We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neutral Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I won this trip to the Cervantes and was hesitant after reading some other reviews. But I had no choice--this was the hotel I got. However, my husband and I did not experience rude service at the front desk as others had reported. Perhaps they are more aware of this now and are trying harder. In particular Javier at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. One evening we requested a second key and he immediately called "tech" to get it made. And also sent someone to check out the A/C in our room as it seemed to be running warm on the 3rd day. That got fixed while we were at dinner. Our biggest complaint were the beds and pillows. Beds were very hard and pillows thin and soft. I did request extra pillows and got them right away. Needed them to pad the bed too. We received half board free so took advantage of it. Breakfast was OK. Dinner was monotonous and not too tasty. Some of the soups were OK. Hated the iceberg lettuce which was the base for the salad table. We should have eaten somewhere else a couple of nights and paid. Food is not that expensive there. But we were only there for 5 nights, so we "roughed" it. Entertainment Friday and Sat. nights with live music--mostly salsa, etc. Ideal for Latins. Pool outside was nice and covered rooftop one. It was off-season while we were there, so we had no problems getting a chair. Don't know how it would be on-season. There is no fitness center as advertised on their website. There is a game room with a pool table and games. Not free. Went to the beach two days. You must cross the street, take an elevator down (1/2 Euro each way--worth it!), walk down a short street and then cross the street to beach. Chairs are free but rock hard so to rent a pad for chair costs 4 - 4.50 euros. But worth it. Met some nice people who own a small restaurant called the Mouse Trap, a short walk from hotel to the left. So if you are English or American, try it out. The owners are from Great Britain and Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,349 - 2,355 of 3,196 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed here for a week and the earlier reviews all have a grain of truth. It's just a big, impersonal hotel. The standards are good but there are so many people staying there that a personal touch was never going to happen. The reception staff are frosty, the lifts never seemed to come when you wanted them, the breakfast was not great and always overcrowded ( watch for the little Hitler checking your room card at the entrance), the rooms were well maintained but the walls are very thin, there was a lack or parasols at the pool and the location on the higher part of the resort did mean a lot of climbing up and down to the beach.
But, as I said, it's part of a big hotel chain and the standards are more than adequate if you are only looking for clean room for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomtom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I was there 5 nights and it was good! The hotel is nice, and central, near everything. The stay is paid when you arrive.

The not so good: the swimming-pool is not big, but the problem is the lack of Parasol, the SOS girl is disagreeable and said: there are no more, there are no more! only the guys at reception helped us in finding one; Lifts are very slow, so when you have to be at time in some place (as being before 10am to breakfast), it is necessary to go earlier and also creates confusion at the lifts' halls.

To go to the beach you have to walk a lot, it is easy to go down, but when you come back with sunny weather, it is a bit difficult, but there is also a lift to use to go/come to the beach, but we did not tried it.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porto_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

24 women of vastly varying ages stayed here for 3 nights for my hen weekend. The hotel is gorgeous and in an excellent position for everything. The beach was a 10 minute walk downhill but can be reached by the lift which is 50 cents. It is uphill coming back but again the left is there so no need.

It's a short walk from cafes and restaurants and there's something to suit everyone.

There's a lovely pool on the 9th floor which has views across Torremolinos and isn't busy - the roof comes off the pool in summer so a great sun trap.

There are buses into Benalmadena which run about every 10 minutes and cost 1 euro 15 cents and run until 2am.

Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely be going back with my husband to be!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SPAMELLA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I agree with most of the comments I have read about this hotel. I thought the breakfast was pretty good, but I recommend going down for breakfast before 8:30, unless you want to spend some time queuing. There are definately not enough lifts, which was a problem for us, as we had a pushchair, and once ended up carrying it down 4 flights of stairs when the lifts stopped working. The housekeeping staff are lovely, but wasnt impressed by the staff at check in.
They ran out of extra pillows and cots while we were there, so we had to make do without.

The rooms are a decent size, bathrooms clean, you dont need to pay for the safe anymore, which is quite good. However, the rooms can get quite noisy at night, as sound carries from the streets.
Overall, I would say this is a decent hotel, comfortable, and pretty good value for money, but not 4 stars worth

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Cervantes for 4 nights. By reading their website, one would think the hotel is easy to get to the beach. You have to walk across the street, get on an elevator, which costs 1 euro roundtrip, and then when you get off, you have to go down a street and cross a road with cars and then walk down to the beach. Okay, that was one problem. The next problem was the front desk staff. They were just awful! Everyone we talked to said the same thing. They were the most unhelpful, rude group that I have ever encountered. I asked for a brochure of the town and they said, "we don't have brochures, where do you want to go?" Then they were not helpful - just plain rude. We almost walked out when we checked in. They were immediately rude. When we got to our small room, we could not get into the door. Our key just did not work very well. It took approximately ten minutes EACH time to get into the room. The hotel was also FULL of screaming kids. The only thing I liked was the view from the small balcony. The next time we visit this town (which may be next summer), we are staying elsewhere ON the beach. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Stayed there for 7 nights in June. Room was clean, Fresh & Airy with a lovely sea view. Very disappointed with the breakfast. Very overcrowed it took 30 mins to que for toasting and the sauceages & bacon were raw most mornings & if you wanted ceral you had to UHT milk with it. The evening meal was €40 per person why pay that when the dearest for a 3 course meal was €9.50 so disappointed with that as well and the other big problem I had it said there was entertainment every night 1 night there was entertainment. Not enought sun loungers and you have to que very early for them. The rooms are not soundproofed at all we had a kid squeling next door to us every night for hours. Also when we were booking they said we had a fridge but we had none which you would have needed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunlover1111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $63 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing