nice price too.
their were lots of restaurants/pubs in the area but most of them were quiet.
Will we go there again YES but not in the near future as we dont like going back to the same place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONYJONESREF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review TONYJONESREF,
I am glad to see that you will consider coming back in the future although I fully understand that there are many destinations to discover in the world! I hope that it is not too long.
I take onboard all your comments and they will be useful to us. There are a limited number of rooms which were not updated in the last renovations because they were of a much more recent construction. I assume that you must have been in one of these and we will certainly consider renovation soon.
Thanks again for your comments,
Kind regards
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The 3 "Don" hotels are nicknamed by my family as "The Godfathers", as there are far superior to any other hotel in the same area. I really cannot see how anyone can complain about anything. The location - excellent. The hotels, superb. The food - outstanding. Shows - amazing ( The Jersey Boys were so entertaining).We have been visiting for 15 yrs, and only missed last yr as we were unable to fly from our local airport, recified this yr by Veuling now flying - Hooray!!!. So, having missed a year, what has changed ?????. Well the tedious check-in is still a bit of a pain, despite being the only party to check-in, its still took nearly 20minutes?.............we have always been given a room that we have requested, and this year the hotel was very very busy, but we were given another lovey room. Am a tad disappointed that the hotels are now a victim of their own success in that they now seem to be have a lot more British visitors, 2 yrs ago we were still in the minority by a long way. Now it appears at least half if not more are from UK. Not that I mind, but there are some very moany Brits who write bad reviews, so really hope this doesnt happen & damage the reputation of these hotels. We have NEVER had to put towels down to reserve sunbeds, but this has now started happening, despite the fact there are signs asking guests not to.......personally I dont relish having to set am alarm to put a towel down to reserve a sunbed, there are plenty so why do people feel so possessive !!!....either the hotel should enforce the signs, or take the signs down, currently a mixed message is being sent to guests, please resolve this. All in all another fabulous holiday. We look foward to next yr. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have spent the third year in a row in your trio of hotels in Torremolinos and I can say for a fact, that we will be back next year,
To start off the three hotels are beautiful, the beds comfortable and the rooms well furnished. We were on the fourth floor and the view was stunning. The rooms were air conditioned which was fantastic as we went in August. They were spotlessly cleaned while we were out and the sheets were changed which made it a pleasure to get into bed. The food is great, plenty of variety and choices for even my sister who happens to be very fussy! The buffet is really convenient and the food is of very high quality.
The various bars are beautiful and serve lots of drinks, the happy hour is a very welcome addition too.
The location is great, right on the beach with so many amenities nearby, including a large supermarket.
The facilities are brilliant, so many pools, jacuzzis and of course lots of sunbeds to relax on.The towel renting facility is also so convenient, meaning we saved lots of space in our bags.
However, the real reason we go back every year and will continue to do so is your Animation team of Sol don Pedro, Pablo and Marco. The activities that they put on are so brilliant, because there is something for everyone, the zumba, the dancing, shooting, archery, darts. The real highlight of our holiday was taking part in all the activities, they are so much fun and I found it impossible not to take part, The special morning is also a terrific idea, and gets lots of people involved. The shows in the evening are unmissable, particularly the hotels own ones, the real highlights were the Lion King, Mamma Mia, Grease, Peter Pan and the circus. I could watch them every week. This team are the real stars of the hotel and just provide an invaluable and irreplaceable service. They are all fantastic and we have gotten to know them so well. Jonny is just such a phenomenal people person, from his charming personality to his language skills. He is such an asset, so funny and incredibly perfect for the job he is in.Looks great in green tights too! Maria is so talented, beautiful and a real standout point of all the shows, she is so lovely also and it is just a pity as she wasn't at the adult activities much this year.Herself and Jonny make an unstoppable team at the shows, brilliant at everything they do and so nice to watch, making every show that the animation team are in much more entertaining than the other shows. Dani is just the nicest person you'll meet, so kind and always has a nice word for everyone, so nice to do activities with him as he is so encouraging and great with people and children alike. It's impossible not be fond of Dani, his personality shines through and makes you so warm to him. Marco is somebody who is so gentle, who has such a warm smile and who its lovely to be around, the more you get to know him the more you warm up to him. He is a real gentleman and it's been lovely to see him again. Poli for us is a real treasure, as she speaks russian which is so nice to have in a member of the animation team. She is also so good at everything she puts her mind to, and a real pleasure to see and talk to. Carlos seems to be a dab hand at everything and is always so pleasant and polite, easy to talk to him about anything and he always does his best to help. Miguel is here for the first year but straight away he is a very memorable character, incredibly funny and so friendly and easy to talk to. He tries really hard to make sure everyone is at ease, and you can't help but laugh in his presence. I sincerely hope to see him next year, already it would be hard to picture the activities without him. Elena is an unbelievably infectious person, someone who is so bubbly and entertaining, so funny it sometimes hurts from laughing so much. She brings so much life and enthusiasm to everything and you feel it when she's not there. Of course a big huge thank you must go to Curro and Tavo, who are always in the background organising the best activities and shows. Curro makes the best Boney M I have ever seen! I can imagine how hard they work and this year they really pulled it out of the bag, this group was by far the best ever and we would just love to see them all, as they are again next year, if this is so we are talking about coming for three of four weeks. Despite all the other things going for this hotel, of which there are a lot, the real magnetism comes from the animation team, the work they do but also and more importantly the people they are. All of them this year were a perfect fit, warm, kind, funny and talented. We could't say a bad thing about them. It is them that make sure we come back year after year and they are and always have been the showstealers of the holiday. It is also them that we tell family and friends about, recommending your hotels. So we would just like to thank them and tell them how fantastic this year has been and that they are unlike any other animation team that we have seen. Even now when holidays are over and we are back home we think of our two weeks there with a smile and only brilliant memories. I also know for a fact that we are not the only ones who feel this way, as a group of us are already planning and wishing for next year's holidays! See you next year and please don't change the animation team, this year they are all just gems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashaFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear TashaFitz,
When I showed your review to the entertainment team they were absolutely delighted and they transmit their thanks to you for you glowing reports. I am so glad that you enjoy the hotel so much and we are all looking forward to having you back. Thanks for your warm word.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a fortnight at this hotel from 20 August to 3 September. It is the fourth time we have stayed there over a 15 year period. It certainly lived up to our expectations. As always the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms spotlessly clean and bedding and towels changed regularly. There is air conditioning in the rooms. Food is excellent. As the hotel is very cosmopolitan in it's clientele the restaurant caters for anyone so you are able to try what other people eat in the different countries. As it is part of a 3 hotel complex you are able to use the facilities at each one. They cater for those who wish to be active and those who just want to soak up the sun. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Domno,
Thank you very much for your continuing custom. I am so glad that we don't let you down and that you keep enjoying wonderful holidays with us. Let us hope for many more in the future. Thanks for writing in to Trip Advisor.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
2 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro by Melia

Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $73 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Don Pedro by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing