We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two night stay just after christmas and before new year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed December 29, 2012

i would recommend this hotel, for price,cleanliness,locality and food. Many nationalities there and I found all to be treated the same. excellent value. no kettle and coffee in rooms but that is normal for spain. The pillows were a bit low, but again that is normal for spain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillian29532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

i have just returned, from a five day christmas break from this hotel. To begin with, we arrived lunch time on 23rd december, hotel was clean, bedroom was clean but very dated. there was no music of any description being played, considering it was christmas not even background music. little did i know that is how the whole 5 days would be. the same. christmas eve no entertainment, no background music, no nothing. i have never in all my life seen so many bored people .. the food is edible if you like fish, paella or similar and dont mind it not hot.. on christmas day, there was no traditional christmas dinner, and considering there were plenty of british in the hotel, we were not the majority. at 4pm a spanish musician played music on the keyboard, for old time dancing , until 7pm. back on again at 9.30 for the same.... HAVE NEVER SPENT A CHRISTMAS LIKE IT IN MY LIFE AND NEVER WILL AGAIN ... i defo would not go to this hotel again or recommend it to anyone....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JANELSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The good--------- very convenient and easy to get to from the airport. When you get to Torremelinos station look behind you when you get to street level and you will see it the hotel sign. just look around. I stayed last week- mid December- when it was quiet, so no problems with lifts or queing for food. Only B& B so can't comment on other food. breakfast was excellent with huge choice. Nice large double room - single occupancy - and good view from 8th floor on balcony.
Very convenient for shopping - both front and rear entrances lead out into shopping areas and bars,etc. I can recommend "Auld Ireland" just over the road from the front entrance. Very quiet but welcoming. Shame about poor wifi reception though. Adequate only.
Again just oppposite the front entrance is a lift to take you down to the promenade. Cheap. More useful for coming up though unless you have a mobility problem.
If you're vaguely interested in cars go to Malaga to the auto museum there. Fantastic!! Easy to find by bus although I found it was an easy walk along the prom.
Bad--- the beds. Next time I shall take note of reviews which comment on beds. Very hard. Woke up feeling very uncomfortable, although I appreciate that everybody has different needs. I coped with the pillows because I could use both sides together.
To sum up ---- great place for winter break. Not sure I would like it in high season.
One more point --- shame not to have kettle and coffee,etc in room. Needed it one day when I was indisposed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank snippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Arrived at the hotel the Sunday at 11.30 am and was welcomed by great front desk staff and room was ready for 12 pm.Was there for 7 nights and have enjoyed it .A few points though.
Trousers are recomended for evening dining though I did not know at the the time so had to buy some .The food is edible, great fruit selection and meals were off and on and were okay though 4 out of 7 breakfasts were not to clever .Evening meals okay as were lunch time,The pool upstairs is great for all weathers as is the sun lounge on roof top .One issue with the rooms is the smell of sewage on the 8th and 5th Floor rooms.Was informed it was from outside but realised if you used the bathroom keep the door shut all night ,flush the toilet several times and possibly leave patio door open.
On the last day the Spanish visitors came and although I had been there for a week the barman on an occasion saw me waiting at the bar for a drink then 2 Spanish guys came in and ignored me and served them instead .Not a good thing to say tripadvisor had given them an award .It was also noted snacks was sliced bread,butter and have meat and cheese and some salad most of week and rarely any pastries but when the Spanish arrived on the Friday wow did they change to more better stuff,,,,, chocolate ,,,,
Overall the place is clean tidy and friendly in places but can makeyou feel 2nd class once the Spanish have arrived .Coffee is ok thought the fruit juices are very poor and not so pure /fresh .
I would stay here again but be prepared when Spanish visitors are there .Not all are friendly but most were and it seems to be pushed to spanish tourists at times more than other nationals when it suits

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights to complete a work related training course. The hotel was quiet, room was very nice, wi-fi reasonably priced in the room. Breakfast was briliant and not crowded (It was the off season). I only ate snacks in tjhe bar and these were good value and tasty. Hotel is nicely positioned 5 minutes from the train station, 10 minutes wealk from the seafront and 2 minutes walk from the arcades and shops and pubs. For £120 for 5 nights bed and bgreakfast, i dont think it could be beaten. Did not use either pool or gym, but they did look inviting

Room Tip: Ask for room on the upper floors as there is some noise from the smokers on the outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Central! Moments walk from the train station (and super easy to spot, so if you fly in very tired as we did, all the better to have a hotel so easy to find). Friendly staff at the desk. Clean in all areas. Great views of the ocean. Pool below, but also a pool on the roof, and a gym up there with a view out over the sea! We had no waits for elevators or meals as others describe. Varied options for breakfast. Something for everyone. Such a huge huge dining area, with many approaches to the buffet, all spread out, I don't see how it could be improved. We had no waits, good breakfasts and dinners (would love a few more vegetarian things, but good salad bar offering and more made dinner fine, and meat eaters should have more options than one should likely indulge in). For us we had no waits, great location, happy visit and a great value for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I spent four nights here in October 2012 and I enjoyed it immensely. I actually spent very little time in the hotel but I was very happy with the level of cleanliness, the attitude of the staff and the location which was within walking distance of a beautiful beach and some lovey restaurants and shopping areas.

Room Tip: We weren't fussy and were at the rear of the hotel looking out on a busy plaza with an amazing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoxerKinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $70 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing