We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great holiday”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great friendly hotel. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. (Special mention of Susannah and Miguel in reception). Hotel spotlessly cleaned and food varied and of good quality. Daytime activities and evening entertainment well worth a mention. Mostly older folk in the winter months. Hotel well positioned for the promenade. Have been here in winter time for the last 7 years. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtravellers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for letting the TA audience know about your stay. We really look forward to having you back next winter and showing off the brand-new kitchen in the Don Pablo dining room.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    436
    164
    48
    24
See reviews for
282
452
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel Sol Don Pedro is a dated hotel, rooms are small and beds are narrow. The dining room is a confluence of three hotels and therefore very busy, you often have to wait for a place on table. Many seniors with disabilities but its not a problem. The animation is weak, live music is boring and the music stops at 23.00, while the bar closes at 01.00 hours. A very good location, 100 meters from the beach and within walking distance of the center. Conclusion, for a beach holiday in the summer a good place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrikabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for your comments about your stay in the Don Pedro.
In winter we tend to have an older crowd: many guests come for a few weeks at a time; and the entertainment is therefore focussed on the majority. There are two bars with entertainment however, each with a different act or show every night. I fear that you only encountered one of them.
In summer the clientelle tends to be made up of families and younger couples, so we certainly focus the entertainment in a different way.
I am sorry that you found the beds narrow. I am not sure whether you had a double or twin room. Just for the record: the double beds are 1.5 metres and the singles are 1 metre each.
Thanks again for your comments. Perhaps we will see you in the summer.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Anthony, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were at the Don Pedro from Dec, 17th 2012 through Dec 22nd. It was very quiet in the tourist areas of Torremolinos and more then half of the restaurants on the beach were closed. Many shops were closed as well, but there were still plenty of places to eat and shop. The temp was around 75 degrees Farenheit each day. It was nice having the beachs, streets, and surrounding tourist area to ourselves. The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet were good. The grounds of this hotel complex were outstanding. While staying here we took part in two hotel activities; shooting contest and bowls. Both were fun activities that the staff made enjoyable with their bubbly personalities. The walls in the hotel room were a bit thin, we could hear activity next door and noise from the hallway as well. We had a room with a small balcony and were happy with the size of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Steve S,
Thank you for putting your comments up on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed winter break with a bit of sunshine.
I hope that perhaps we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was as you'd expect for a 4 star. One critisism is that there is no control of the air con (that we could find), it just comes on when the temp reaches a certain point. This can be quite annoying at night!.
Even though we didn't have a pool view from the balcony, the view was of the front of the hotel which was fountains and greenery- very nice!
This hotel is part of 3 which are all situated together. This meant we could use the facilites of the other 2 hotels. On exploring, we found an outside jacuzzi which was very relaxing. It does say in summer that guests are permitted 10 mins, but in winter as there was no one else there we made full use of it. An indoor swimming pool is situated directly below the jacuzzi, this again was very quiet and we were able to enjoy peacefully.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel is directly on the beach, when lounging on the sun terrace there is a lovely view of the beach. There are also many places to eat, drink and a scattering of shops in the direct area left of the hotel. To the right, this takes you along the beach to the main area of shops and also to the marina. Its about a 20 minute stroll.
For breakfast, there is the usual variety and you have a choice of 2 restuarants both offering the same.
In the bar, there is an open fire which was lit a couple of times during our stay. This is lovely, HOWEVER as there is no where for the smoke to go it disperses all round the hotel! We did therefore smell like we had been to a bonfire!
If we were to visit torremolinos again, we would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel has priviledge rooms which overlook the swimming pool- ask for one of these if that is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonyaC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your thorough reveiw SonyaC81.
It is great to hear that your anniversary was a success. I hope that you let us know about the celebration as we always make sure that there is a little surprise for you.
I appreciate the comment regarding the smoke in the lounge. We have experienced a problem with the chimney and are currently working to resolve it with a chimney-top ventilator.
Regarding the heating/air-conditioning: It is possible to obtain a remote control in Reception paying a refundable deposit .
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at the Don Pedro over the New Year. From the sea front you approach the hotel up a drive and then through an archway into the immaculate gardens filled with Palm and Yuka trees.It is hard to believe this area exists from the busy
road. We had a 'superior' room which had two single beds,excellent shower and four English tv channels. The room was
cleaned and towels changed daily - excellently. The variation of food at breakfast and dinner cannot be faulted. The staff are
courteous and professional.
Overall I do not have any negative comments about this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks Nigel G. I hopwe that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Originally booked for the Don Paquito over the Xmas period but disappointingly were relocated to the Sol Don Pedro by the booking agency as the original hotel decided to close over the holiday.
Sol Don complex has lots to offer - but everything seems a little dated and tired.
Room was small but housekeeping and standard of cleaning was brilliant.
It was quite cold in the room and we had to ask for extra blankets - we were overlooking the front of the hotel and so got no sunshine during the day......pool view on the other side of the corridor would have been much better
Breakfast was good, loads of choice.....fresly cooked omlettes to order, lovely fesh fruit, cava etc.
Dinners were very disappointing - meat cuts were cheap, chewy and not good, salads were boring and deserts very mediocre.
Restaurant staff and reception could do with a refresher course in customer services.....we normally stay in the Riu chain who have really top quality customer service.....this chain could learn a lot from them.
The New Year Gala Dinner had a charge of well over 100 euros each....we gave it a miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

After previously stayed at The Sol Principe about a dozen times and not having been back to the Playamar area for 4 years we had a change of hotel as it was a lot cheaper but the same rating(4*) It is only a 10 min. taxi ride from the airport. The hotel is part of a complex of 3 sister hotels (Don Pablo and Don Marco) so all facilities are shared. There are loads of swimming pools and a bowling green and organised activities. The Don Marco is the most expensive but it uses the Don Pedro restaurant. My advice would be to get a 'superior' room (pool view) The food was really good and the location is near the beach and a 10 mins walk to the hustle and bustle of the town centre. I didn't stay in the hotel on a night so I can't comment on the entertainment but it will be typical hotel stuff - not my cup of tea. I have booked to go back in May and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodstock5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pedro, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), together with the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco forms part of the Don Hotels Complex. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, the new rooms (refurbish in 2016) are decorated in a modern and functional style with views over the mountain, gardens and swimming pool. Floating wood floors have been installed in all of them, they have new wardrobes, beds and bedclothes, curtains, mattresses, a giant 43-inch flat screen TV with satellite channels and air conditioning and heating systems. New windows have been installed with insulating glass to keep out noise. All of the rooms have free Wi-Fi, a Safe (*) and a minibar (On request) (*), desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years old). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing