We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
NI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Has been better”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent a week in the Cervantes, my second time to this hotel . This is a large, well located hotel for those wanting to be close to the shopping area ,bars and night life. The beach is a short walk across the street and 50 cents on the lift or 5/10 minutes walk down hill to the left from outside the hotel , or for the fit at the lower end of San Miguel street there are many steps to the lower levels.
The hotel has an impressive entrance and lobby/reception area.Most of the reception staff were helpful, but this is a very busy reception and the staff often seemed to be stressed out .The hotel caters for a mixed clientele. All nationalities seem to be represented, as did all age goups from package tours to short stay tour groups ,independent travellers and the business travel ler.
As others have stated the hotel is kept very clean, both public areas and bedrooms. The houskeeping staff worked very hard and were always pleasant with an ‘Hola’ or ‘Buenos Dias’ at every meeting .The rooms themselves are adequate with enough storage space ,a small chill fridge ,a couple of seats and very firm beds, like most Spanish hotels there are no tea and coffee making facilities so take your own ,you can also hire the in room safe deposit box. There is a good sized balcony to most rooms with the best views being high floor pool view rooms.The bathrooms are a little cramped and poorly designed but they were clean and fairly well maintained .It could be time to start thinking about bringing the bedrooms up to date as some of the furnishings are really showing the wear and tear of age and usage and the dark woods making the room seem dark and dreary.
There are four lifts available for guests and at peak times of breakfast and dinner you could be waiting for over 20 minutes on a lift so it may be better to give yourself extra time duriing these periods .there are two pool s, one indoor on the roof which can get extremely hot and has some shaded sunbeds outside on the perimiter of the roof along side a small gym area .the main pool is a good size with kids pool surrounded by a small grass garden area for guests to sun bathe,quite a small area considering the number of rooms in this hotel.
The restaurant on the basement level is also small for the number of guests who use the hotel , as the hotel now offers ‘all inclusive’, many more guests use this facility than on my previous stay .On several occasions at breakfast and at dinner there were queues of over 20 people waiting to be seated. The restaurant seemed to be very understaffed with the time it took for food to be replenished and for tables to be cleared , the staff that were working seemed to be under some pressure and not very happy .Also since my last visit the standard of food has gone down and it’s very hit and miss (unfortunately mostly miss)with little imagination used and the food being of poor quality and not cooked properly, The bar on the main level is unwelcoming and uncomfortable with no atmosphere ,there is a large lounge area with a circular bar in the reception area which is used twice a week for entertainmet (a guy playing an organ and some dancing).This area seems to be a bit of a wasted space considering the lack of room for dining.
This hotel has slipped in standards since my last visit and I would not recommend it for any board basis except room only maybe bed and breakfast. There are many good inexpensive restaurants in the surrounding area. It’s not a good family friendly hotel. Its very impersonal with little to no entertainment . All Inclusive doesnt work in this hotel. It’s not the right location and understaffed with nothing to entertain All Inclusive guests .The management of this hotel needs to decide what clientele they are aiming for as they are trying to please too many different groups and actually pleasing none . The main selling point for this hotel is its excellent location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    1,150
    758
    318
    194
See reviews for
621
1,196
191
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked on the AI, but not all the hotel is so AI drinks are served differently. The hotel was not particularly busy during our visit so the poolside was quiet and the bar staff very helpful. As ever with AI the food was not the best but always plenty of fresh breads and fruits. The hotel is spacious with good sized rooms most of which look out to sea but at this time of year does appear to cater for an older clientèle, the only entertainment was an organ player on Friday and Saturday .The hotel is very easy to get to from Malaga airport on the metro. Overall good hotel, restful, enjoyable stay. Torremolinos itself could do with modernising and if you are not aware has a large gay area with a good choice of bars, clubs etc. The beachfront is the more traditional family area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismhYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari9997
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in September ai basis, the hotel is located next to all the shops , bars etc, if you want to go the there's a lift to the left of the main entrance that will take you down for 0.50c
The beds around the pool are naff and quite a few are broken, pool has toooo much chlorine in it, you stink when you get out the pool so make sure you shower it off, the staff are all really friendly except for one person( behind main desk, large, goaty beard) attitude problem!!
The beer is full of too much gas and you get it served in wine glasses!!cocktails are machine produced and are like syrup, if you pay you get a proper one made!!
The entrance level where the bar checkin etc are, is nice and modern, but anything above is dated, beds rock hard, small balcony , decent size rooms clean enough aswell( cleaned everyday new towels beds etc)
Breakfast ok plenty of choice but the scrambled egg is not good and the bacon is processed ! Drinks at the juice machines are pathetic, 1 glass is 1 mouthful!!
Dinner enough selection and the have a Thai, Mexican and Greek night to break it up, everyday is the same food but on the different themed nights you have a few extra dishes!
If your going to stay in torremelinos I'd say grab a hotel by the beach, there are plenty to choose from and your right on the beach, also I wouldn't go all inclusive, loads of restaurants on the sea front at the right price, full breakfast with juice, tea toast, 5-6 euros and mains from 7 - 20 euros! And if you sunbathe on the beach, you can get a beer or pop for 0.70c from the shops 1 min walk away, nice place and the seafront is all level!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrari9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I always try to stay at the Cervantes hotel. It’s centrally located, very clean and the staff are always friendly and will do what they can to help.
The food is always very good too and there is a wide selection of both hot and cold meals available from the buffet area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the room are good. I have stayed in rooms that have sea view and some that overlook the court ya...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lincoln_0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have always relied heavily on trip advisor review for holidays and when my darling best friend booked us a trip for the end of July I was a little nervous when we read the reviews! HOWEVER!!!!.... We could not fault Hotel Cervantes! The food was lovely, great variety every day of many dishes and the drinks provided in our all inclusive package were more than adequate. The staff were friendly and very helpful with any queries we had. The rooms were kept very clean and maintained daily. The rooftop terrace pool was wonderful. We always got a sunbed when we went up there. We didn't attempt the ground floor pool. Competition was fierce for the sunbeds so we did not even try for sunbeds during our 4 day stay however we chose the wonderful walk to the beach instead through the lovely shops and stalls and had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced away from the beach and into the plaza (we had a lady on a bull (?) statue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Snack bar very limited- could improve by having chips, pizzas and toasties.
No entertainment in September.
Hotel seems to be more for mature people.
Very central- handy to train station.
Food average.
Overall our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is very clean and staff are friendly. I'd recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceymckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

reception staff very pleasent/helpfull,room fine, twin 3/4, beds, extra pillows provided when asked cleaner,rooms cleaned every day,free air con(when balcony doors are closed/locked)clean towels daily, tv had only 1 channel, (BBC news) hair dryer,small fridge, no radio, only 1 plug socket, plenty of storage, small balcony, 2 chairs/table,plenty of lifts,hotel itself is spotless, cleaners never stop,comfortable lounges with big couches,bar area very nice inside and out, plenty of sunbeds, stricktly no reserving staff go around and check and will remove towels and leave slip telling you what time they checked are where to collect your towels, it works well. all inclusuve beer served in stupid small wine glassess(2 per person max each visit to bar) ,local spirits, cocktails are poor quality, entertainment virtually nil only saw exercise to music in pool one day,people came round with'large birds of prey' one day and parrots another and took/,sold photos of guests holding the birds, piano/dancing on sat night which older guests seemed to enjoy.hotel overall very pleasent but quiet and not much atmosphere, mixture of nationalities but most suitable, in our opinion to couples/more mature guests. the food however was exellent, dining room spotless, staff very nice, serve yourself beer,wine,water,lemonade,pepsi etc. breakfast usual streaky bacon, hot dog sausages, boiled fry,scrambleb eggs, beans, tomatoes, m-rooms,fresh fruit,pastries, bread rolls,yoghurt,cake,ham,cheese,salami and toast /butter/jams etc,serve yourself tea/coffee,juices and lots of cereals/ cold or hot milk. lunch and evening meal- soups, lots of salads, tuna, meats, cheeses,bread rolls(baked on premises) chicken,pork,fried fish, stews,tuna, lamb stew garlic chicken,garlic mushrooms, mashed potatoes,mini pasties nuggets, chips,potatoes,yogurt, fresh fruits, i-creams, jelly,cakes, baked apples, proffito rolls rice pud, custard,show cooking usually fish, burgers, lamb chops,pork, salmon,steak,piella or savory rice, or stir fry. please be carefull on stairs down to dining room as quite dark due to decor and mood lighting ( very nice but no good for eyes when comming in from bright sun)elderly lady had nasty fall, management have promised extra lighting this week and did immediately put reflective strips across top/bottom steps. AI is stricktly 11am,-11pm... during day/ between meals glass fridge in bar area has salads, meats, cheeses, olives etc also available are sandwiches, cake, bread, biscuits, serve yourself coffee, tea (milk is hot ?) .locally(2mins) are loads of shops, bars, restaurants etc, 20-30 min walk to beach or can get lift up/down for 50c e/w....enjoy!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrinne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing