We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fayez” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fayez”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

1. Sea View was ordered and paid extra for, we got a room 705 where we have to bend out and left to be Abel to see the sea.
2. Very Hard bed, that gave My Wife back pain
3. Two of the staff where guest unfreindly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fayez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    1,123
    738
    312
    193
See reviews for
603
1,174
185
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 10 nights at this hotel on an all inclusive basis in June. Our family group of 5 included my 66 year old father and 19 month old son. After reading some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive but our holiday was excellent and everyone had a great time despite the varying age groups. My truthful opinion of some of the main points raised by other posters are as follows and I hope these are of help: -

Staff - we found them to be excellent. All that we encountered were helpful and very polite, especially the restaurant staff who loved to make a fuss of my baby son.

Food - a great fresh healthy variety and there was always something that we all liked including my son and father. The soups in particular were very good. Into our second week there was some repetition with the menu but this is to be expected. The restaurant could be slightly better laid out as the soup station is very close to one of the hot food counters but I personally found that the congestion here was due to people with main courses visiting the soup station to add crutons etc to their already loaded plates!!

Pool - the pool on the ground floor is not a very large pool but I never saw it full or overcrowded. The toddler pool was great. There is another pool on the top floor which is very nice with a small gym and lots of loungers. This tended to be a child free zone.

Lifts - I have to agree that more lifts are needed as you can be waiting a while. As we were on the 7th floor with a baby and a buggy the stairs were not an option. Everyone seems to use the 3 front lifts and tends to forget about the side lift however so we found that using the side life was far quicker.

Stag/hen parties - there were a few during our stay but they tend to only to be around for a few days (Thursday to Sunday). Whilst some got quite drunk we didn't see anyone being too rowdy or disrespectful to other holiday makers etc and we were not interrupted at night by any noise.

Rooms - whilst a little dated they are spotlessly clean and a large wooden cot with a mattress was provided for our baby with bedding. The bathroom had a bath (great for small children) with a powerful shower. Hot water was always plentiful. The fridge in the room was really useful. The beds were a little hard but not that bad to prevent sleep. The maids gave us extra pillows as the single one provided was like sleeping on a pancake!

Location - excellent for exploring. I recommend if you are up for a really good walk to go to the Benalmadena marina which is lovely and has some great shops, bars and restaurants.

Childrens activities - the Bee Club did not appear to be open during our stay as the room was set up for a formal occasion so I cannot comment on this hence my rating of poor here. The staff did however include some balls, floats etc in the main pool and toddler pool from time to time.

Entertainment - I did not really experience this due to the time my son went to bed but the rest of my family (like some of the other posters) said it was quite poor. The parrot show seemed to centre around selling pictures.

Bar - I did not experience any queues at the bar but the cups/ glasses used are very small and drinks are limited to two per person at a time. Water at the bar appeared to be tap water so we did not drink this.

Room Tip: Unless you do not mind some noise choose a sea view room so that you are not overlooking the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FoxyWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband daughter and I visited the Gran Hotel Cevantes Torremolinos between 17th July and 24th July 2013 and found it to be excellent.
The rooms were clean and of a good size - the maid came in every day.
The breakfast was full of choice. The staff in the dining room were happy and cheerful.
The reception and bar staff were friendly and the pool was always clean and inviting.
We had read reviews before our visit and were worried about getting a sun bed on the pool, we never had any issues with this at all.
The hotel is right in the center near Calle San Miguel and is a two minute walk from shops, bars and restaurants.
There is a lift down to the beach and this is about a three minute walk away.
All in all we loved our holiday here and this hotel was a brilliant location where the sun shone every day.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, you can it in the light of the moon at night and see the reflection on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having read June F's review(23/7/13) mine could be almost identical. A good value for money hotel in an excellent location. Plenty of choice for AI. We stayed July 13th - 18th and had no problems Q ing for drinks, their 2 drinks per person policy probably helped. No evidence either of hen/stag party noise - not during our week anyway. Rooms cleaned daily and air con helped for a comfortable nights sleep. Staff as I would expect, friendly and polite.
Nice hotel, but Torremolinos needs a bloody good clean! Dirty, stained footpaths, dog mess and the buildings are a bit of an eyesore! AI has outgrown the Cervantes, as now everyone has no need to leave the poolside which means space is at a premium. The pool area needs expanding to cope, its a grass area unfortunately full of cigarette butts. The bath towels were rather small! and sometimes the cleaners mopped during busy periods!
Al in all, the hotel is good, resort not so.

Room Tip: Best tip for Torremolinos is to catch the train from Malaga airport. 1.70 Euro's and when you cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeddrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Good
Hotel was in a good position in the centre of Torremolinos.
All rooms were spacious and kept spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel.
Food was good with plenty of choice with the exception of the meat when
prepared by the lady chef, which was inclined to be undercooked.
No queueing in Restaurant or Bars at any time.
Staff all pleasant and efficient.
Ruling regarding towels being left unattended on sun beds, strictly adhered to with
towels being removed after specified time.
The Bad.
Some facilities not made available due to hotel not being fully occupied.
No entertainment available.
Lattice work on many verandah chairs broken causing tearing of clothing if not careful.
Pool area and sunbeds inadequate in proportion to number of guests.
Summary.
Would go back to this hotel but would ensure that it would be during the quiet season.
Definitely not in High Season.

Room Tip: Avoid middle floor, there can be long waits. Lifts appear to favour higher floors first. Lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We picked this hotel for its good value and great location. In the centre of Torremolinos there are plenty of shops and restaurants around. We stayed there for 7 nights on half board basis. Must mention that if was nice to get a dinner meal and complimentary wine even we arrived good bit after 10 PM, not pleasing part was that our balcony doors was broken and could open them till next morning (by second time asking ) when a man came and fix them.
After that everything was ok, hotel was clean, quiet. Food was good, but not too much choice, especially if you don’t eat fish. I love fish so I was very happy, cakes on dinner was to die for. A bit annoying was slow tiny lifts and beds are very good for back, they were a bit hard hehe 

I would not recomend this hotel to eldery people because you have to go down loads of steps to get down to beach or take a long stroll.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kakizuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a large hotel in a central location with good transport links within walking distance. The room is a decent size and we were lucky enough to have a corner balcony giving both a sea view and a mountain view. The room was very clean, although the décor could do with updating and the beds were not very comfortable. The carpets in the main corridor to the rooms is in desperate need of a deep clean.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the hotel seemed to cater for all with plenty of choice and the food was good. The dining hall was very busy between 9am & 10am (much more civilised between 7am & 9am).

The lifts were busy which meant a trek up and down the 5 flights of stairs often but helped to keep us fit during our stay.

The swimming pool area is simply not big enough for the size of the hotel. We were unable to use the swimming pool at all during our stay which was a shame. Also the hotel is quite noisy and one night we were kept awake by some young people who decided to carry on their night out on their balcony after the bars had closed. There were quite a few Stag & Hen parties staying at this hotel but we didn't realise this at the time we booked - we should have read the reviews!

The hotel is perfect for exploring the Costa Del Sol but if you are looking for a hotel with all the facilities you would find from a package holiday, this is not the hotel for you. Overall, for the price we paid for our stay, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanieJones346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#24 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#22 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#55 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing